Tire Air Pressure Sensor and Oil Change Sensor? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:11 PM   #1
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,329
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Tire Air Pressure Sensor and Oil Change Sensor?

I've been driving my dad's buick park avenue, and it has every bell and whistle there is on this thing. It says that the tires have low pressure, but they are all at 35 pounds, which is what the sticker on the door says, and what the tires say. The light came on when he gave it to me in Illinois and it was VERY cold, compared to where it had been, so we thought the cold air caused the tires to lose the air and make the sensors trip.

Long story short, tires are correct, how do I tell the computer they are correct.

Also, it has an "oil life index" on the screen, and it said 51% when I got the car, it now says 31% and his sticker said it was due, so I changed the oil, but it still says 31%. How do I tell it I put new oil in?
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:14 PM   #2
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,103
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awalters View Post
I've been driving my dad's buick park avenue, and it has every bell and whistle there is on this thing. It says that the tires have low pressure, but they are all at 35 pounds, which is what the sticker on the door says, and what the tires say. The light came on when he gave it to me in Illinois and it was VERY cold, compared to where it had been, so we thought the cold air caused the tires to lose the air and make the sensors trip.

Long story short, tires are correct, how do I tell the computer they are correct.

Also, it has an "oil life index" on the screen, and it said 51% when I got the car, it now says 31% and his sticker said it was due, so I changed the oil, but it still says 31%. How do I tell it I put new oil in?
I wouldn't yell at it. Try a nice calm voice, maybe caress the dashboard a bit before you break the news.

Does it have a reset button for the readout?
hondadirtracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:18 PM   #3
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,329
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondadirtracer View Post
I wouldn't yell at it. Try a nice calm voice, maybe caress the dashboard a bit before you break the news.

Does it have a reset button for the readout?
It does, It still thinks the tires are low. I haven't tried it for the oil. Do I have to hold it down, or anything like that. All that does is clear the trip odometers.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:22 PM   #4
Nuzzy
likes him some Red Dog
 
Nuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-27-07
Location: Allegan, MI
Posts: 2,268
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

RTFM

Nuzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:22 PM   #5
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,103
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would think if you go to where it displays the oil info and hold the reset button, it should reset the life.
hondadirtracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:28 PM   #6
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,329
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuzzy View Post
RTFM

awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:57 PM   #7
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

owners manual my friend. there is a reset procedure you have to follow in order for the TPM to reset. same with the oil life monitor.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 09:59 PM   #8
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,329
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
owners manual my friend. there is a reset procedure you have to follow in order for the TPM to reset. same with the oil life monitor.
Unfortunately, I don't have the manual. It's my dad's car. I guess I'll call him in the morning and have him look for the manual.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 10:03 PM   #9
special k
Senior Member
 
special k's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-08
Location: South Lyon 48178
Posts: 3,090
iTrader: (38)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

depending on the year, to reset the oil change light, you will have to pump the gas pedal 3 times, and hold it for a few seconds on the third pump, and i think if it recognizes that it will flash the oil change light a few times. if it's the newer style it's with the buttons that cycle you through the trip meter, fuel mileage, and all that shit.
special k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 10:04 PM   #10
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

unfortunatly i can't remember the reset procedure i had to do on a 00 olds alero a few weeks ago. but knowing GM the procedure is different on every model.

the oil life reset is turn key to the on position stomp the gas pedal to the floor 3 times and let off. the oil light will flash then turn the key off. start the car the light will flash and go out. the next time you start it the light shouldn't come on. this is the typical procedure but varies from model to model.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 10:12 PM   #11
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

try google
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 02:41 PM   #12
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,589
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You are busting my balls here!!! Send me a PM if you haven't found out how to fix your problems yet!!
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 05:42 PM   #13
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,329
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoss Blazer View Post
You are busting my balls here!!! Send me a PM if you haven't found out how to fix your problems yet!!
I got it, it was a combination of buttons. Do you guys reset that kind of stuff when you do oil changes for customers?
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:30 PM   #14
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,589
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yep!!
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:35 PM   #15
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,037
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Scroll through the info settings. The GM TPMS usually have a relearn procedure. It could also be one of the sensors' batteries starting to go. What year is it?
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:39 PM   #16
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,329
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
Scroll through the info settings. The GM TPMS usually have a relearn procedure. It could also be one of the sensors' batteries starting to go. What year is it?
a 1998.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:45 PM   #17
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,037
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awalters View Post
a 1998.
If the sensors have never been changed before, I bet the sensors may be on their way out.

Start letting air out of one of the tires and see if it picks it up. Scroll through the info pages on the display as well. In the settings part, there may be a TPMS re-learn procedure.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 06:33 PM   #18
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,589
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
If the sensors have never been changed before, I bet the sensors may be on their way out.

Start letting air out of one of the tires and see if it picks it up. Scroll through the info pages on the display as well. In the settings part, there may be a TPMS re-learn procedure.
Dude they didn't use those kinda sensors back in 1998.
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 06:36 PM   #19
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,037
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoss Blazer View Post
Dude they didn't use those kinda sensors back in 1998.
What did they use then?
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 08:16 PM   #20
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,589
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Some vehicles that currently have indirect ABS-based TPMS include 2001 to 2003 Ford Windstar, 1997-2002 Buick Park Avenue, 1999-2003 Buick Century & Regal, 2002-2003 Buick LeSabre, 2003 Buick Rendezvous & Aztek, 2000-2003 Chevy Impala & Monte Carlo, 1999-2002 Chevy Alero, 1999-2002 Pontiac Grand Am, 1997 - 2003 Pontiac Grand Prix, 2000 - 2003 Pontiac Bonneville, and 2001-2003 Oldsmobile Aurora.

Tire pressure monitor warning

As for the direct TPMS systems, they have their own technical issues as well. One is battery life. The pressure sensor inside each wheel contains a small battery to power the sensor and transponder. Most are long-life lithium batteries that may last from five to 10 years. Eventually, though, the batteries will go dead. On the Corvette and Cadillac applications, the battery can't be replaced separately so the sensor/transponder must be replaced as a unit. If a battery has died, it's probably a good idea to replace all the TPMS transponders if the vehicle is more than six years old. Some of the older Corvette systems use a piezo device inside the pressure sensor that generates current for the sensor. This eliminates the need for battery or sensor replacement.
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.28714 seconds with 80 queries