Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 13th, 2010, 04:28 PM   #1
jeepdj
So Mote It Be
 
jeepdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-07
Location: Elkhart, In
Posts: 211
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Newbie to axle stuff

Stupid question I know, but if I don't ask then I'll never know.

95 YJ, stock D35 rear. To get more articulation and beef can I put a driveshaft from
a stock rubicon in the rear? If so, what do I have to change or not?
jeepdj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 04:33 PM   #2
kj kyle
Devil Dolphin
 
kj kyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-06-09
Location: NAS Boca Chica
Posts: 2,193
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I doubt your driveshaft is the limiting factor in your suspension... so why?
kj kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 09:42 PM   #3
jeepdj
So Mote It Be
 
jeepdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-07
Location: Elkhart, In
Posts: 211
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My stock one has no sleeve, it's solid. Also the Rubicon one is beefier.
jeepdj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 01:04 AM   #4
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepdj View Post
My stock one has no sleeve, it's solid.
thats because you have a slip yoke...the slip is in the splined section that slides into the back of the transfercase. You will need a slip yoke eliminator kit if you plan on building it to articulate more, or want to add much lift. If it is stock, the stock parts should work fine.


*take this with a grain of salt, I dont deal with Jeeps, so I'm assuming this has a slip yoke
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 12:30 PM   #5
Fraser
Senior Member
 
Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-06
Location: Howell/Hartland
Posts: 4,194
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Fraser
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
*take this with a grain of salt, I dont deal with Jeeps, so I'm assuming this has a slip yoke
it should, prob does
Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.08457 seconds with 20 queries