will it bolt on - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2010, 06:35 PM   #1
littleharv93
big bad exploder
 
littleharv93's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-19-09
Location: michigan
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default will it bolt on

hi how easy will a dana 44 and ford 9 inch be to swap out in my explorer the current axles are dana 35ttb and ford 8.8


will i need to fab anything


will drave shafts hook up

the new axles hopefully are out of a 79 bronco
littleharv93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 1st, 2010, 06:56 PM   #2
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,156
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

you will need to set up steering, a trac bar, radius arms or leaf spring it, shock mounts.
i am thinking that you will need to either get a external vss setup if its an auto, what year is the explorer. it really isnt hard just alot of little fab work has to go into it. seriousexplorations.com has alot of info.
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 07:29 PM   #3
bigblockford79
Big Block Ranger
 
bigblockford79's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-11-08
Location: Hamilton, MI
Posts: 2,739
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Your driveshafts will not work either, the U-joint on the front will be quite a bit smaller that the D44 and your year shaft uses a flange mount most likely and will also need changing. I swapped the same axles into my 93 ranger and there is quite a lot of fab work to do the job cerrectly and have it work well offroad.
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read it while pooping, thank Bill Gates!

"A girls butt hole is like a 9 volt battery. You know its wrong, but eventually you put your tongue on it."
bigblockford79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 06:21 PM   #4
95Bronco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-25-10
Location: Sturgis MI
Posts: 829
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Why do it though? Properly setup a TTB can be set up plenty flexible for around here.
The 8.8 isn't giving up much at all to the 9".

It just isn't worth the hassle. Swap 44 knuckles for bigger brakes and hubs onto the 35 front, and then you could swap aftermarket shafts into the 8.8. You could change the rear pattern to 5x5.5 to match the front, and upgrade to 31 spline when you change the rear shafts.
95Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 01:05 PM   #5
lovebite
BAMF
 
lovebite's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-25-09
Location: Downriver
Posts: 165
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Explorer forum... pretty sure you will find someone that has already done this and has pictures of the build and most relevant information.

Explorer/Ranger Solid Axle Swap Registry - Ford Explorer Ranger Enthusiasts "Serious Explorations"
lovebite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 02:46 PM   #6
littleharv93
big bad exploder
 
littleharv93's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-19-09
Location: michigan
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

can i use a ford bronco 2 lift kit to lift the explorer 4 inches

i am going to keep the front axle too thanks for the input

Last edited by littleharv93; March 23rd, 2010 at 03:23 PM.
littleharv93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 03:45 PM   #7
littleharv93
big bad exploder
 
littleharv93's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-19-09
Location: michigan
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

bump i need to know theres a good deal on the bronco 2 lift
littleharv93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 09:45 PM   #8
lovebite
BAMF
 
lovebite's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-25-09
Location: Downriver
Posts: 165
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/...=bronco+2+lift

and

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/...en+bronco+lift

yes, but would you want to?
lovebite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 07:59 PM   #9
Rulebreaker
Cadillac Jeeper/ RPM
 
Rulebreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-08-07
Location: Manton,MI
Posts: 322
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95Bronco View Post
Why do it though? Properly setup a TTB can be set up plenty flexible for around here.
The 8.8 isn't giving up much at all to the 9".

It just isn't worth the hassle. Swap 44 knuckles for bigger brakes and hubs onto the 35 front, and then you could swap aftermarket shafts into the 8.8. You could change the rear pattern to 5x5.5 to match the front, and upgrade to 31 spline when you change the rear shafts.
+1
Call it dumb luck but I never broke a D35 or 8.8 part, but I could fill a trash can with all the D44 and 9" parts that I have broke over the years. In fact I just broke a stub shaft on my Aerostar last weekend for like the 6th time. RB
Rulebreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 08:10 PM   #10
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulebreaker View Post
+1
Call it dumb luck but I never broke a D35 or 8.8 part, but I could fill a trash can with all the D44 and 9" parts that I have broke over the years. In fact I just broke a stub shaft on my Aerostar last weekend for like the 6th time. RB
yep I'm on my 2nd 44 stub.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 09:42 AM   #11
89cjwftw
jeeprbrown
 
89cjwftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-26-09
Location: Lake Orion MI
Posts: 1,138
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i agree, the d35 has plenty enough flex for places around here.
89cjwftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2010, 01:11 AM   #12
Never_Evil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 346
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulebreaker View Post
+1
Call it dumb luck but I never broke a D35 or 8.8 part, but I could fill a trash can with all the D44 and 9" parts that I have broke over the years. In fact I just broke a stub shaft on my Aerostar last weekend for like the 6th time. RB
With the Aerostar being a ranger based vehicle, the axle on the front should be a dana 35. Kind of a contradiction.
Never_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19379 seconds with 57 queries