phase converter - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Great Lakes 4x4 Marketplace > Wanted
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2010, 11:59 AM   #1
Flat_Black
The Dodge Guy
 
Flat_Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Shepherd
Posts: 5,504
iTrader: (87)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Flat_Black Send a message via Yahoo to Flat_Black
Default phase converter

looking for a 3 phase to single convertor. harbor freight has em for 199 but would like to buy one asap. it will take 2 weeks or so to get it from them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
"Growing old is inevitable, Growing up is optional"
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
my old lady was hoping for 3-5" tonight, but I'll be home, so she'll be lucky to get 2" as well.
Flat_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 21st, 2010, 03:53 PM   #2
Kegger83cj7
Senior Member
 
Kegger83cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-09
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What size/specs are you looking for? Converting just one motor or multiple? Volts-amps-HP-SF? Let me know I may have some I can get ahold of. I can also get AC drives and motors that may work for you.
Kegger83cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 04:50 PM   #3
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,851
iTrader: (43)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

I have seen them on craigslist decently priced.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 04:58 PM   #4
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,456
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trk...All-Categories

I have a static phase converter I bought about 5 years ago off ebay that is still going strong. Its a 1-3hp unit that I bought for about 60 bucks including shipping. I also built a 5 hp rotory phase converter out of an old 3 phase motor and a 1/2 hp 110v motor that I use to start it. Super easy to build a rotory phase converter.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 06:23 PM   #5
Flat_Black
The Dodge Guy
 
Flat_Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Shepherd
Posts: 5,504
iTrader: (87)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Flat_Black Send a message via Yahoo to Flat_Black
Default

i have no idea. im looking for one to hook up a 230v 3phase plasma cutter to a single phase 220v. if that helps any
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
"Growing old is inevitable, Growing up is optional"
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
my old lady was hoping for 3-5" tonight, but I'll be home, so she'll be lucky to get 2" as well.
Flat_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 07:04 PM   #6
Kegger83cj7
Senior Member
 
Kegger83cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-09
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You should still size the amps correctly for the load. What does the plasma cutter say for the input and output amp draw? If there is no tag left tell me what model/brand/and size plasma cutter and I can look it up for you. Don't quote me on this but I think that some of the new plasma cutters are either single or three phase you just need to change some jumpers where the power cord connects to the machine. There should be a diagram or a connection chart on the inside covers somewhere. let me know if I can help.
Kegger83cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 07:16 PM   #7
samurai2240
Adrenaline my drug choice
 
samurai2240's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-05
Location: muskegon
Posts: 1,045
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Very easy to build. For around $150.00 or less for parts from Grainger. You will need a 3 phase doner motor. with this method all you have to do is flip a switch. But if you want a cheaper method all you will need is a drill, some sort of wheel. and wire. use the drill to get motor turning, turn on power to doner motor. and your converter is up and running. pm me if you want the list for the grainger parts, and schematic of the build.
samurai2240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 11:34 PM   #8
Flat_Black
The Dodge Guy
 
Flat_Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Shepherd
Posts: 5,504
iTrader: (87)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Flat_Black Send a message via Yahoo to Flat_Black
Default

the plasma is a lincoln pro cut 125
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
"Growing old is inevitable, Growing up is optional"
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
my old lady was hoping for 3-5" tonight, but I'll be home, so she'll be lucky to get 2" as well.
Flat_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 04:05 PM   #9
Kegger83cj7
Senior Member
 
Kegger83cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-09
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

A pro cut 125 is a 1.25" capacity machine. If this is the machine you have the input amps are fused at 125 amps. The phase converter that would be required to run this at full capacity would be a 40 to 50HP. #1 do you have 125amps of power availible to run this in your shop. #2 A $199 HF may not be big enough for your aplication. I looked them up and the company that supplys them and the manual is unclear on what the HP rating of the $199 one is. This is going to be a good sized converter and I think will not be that cheap. I will have to quote it out and let you know. You can still build your own using a smaller motor to start a larger moter (40-50HP in you case) and it won't cost that much. I will get back to you.......
Kegger83cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 05:09 PM   #10
ChevyRacer1981
Throw'in turtles........
 
ChevyRacer1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-08
Location: Sagnasty / MI
Posts: 2,361
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

he has a 220 single phase Lincoln 180 wire welder hooked up out there and thats the most power he has out there.
ChevyRacer1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 10:32 AM   #11
Kegger83cj7
Senior Member
 
Kegger83cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-09
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I had my uncle ballpark a price for me and he said 3-$4,000 range for a 40HP unit. I suspect that will be outside of the budjet so get back to me with any questions. I don't have one that big used so sorry I could not be of more help.
Kegger83cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Great Lakes 4x4 Marketplace > Wanted

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14999 seconds with 55 queries