Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Other Stuff > Photography and NON-4x4 related photos
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 9th, 2010, 02:51 PM   #1
Romey
Senior Member
 
Romey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 1,957
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default RF Remote control Canon xxD cameras

Does anyone use one of the many RF remote controls available out there for the Canon line. Just wondering what real world experiences are. I have read many reviews on Amazon and they all seem OK.
Romey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2010, 03:32 PM   #2
mtnbikinbryno
Senior Member
 
mtnbikinbryno's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: TC
Posts: 5,224
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to mtnbikinbryno
Default

Damn it, all I could see for the thread preview was "Remote control canon" and got excited. Leaving disappointed.

My buddy has one, I don't know if it's for a Canon or not, but it's cool. He sets up his camera on a tripod when we're doing something like camping and just takes random candid pictures. It's great for catching people in a natural state rather than posing for the camera. His was working great from about 50 feet away.
mtnbikinbryno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 02:23 PM   #3
Romey
Senior Member
 
Romey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 1,957
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I ordered one of these. Im kinda excited to see how it does.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000UV4AIM/ref=oss_product
Romey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 03:39 PM   #4
Ebs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: MI
Posts: 3,353
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does Cannon have a built in remote receiver or do you have to get something that plugs in the camera like that?

Either way, RF seems like it would work a lot nicer than the infrared that Nikon has, no need to get in front of the camera and point the remote at it.

Last edited by Ebs; February 10th, 2010 at 03:42 PM.
Ebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 03:43 PM   #5
NitzPixs
It Lives once again!!!!
 
NitzPixs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-08
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,292
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have used my Pocket Wizards (Flash triggers) to trigger the camera a few times.
NitzPixs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2010, 11:27 AM   #6
cjric
Senior Member
 
cjric's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-13-05
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,505
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a pocket wizard setup. One transmitter and two receivers. I can trigger one or two flashes and/or cameras from quite a distance. The transmitter can handle up to 12 receivers at once.
cjric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Other Stuff > Photography and NON-4x4 related photos
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.07796 seconds with 22 queries