timing chain ??? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 21st, 2006, 12:11 AM   #1
Toyota4Life23
Member
 
Toyota4Life23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-16-06
Location: dearborn,mi
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default timing chain ???

so when i bought the car i had a mechanic friend check it out and when he started it he said it sounds like the timing chain needs replacing so i bought the car thinking ill change it later on, so acouple of days ago i was driving and the car shorted b/c the battery stabilizer touched positive so i pushed it home and started checking things fuses are fine theres fuel and when i start it cranks acouple times and then shakes alot and jumps then dies so i brought my friend back and he said its defenitly the timming chain is he right ?
Toyota4Life23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 21st, 2006, 06:41 AM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I have never seen a bad timming chain alowe the engine to really run. they mostly jump time and fail completely. the tesioner could be bad making it jump around at low speed. I am not that familiure with toyota engines. the ones I have seen that had oil presure based tensioners have problems when they get old because the gum up and don't work anymore.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2006, 06:45 AM   #3
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,611
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

..........you gotta love those stock nylon wrapped upper timing chain sprockets. I would bet your friend is right.
(you are not alone with Toyota, Ford used them as one of their better ideas as well)
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2006, 09:33 AM   #4
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,741
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yep sounds like it skiped time.

STOP RUNNING IT! :miff: STOP TRYING TO START IT! AND STOP SHOWING PEOPLE HOW IT JUMPS AROUND! FIX IT !!!

IF IT DID JUMP TIMING YOU CAN BEND A VALVE WHEN YOUR PISTON SMACKS IT ON TDC THAT = NEW VALVES AND A HEAD JOB :tonka: MAYBE EVEN NEW PISTONS


RBB

Last edited by roll-bar Bob; July 21st, 2006 at 09:37 AM.
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2006, 11:52 AM   #5
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,639
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

The other thing to watch for:

the timing chain guides are plastic, and they wear out and disintegrate.. and then the plastic bits end up in the oil pan and get sucked into the pickup screen.

Replace the chain, and check the guides and replace them assuming they are bad. Also look for wear on the timing cover, as once the guides go, they can wear this as well.

If the guides are worn bad, I'd consider dropping the pan to check for debris.

Talk to www.engnbldr.com for metal backed timing guides.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2006, 08:49 PM   #6
Toyota4Life23
Member
 
Toyota4Life23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-16-06
Location: dearborn,mi
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

now the mechanic is saying hes not sure and doesnt want to change the timing chain if thats not the problem ??? what else could it be
Toyota4Life23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2006, 10:01 PM   #7
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,639
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Just get a service manual, can download the 85 factory manual from the web somewhere.

Follow the procedure for checking the timing chain. Inspect it to see if its worn out or not. If it looks ok, then check to see if the cam is traight up compared to the engine.

At this point, thats really what you need to do, get in there and look at what you have going on.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2006, 11:11 PM   #8
Pre4runner
Bike Dude
 
Pre4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Kawkawlin, mi
Posts: 2,098
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pre4runner
Default

Its really not all that bad, i have a set of practically new timing guides if you want them. I had mine done at the dealer... big mistake. Plus i blew a rod bearing less then a hundred miles later. the dealership used plastic though. just got stuff from engbuilder, hes a great guy.
Pre4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 08:52 AM   #9
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,741
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

just part it out


I will give you $200 rims and tires and $100 more for the lift




RBB
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #10
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,639
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Heres instructions on Roger Browns site about how to change the chain..

http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...ingChain.shtml
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 08:09 PM   #11
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,611
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

..............that is one of the easiest overhead cam engines to work on,...........the timing chain and sprockets are set up quite simple.

No time like the present, to start learning about your rig.
I have a book on that truck, that I don't need anymore, let me know if you want it.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2006, 09:44 AM   #12
nmeinc
Parts Galore Spokesmodel
 
nmeinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Detriolet
Posts: 564
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If you don't know when it was changed, Change IT!
very straight forward with the instructions on roger browns's site or a Haynes manual(forget about useless Cilton's) And don't skimp on dropping the Oil Pan, if the guides broke you have to drop the pan to get the bits out. on an IFS truck drop the front diff(3bolts) after undoing the cv shafts at the diff side, little wiggle and it comes out with a floor jack. the pan drops easy after that. or if that's a 4" suspension lift the pan might just come out with mesing around.

pull the valve cover to check the chain, the guides should easily be seen btwn the chain and cover sides.
nmeinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 11:02 PM   #13
Toyota4Life23
Member
 
Toyota4Life23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-16-06
Location: dearborn,mi
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i think it might be the ecu how would i check to c if thats it
Toyota4Life23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 06:00 AM   #14
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,741
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roll-bar Bob
just part it out


I will give you $200 rims and tires and $100 more for the lift




RBB


roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 07:57 AM   #15
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,639
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toyota4Life23
i think it might be the ecu how would i check to c if thats it
Why woudl you think that?

Check by getting another one...
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 02:48 PM   #16
Toyota4Life23
Member
 
Toyota4Life23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-16-06
Location: dearborn,mi
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar
Why woudl you think that?

Check by getting another one...
i know the timing chain has to be done but the reason its not starting is electrical, how much does an ecu run where can i get one ?
Toyota4Life23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2006, 01:27 PM   #17
nmeinc
Parts Galore Spokesmodel
 
nmeinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Detriolet
Posts: 564
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ECUs on toyota rarely go bad, first things I'd do is:

1) pull the dist cap and crank the motor, see if the rotor spins. if not the T-chain is fubared. if it spins pull the valve cover and check the Dots. the #1 piston should be at TDC and the cam sprocket should have the dot at 12 o'clock with both valves closed. also look at the guides while the cover is off. the valve cover is very easy to remove.

2) check to see if it is getting fuel, after cranking does the exhaust smell like gas?

3) check to see if there is spark, pull a spark plug out and lay it on the head(do not hold onto it!) crank the motor a few turns.

4) do a compression check

if there is sparks, fuel, and compression it will run.
nmeinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2006, 08:44 PM   #18
Toyota4Life23
Member
 
Toyota4Life23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-16-06
Location: dearborn,mi
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ive already done 2 and 3 i pulled a fuel line out and i cranked and fuel spit out, and i got a spark but ill have to wait to do the compresion test dont have the tools and on 1 i might do it 2maro. but still shouldnt this be an electrical problem considering it shourted out ? plus i pulled out the ecu and why do i have a 22r ecu if i do put another in should it be a 22re ?
Toyota4Life23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2006, 02:07 PM   #19
nmeinc
Parts Galore Spokesmodel
 
nmeinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Detriolet
Posts: 564
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toyota4Life23
why do i have a 22r ecu if i do put another in should it be a 22re ?
the differance is the 22R is a carbed motor and the 22RE if fuel injected. the ECU from one will not interchange with the other.

if it's EFI check the EFI fuse(under hood). need more info
nmeinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2006, 05:12 PM   #20
Toyota4Life23
Member
 
Toyota4Life23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-16-06
Location: dearborn,mi
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i know the difference thats what confused me, thats why i was like why do i have a 22r ecu if the truck is a 22re so could that be the problem
Toyota4Life23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.29053 seconds with 80 queries