need help with a engine for my 92 chevy blazer... - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 22nd, 2010, 03:12 PM   #1
chrisloco
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: las cruces, nm
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Red face need help with a engine for my 92 chevy blazer...

need to know a 305 engine will fit in my 1992 chevy full size blazer 4x4 model k-15. original engine is a 350 5.7 liter 8 cylinder.

any help would be great
chrisloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 22nd, 2010, 03:22 PM   #2
mhicks1017
Senior Member
 
mhicks1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-10
Location: Eaton Rapids/ Michigan
Posts: 448
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you've never worked on a chevy before have you?
I laugh at beginners... Yes, that 305, 5.0 liter, V-8 will fit in the place of that 350, 5.7 liter, V-8. keep in mind that the 350 required more gas than the 305 will.
mhicks1017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 03:32 PM   #3
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,591
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Wow!!! Come on rook!!! Yes any small block will fit in there
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 03:32 PM   #4
chrisloco
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: las cruces, nm
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yea im trying to learn,just need some info gonna buy a new engine for my truck
chrisloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 03:40 PM   #5
86scottsdalek10
Senior Member
 
86scottsdalek10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-03-08
Location: fenton, mi
Posts: 2,455
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You will be dissappointed with the 305. Just stick with the 350 and you won't have to mess with fuel management issues. The 350's are a dime a dozen and relatively inexpensive depending on your needs/power expectations
86scottsdalek10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 03:40 PM   #6
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,591
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'd look around and see if there's some shops that sell re-man engines. Your not gonna be happy w/ a 305!! Less power, less torque than a 350!! Some shops will take your engine and sell ya a new used one! Usually w/ a warranty to!!
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 03:53 PM   #7
chrisloco
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: las cruces, nm
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thanks i will have to look into it...i need a new engine real bad and have someone for sale for $350 for a 305 and only have about $1200 to spend on one.
chrisloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 04:19 PM   #8
Slayer63
Upstanding Member
 
Slayer63's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-29-06
Location: The Nasty
Posts: 1,709
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

make sure you have the right smallblock. if you get a canadian motor you will have to swap out your steering wheel in order for it to drive on the right side of the road. and makes sure its not depressed, it make need years of therapy.
Slayer63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 04:21 PM   #9
mhicks1017
Senior Member
 
mhicks1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-10
Location: Eaton Rapids/ Michigan
Posts: 448
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer63 View Post
make sure you have the right smallblock. if you get a canadian motor you will have to swap out your steering wheel in order for it to drive on the right side of the road.
LOL!!! I thought those Canadian motors spun backwards compared to ours. If that is the case, you'll have 4 speeds of reverse, and 1 forward gear!!!
mhicks1017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 06:48 PM   #10
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhicks1017 View Post
LOL!!! I thought those Canadian motors spun backwards compared to ours. If that is the case, you'll have 4 speeds of reverse, and 1 forward gear!!!
sounds fun

you will probly not gain mileage with the 305 and you will loose power. i would just try to find a junkyard 350 with lower mile's
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 08:00 PM   #11
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,591
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Where the hell are you located @?? You can look on here in the parts for sale or try craigslist as well. There some deals usually on there!
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2010, 02:44 PM   #12
chrisloco
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: las cruces, nm
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

im located in southern new mexico and i am looking around, this truck is gonna be more of a daily driver.
chrisloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2010, 02:47 PM   #13
bigbchevy
missmrgreenagain
 
bigbchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-07
Location: fenton /hartland mi
Posts: 19,986
iTrader: (167)
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Default

stick with the 350
__________________
H.o.r.e
(mr.green)So you are calling CC a liar?? Not a nice way to treat your bitch.
tube bending and gear installs pm me for info! gears installed for $150 and up per axle.
bigbchevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2010, 02:59 PM   #14
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

yeah I have to agree. when I worked at the dealer back then I used to do tons of upgrade from 305s. I can't say I remember ever going backwards? if by chance you do decide to the balencer on the front and the flex plate will not be the same as a 350 so you need those. the pulleys and intake will bolt up as will the exhaust manifolds and those items. the blocks are the same all the way back to `86 so you have a lot of choices. the older ones before that will work but you have to use the old style flexplate because the crank comes out a little different. by the way your heads will bolt to any 350 or 305 block so you can reuse them if they are good.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2010, 03:30 PM   #15
chrisloco
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: las cruces, nm
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Exclamation

yea im gonna have to look into junk yards and other places,need to get this truck going asap and just had a good price on that 305 with decent miles.
chrisloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2010, 08:04 PM   #16
timkpetersen
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-26-10
Location: Lake Orion, Michigan
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 305 V8

Yup it is interchangeable with the 350 but you won't like the performance decrease. t
timkpetersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2010, 08:04 PM   #17
timkpetersen
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-26-10
Location: Lake Orion, Michigan
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yup it is interchangeable but you won't like the decrease in performance. t
timkpetersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2010, 03:41 PM   #18
chrisloco
Newbie
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: las cruces, nm
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Smile

thanks for the info everyone!! just thought id say i purchased a new 350 crate engine and will be dropped in soon.

thanks for the help.
chrisloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2010, 03:49 PM   #19
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,591
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisloco View Post
thanks for the info everyone!! just thought id say i purchased a new 350 crate engine and will be dropped in soon.

thanks for the help.
Brand new or re-man??
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2010, 03:51 PM   #20
jeepitupyo
MMM Shrimp Slushy
 
jeepitupyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-23-06
Location: Flint 48507
Posts: 1,979
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepitupyo
Default

You could also put a 4.3 in there with the motor mount adapters from a V6 full size truck.
__________________
05 Silverado Crew Z71
00 XJ BDS Long Arms 35's
Beelby & Sons Towing
St. Pierre Inc. Machining and Welding
jeepitupyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Tags
305, 350, 4x4, chevy, engine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 1.27102 seconds with 80 queries