Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:26 AM   #1
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default OBD II Scanner or Software

Does anyone have a scanner they use at home, that could tell me a little more about them?

I was looking at buying one for my Jeep I got sick of paying $40 after every little fix to try to narrow the problem, then my girlfriend's light just came on.

I found this one:
http://www.obdcom.com/functions-obd.htm

I think Ford's and Chrysler and GM's all use different types of readers (at least that's what I thought I read somewhere), but I definately think they'd be worth the money.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:34 AM   #2
JohnL
Go until it breaks.
 
JohnL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-09
Location: Greenwood , Indiana
Posts: 2,101
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to JohnL
Default

A OBD2 scanner will work on all makes and models that are OBD2 compatible which I think started in the mid 90's but I could be wrong on when it started.

A OBD2 scanner you can get from Autozone will check and erase SES codes.

Or are you looking for something more like a Tech 2 machine ?
JohnL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:35 AM   #3
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-15-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

If you can go to Autozone they will scan it for you for free. I've been wanting to buy this.
http://www.obd2allinone.com/

It can send everything to your laptop via USB. I've heard alot of good things about it from the guys over at mp3car.com
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:36 AM   #4
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,293
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

http://www.amazon.com/Actron-CP9175-...224128&sr=8-10


You can't go wrong for that price.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:36 AM   #5
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,293
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowjeeperman View Post
If you can go to Autozone they will scan it for you for free. I've been wanting to buy this.
http://www.obd2allinone.com/

It can send everything to your laptop via USB. I've heard alot of good things about it from the guys over at mp3car.com
Yuck. For the price of that, you can buy what I just posted above, plus you don't have to bring your laptop out in the snow/rain to check a code.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:41 AM   #6
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

A good scanner is going to cost a lot more than those cheap Autozone scanners. A good scanner will also show live data streams, Transmission codes, ABS codes, cheap scanners just read the engine trouble codes. If you just need to read the trouble code as already stated Autozone will do that for free.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:46 AM   #7
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnL View Post
A OBD2 scanner will work on all makes and models that are OBD2 compatible which I think started in the mid 90's but I could be wrong on when it started.

A OBD2 scanner you can get from Autozone will check and erase SES codes.

Or are you looking for something more like a Tech 2 machine ?
I thought that too, but I read this and that's what had me wondering.
Quote:
As a rule of thumb, GM cars and light trucks use SAE J1850 VPW (Variable Pulse Width Modulation). Chrysler products and all European and most Asian imports use ISO 9141 circuitry. Fords use SAE J1850 PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) communication patterns.
They go on to talk about how most of the "at home" machines are for a specific brand of car, GM, Ford, or Chrysler.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowjeeperman View Post
If you can go to Autozone they will scan it for you for free. I've been wanting to buy this.
http://www.obd2allinone.com/

It can send everything to your laptop via USB. I've heard alot of good things about it from the guys over at mp3car.com
I know Autozone does it for free. Petoskey sucks, and doesn't have an autozone. I drove my Jeep down to Gaylord JUST to have it read, and halfway home it came back on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
The one I posted was cheaper, and seems to do more.

I guess the rain/snow scenario was a good point. Thanks guys!
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:47 AM   #8
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Disturban View Post
A good scanner is going to cost a lot more than those cheap Autozone scanners. A good scanner will also show live data streams, Transmission codes, ABS codes, cheap scanners just read the engine trouble codes. If you just need to read the trouble code as already stated Autozone will do that for free.
The link i posted, does live data streams. I don't know about Transmission Codes, or ABS codes, but neither of my vehicles have ABS .
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 09:57 AM   #9
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,226
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Get one that shows live data, its invaluable when something isn't right, and the lights not on, or, your getting a code, but the item with the code is not the problem.

you can get a cheap scanner, but you will always want more.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 10:02 AM   #10
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-15-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
Yuck. For the price of that, you can buy what I just posted above, plus you don't have to bring your laptop out in the snow/rain to check a code.
Well the main reason I was looking at that one is because I planned on having a computer mounted in the dash with live data being fed to it. But that is still a work in progress. For mobility and durability I do like the one you posted.
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 10:05 AM   #11
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,955
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

This is the one I have. Got it at Sears for under $200.

http://www.actron.com/product_detail.php?pid=16318

Does everything except for ABS.

It will show live data, and do a bunch of crap that I haven't even had to use yet.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 11:05 AM   #12
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-15-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
This is the one I have. Got it at Sears for under $200.

http://www.actron.com/product_detail.php?pid=16318

Does everything except for ABS.

It will show live data, and do a bunch of crap that I haven't even had to use yet.
Looks like its $135 on amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Actron-CP9180-...3229468&sr=8-1

Looks like only a small difference between yours and CC's. Is it worth the $35?
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 11:25 AM   #13
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,955
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowjeeperman View Post
Looks like its $135 on amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Actron-CP9180-...3229468&sr=8-1

Looks like only a small difference between yours and CC's. Is it worth the $35?
I didn't really compare between the two.

I'm also using mine to make money, and want more features than someone that just wants live data and code reading/clearing capabilities.

I had a different scanner on my Sears Wedding Registry, and when I went to the store to pick some of the items up, the one I picked wasn't available, and this one was very comparable but a different manufacturer.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 11:47 AM   #14
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,774
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have EFI Live and it works well but a hand held version would be a lot more convenient. The nice thing will be when I upgrade to V2, the hand held module will act as a code reader like a stand alone hand held unit, I wouldnt recommend it to someone who just wants to scan things but they do offer just that functionality also.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 12:57 PM   #15
TeamDangerous
BUNDY HILL PIT TRASH
 
TeamDangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-15-09
Location: Jerome, MI
Posts: 83
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have been using an ELMSCAN 5 USB OBD2 interface with ScanXL software that has enhanced OBD2 data for GM, Ford and Mazda. They claim that they will have the enhanced OBD2 data for all Chrysler and Toyota products soon. This sofware does a lot. It has a virtual dashboard with customizable gauges and data logging that can be setup for just about any parameter you want. It reads and clears all codes and has a drag strip and dyno function. I bought everything from www.tunertools.com, they have a lot of different choices for interfaces, software and handheld units.
TeamDangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 01:04 PM   #16
kixx007
Certified Ypsilantian
 
kixx007's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-14-06
Location: Not Metamora, Mi
Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I have a Snap-on Modis.
kixx007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 01:15 PM   #17
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,579
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Snap On & Mac Tools both have pocket ones, I thought about buying one! There like $60 or so
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 02:22 PM   #18
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoss Blazer View Post
Snap On & Mac Tools both have pocket ones, I thought about buying one! There like $60 or so
Do you guys have one laying around at work that we could stop by and use until I buy one. My girlfriend's SES light JUST came on, I don't want to pay $45 to have it scanned.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 02:44 PM   #19
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,579
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awalters View Post
Do you guys have one laying around at work that we could stop by and use until I buy one. My girlfriend's SES light JUST came on, I don't want to pay $45 to have it scanned.
PM Sent
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 06:08 PM   #20
homerdogeo8
booger eatin' moron
 
homerdogeo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-08
Location: St Johns
Posts: 2,329
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Harbor Freight has a basic scanner for around $40 or $50. You can find a 20% off coupon in a bunch of different magazines, Outdoor Life, ones like that.
homerdogeo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.22820 seconds with 50 queries