Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 5th, 2010, 12:51 PM   #41
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,075
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Same part numbers for Ford and Chevy locking hubs. I've lent my spare ford locking hubs to my friend that runs a Chevy, so I know they interchange.

That's what makes me wonder about the hub itself. It can't be the spindle since they have different patterns.

As geoboy has asked, do the brakes fit right?
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 12:54 PM   #42
unclebeaner
can you hear the banjos?
 
unclebeaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Flat Rock 48134
Posts: 8,761
iTrader: (68)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i assume yes after bullshitting with him in chat. ive went through the bible myself didnt see anything
__________________
Avid collector of useless things.
unclebeaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 12:58 PM   #43
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,241
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I really don't have any more answers, as brakes were never put on. I'm going to remeasure hubs and spindles in a bit and find out what they actually are. I would be extremely surprised to find if either the spindle or the hub is not factory for that axle.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:03 PM   #44
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,404
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Yeah- it looks like Warn only makes 1 part number for the 35 spline stubs.

back to the stubs again.....
According to Mr. N's these are the total lengths:
Ford:11 13/64"
Chevy: 12"
Dodge: 11 1/32"

I hope these measurements help!!!!
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:04 PM   #45
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,241
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

thanks a ton sandvipr.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:07 PM   #46
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,542
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

the chevy stubs and ford stubs put the groove for the lock ring in a different location by about 3/8's of an inch. chevy stubs should be 12inches. i thought there was 2 different ford stubs. one for kingpin, and one ball joint.

my kingpin ford stubs measure from the center of the u-joint hole to the snap ring groove at about 11 and 1/8th (measured with a crappy tape measure). 8.5 from the tip of the splines to back side of the yoke. about 12.5 overall from end to end(outside to outside).

it kinda sounds like you got chevy stubs. jmho

good luck
joe_jeep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:14 PM   #47
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,774
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Why are we back on the topic of stub shafts? I thought this was a spindle/wheel hub/lockout stack up issue?
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:16 PM   #48
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,774
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

And unless I missed it, you never said if you got the axle completely assembled or in boxes?
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:18 PM   #49
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,404
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

To dovetail in with Geo- do both sides hit or just 1? (or still in assembly mode?)
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:18 PM   #50
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,075
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95geo View Post
And unless I missed it, you never said if you got the axle completely assembled or in boxes?
I think this was on page 1:

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
Maybe, but I would find that really surprising since this axle came out of a driving 1979 f-250.
I guess you'll have to measure the hubs when you get back and see if they're chevy or ford.
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:24 PM   #51
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,542
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95geo View Post
Why are we back on the topic of stub shafts? I thought this was a spindle/wheel hub/lockout stack up issue?
i was just trying to rule out having the wrong stub.
i took the measurements cause my stubs were right next to me.
joe_jeep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:29 PM   #52
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,774
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Makes sense.

Are the wheel bearings the correct part numbers with the right thicknesses? I'm just thinking about off the wall crap at this point....
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:34 PM   #53
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,241
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95geo View Post
Makes sense.

Are the wheel bearings the correct part numbers with the right thicknesses? I'm just thinking about off the wall crap at this point....
When I get back to the axle, I'm going to measure the spindles first. If they're actually ford spindles, then I'm going to take out the bearings, go to napa and measure them to the proper bearings.

I have the old bearings I pulled out of this axle, and they're the same as the bearings that I put in. The parts are very easy to assemble, hence why I'm lost as to what happened here.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:40 PM   #54
liv2mx
i like jungle gym's.
 
liv2mx's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: silver lake
Posts: 11,159
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

butler has one of my spare hubs. there is a complete set of good bearings in that.you can take them if you need them.
liv2mx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:42 PM   #55
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,241
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liv2mx View Post
butler has one of my spare hubs. there is a complete set of good bearings in that.you can take them if you need them.
thanks d-bag. I need to call him anyways

__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:48 PM   #56
JohnnyJ
Low Range Drifter
 
JohnnyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 6,075
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
When I get back to the axle, I'm going to measure the spindles first. If they're actually ford spindles, then I'm going to take out the bearings, go to napa and measure them to the proper bearings.

I have the old bearings I pulled out of this axle, and they're the same as the bearings that I put in. The parts are very easy to assemble, hence why I'm lost as to what happened here.
The spindles can't be wrong, unless you redrilled from 6 to 5-lug.

Although a bit further than the local napa, Jeff's bronco graveyard is a good source for ford d60 parts in a pinch.

http://broncograveyard.com/
__________________
Neither Skinny Nor Pretty DEAK Racing 4517 Ultra 4 Mod Class Rig
Surviving Project Car Hell - We have all been there
JohnnyJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:51 PM   #57
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,280
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyJ View Post
The spindles can't be wrong, unless you redrilled from 6 to 5-lug.

Although a bit further than the local napa, Jeff's bronco graveyard is a good source for ford d60 parts in a pinch.

http://broncograveyard.com/
X2 it has to be a bearing or a race in the wheel hub
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:53 PM   #58
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 30,712
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Stupid Question, but if you installed new races with the bearings, did the races get seated fully? If the inner race isn't fully pressed into the hub it could throw everything else out.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 01:58 PM   #59
NitzPixs
It Lives once again!!!!
 
NitzPixs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-08
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,269
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapThrillB2 View Post
Stupid Question, but if you installed new races with the bearings, did the races get seated fully? If the inner race isn't fully pressed into the hub it could throw everything else out.
good point....
NitzPixs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 02:11 PM   #60
kj kyle
Devil Dolphin
 
kj kyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-06-09
Location: NAS Boca Chica
Posts: 2,193
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the way i see it... the only part that can change the relationship between the lockout and spindle, would be hubs (or bearings)....

I would check to make sure the bearings, and races are seated, and if so run the part numbers and make sure you have the right ones.


are the hubs aftermarket?
kj kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.18772 seconds with 50 queries