Dodge Dana 60 CAD question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2009, 11:18 AM   #1
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,464
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default Dodge Dana 60 CAD question

Mine is fubared..

Found this

Anyone use these? I like the design and the freedom to select if it's in or not.
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 17th, 2009, 01:45 PM   #2
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

That's basically #1 solution aside from fixing the CAD.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 01:46 PM   #3
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,464
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

I took mine off the axle this fall to replace axle seals and noticed the housing was in bad shape... Now it's taking about 2 blocks to engage.

I think I'll order one
Or start driving my dakota again
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 03:05 PM   #4
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,796
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I had found that my vacuum lines rusted out and the piston was siezed on that white dodge of mine, ended up replacing all of the hard lines and new rubber lines, and then some lube in both sides of the piston and worked it back and forth with a vacuum pump several times, then it worked fine.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 07:46 PM   #5
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have the posi lock on mine and love it. Once it is adjusted it works great. When the weather is real shitty i just leave the axle locked and use the tcase lever when i need 4x4.
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2009, 12:12 AM   #6
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,464
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Yea my housing is the main problem. Well and it's slow.... But when I took it apart this fall I noticed where the bottom two bolts go in to the unit was almost gone at the time didn't have a lot of cash so I just put large washers on it. Now I'll fix it rite.

Thanks guys
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2009, 06:40 AM   #7
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,374
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Default

I've installed 2 different posi lok's. They work well but I found that they are set up right at the end of the cable stroke to engage properly. On one, we ended up removing 1 "e" ring and grinding away part of the fork. Then it had lots of engagement.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2009, 02:22 PM   #8
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,464
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Good info thanks everyone
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2009, 09:31 PM   #9
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,464
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Ordered
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2009, 03:42 PM   #10
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,464
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsize4life View Post
I have the posi lock on mine and love it. Once it is adjusted it works great. When the weather is real shitty i just leave the axle locked and use the tcase lever when i need 4x4.
Used this technique works great

Thanks guys
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2009, 03:49 PM   #11
BAD93SBLZR
HILLBILLYWAY
 
BAD93SBLZR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-05-09
Location: Kawkawlin, Michigan
Posts: 847
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

There is also a one piece axle you can get that eliminates the disconect. Then the only thing that goes in or out of 4x4 is the transfer case.
BAD93SBLZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2009, 03:52 PM   #12
Mr. Beefy
BFT!
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 12,464
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Yea, I wanted to option of taking the front axle in and out still. This system works very well.
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13877 seconds with 56 queries