Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:15 PM   #1
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default pc help needed

my pc is really pissing me off. under task manager in the processes tab next to firefox it shows cpu usage, then memory usage. why is it that the memory usage number continually rises? after it hits about 220,000K my pc freezes repeatedly until i force the process to close. it gets to the point i can't do anything. when i first open firefox it starts at like 30,000K and it's like watching a pinball score go up. also is there a way to choose which processes run when i start my pc. when i first start it i have 75 processes running half of which no clue what they are. granted my pc is 6 yrs old and i really need a new one but i don't have the cash. other then firefox giving me problems it works good otherwise.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:40 PM   #2
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Old versions of FF have a memory leak, download FF 3.5! Select start, run and type in msconfig, then select the startup tab and uncheck all processes you dont want to run a startup.

PS: You might be infected with spyware also...download malwarebytes and update definitions and scan your PC.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:43 PM   #3
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,292
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I just had a computer that developed the dreaded XP memory leak. Needless to say, it's in the dumpster
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:44 PM   #4
14muddn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-10-08
Location: Wixom/MI
Posts: 1,757
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

too much porn?
14muddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:47 PM   #5
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Disturban View Post
Old versions of FF have a memory leak, download FF 3.5! Select start, run and type in msconfig, then select the startup tab and uncheck all processes you dont want to run a startup.

PS: You might be infected with spyware also...download malwarebytes and update definitions and scan your PC.
Be careful with this. you CAN turn off critical processes, then windows won't boot, or won't boot correctly.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:51 PM   #6
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ok. so i did download FF 3.5 and made no change, how do i know which processes i need and which ones can i shit can? i scanned for spyware and adware and it came up with a bunch of stuff so i had it clean the system. better but not fixed. i put firefox into safe mode and it seemed to help with the memory problem slightly.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:53 PM   #7
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
ok. so i did download FF 3.5 and made no change, how do i know which processes i need and which ones can i shit can? i scanned for spyware and adware and it came up with a bunch of stuff so i had it clean the system. better but not fixed. i put firefox into safe mode and it seemed to help with the memory problem slightly.
Download hijackthis, do a system scan and save log file...post that log file here!
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:53 PM   #8
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,292
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

download hijackthis and upload your logfile

but it sounds like you have the xp memory leak
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 09:58 PM   #9
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
download hijackthis and upload your logfile

but it sounds like you have the xp memory leak
why does it only happen with that particular program? nothing else does that?
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 10:06 PM   #10
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
why does it only happen with that particular program? nothing else does that?
What program? FF? XP it's self does not have memory leaks they are caused by programs, malware, ect ect. You need to do a full system scan with malwarebytes...then upload a hijackthis log and I will check for any programs running that will cause your problem.

PS: It would be a good idea to turn off system restore and purge all the files then run malwarebytes in safe mode. To access safe mode on your computer hold down the f8 key while computer is booting up.

Last edited by Disturban; December 13th, 2009 at 10:09 PM.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 10:07 PM   #11
tburda
Member
 
tburda's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-28-09
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 65
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Security task manager is another good program to use for finding rogue processes
tburda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.30696 seconds with 34 queries