95 cummins 47rh question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 2nd, 2009, 07:46 AM   #1
butters
It curves to the left...
 
butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-07
Location: Rochester, MI and BFE, IA
Posts: 414
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 95 cummins 47rh question

i have a 95 cummins when cruising at 70-75mph the torque
converter will be locked and then unlock for no reason, then keep
doing the same thing. happens when i'm hardly on the throttle also
when cruise is set. trans and converter are 1 yr. old. if i get into it
a little a and keep my boost up doesn't act up, wondering if anyone
has had this issue.
butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 2nd, 2009, 10:20 AM   #2
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,506
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Yep, the tps is very sensitive. When the ecm sees no throttle being used, it unlocks the converter. You can do some studying and try to adjust it or read below.


I fixed mine by eliminating the tps like this = http://www.dieseltruckresource.com/d...s-t142641.html

I like the way my tranny works alot better now.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2009, 12:35 PM   #3
Kegger83cj7
Senior Member
 
Kegger83cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-09
Location: Kent City, MI
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

There is one other thing that I have heard of. The tranny temp sensor will act up and send a "tranny is hot" signal to the computer. This signal will drop the tranny out of OD to try and pump more fluid thru the cooler. But if your able to remidy this with more throttle then it is most likely the TPS. Just a randum thought. Good luck........
Kegger83cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 08:30 AM   #4
butters
It curves to the left...
 
butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-07
Location: Rochester, MI and BFE, IA
Posts: 414
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thanks for the input, installed a tps last nite seems like the converter is
staying locked at light throttle now, did order new throttle linkage because the
ball sockets are worn out.
butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2009, 10:31 AM   #5
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,506
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by butters View Post
thanks for the input, installed a tps last nite seems like the converter is
staying locked at light throttle now, did order new throttle linkage because the
ball sockets are worn out.
Were they under re-call? My 94 had a re-call for the throttle linkage.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 01:06 PM   #6
mudbillyredneck
Senior Member
 
mudbillyredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-08
Location: Lapeer, MI
Posts: 4,736
iTrader: (133)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Wow , great link
mudbillyredneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 05:57 PM   #7
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My 95 has a converter lock up switch in it. Very easy mod and works great. Im sure my tps is not working perfect as it does exactly what you described. With the lock up switch i dont really have to worry about it on the highway.
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 10:16 PM   #8
Coal Burner
MAKE IT OR BREAK IT
 
Coal Burner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-10
Location: Hudson,MI
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsize4life View Post
My 95 has a converter lock up switch in it. Very easy mod and works great. Im sure my tps is not working perfect as it does exactly what you described. With the lock up switch i dont really have to worry about it on the highway.


x2 Lock up switch IS THE WAY TO GO!!
Coal Burner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2010, 01:18 PM   #9
formercruiserhead
Senior Member
 
formercruiserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-14-09
Location: St. Joe Michigan
Posts: 143
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default torque converter

Do you have larger than stock tires? If they are way over stock, like 35's the gearing is way off and the engine rpm's go way down and the computer can't pick where to keep the trans. Also the tps are extremely sensitive in setting as I used to be a Toyota mechanic and found they are best setting using a volt meter over feeler guages because you can actually see when the signal changes instead of just a gap measurement, also everyone has a different feel with feeler guages that can make a difference on such a delicate adjustment. Just trying to help let us know what you find.
formercruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19174 seconds with 47 queries