TBI Throttle body on 88 chevy pickup.. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2005, 03:48 PM   #1
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,393
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default TBI Throttle body on 88 chevy pickup..

ANyone know if these have a Pressure regualtor in them ?? if so is there a way to adjust it ?? i need to lean her out a bit..:dunie:
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 27th, 2005, 05:15 PM   #2
cracker$
cheese
 
cracker$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Springfield Twp, Mi 48350
Posts: 709
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default tbi

There is a pressure regulator, but I don't know if they are adjustable, probably not. If it's running rich, you might want to replace the Oxygen sensor. If the pressure regulator is bad, I have a used one if you wan't it. You might want to replace the air filter too, but you probably all ready thought of that.

Last edited by cracker$; November 27th, 2005 at 08:21 PM.
cracker$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2005, 12:00 AM   #3
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,393
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

O2 sensor is new.. It has the Holley throttle body on it... so the regulator is new.. and the filter is fairly new also.. it only starts acting up after RPM's have been under 1500 for a period... alls i gota do is get on it like a porn star and it clears up.. but its kind of a pain cause i cant let it idle very long.. i have replaced the coil with a MSD Blaster 2 also
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2005, 02:08 PM   #4
cracker$
cheese
 
cracker$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Springfield Twp, Mi 48350
Posts: 709
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default tbi

I have only heard bad things about the Holly TBI's. Maybe it's something goofy like a bad Idle Air control Valve? Sorry, I am not too familiar with the aftermarket tbi's. But if it clears up after you hammer the throttle, it sounds more like a timing/ignition problem.
cracker$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2005, 11:51 PM   #5
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,393
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

I'm 99% sure its cause its getting too much fuel !! oh well ill just keep driving it like i stole it !
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2005, 01:16 AM   #6
Da' Blaze
El Presedente HPMSO
 
Da' Blaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ferris State
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Da' Blaze Send a message via Yahoo to Da' Blaze
Default

I think the holley is built just like the stock TBI set-up, but with more power of course. A way you can adjust the idle is just like a carb, i think its a t-20 torx screw located in the front right of it if you look at it with the hood up. The screw is counter sunk in the housing, pretty easy to get to though. Turn it counter clockwise to lower the idle, clockwise to raise. The TBI does have a regulator, but is not adjustable. If you want to, they sell tune-up kits at NAPA for like 30 bucks, but the regualtor in the Holley TBI may be different. Give that a squeeze and see what happens... Then grab a
Da' Blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2005, 08:11 AM   #7
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,354
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My '88 TBI idle was all messed up until I set timing correctly. If your timing is right, there is a brass plug on the front left side of the Throttle body. Remove that plug and there is a set screw for idle.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 07:41 AM   #8
smasheromalley
Senior Member
 
smasheromalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,038
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If you reduce the fuel pressure the ECM will just hold the injector open longer and you will be back where you started from. Sounds like something else is screwy.
smasheromalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 04:48 PM   #9
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

what did you use for an Map sensor?
also is the system operating with or without a O2 sensor?
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2005, 12:38 AM   #10
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,393
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

with an o2 im gona try bumping the idle up a bit... thought i dont really wana go much over 1100 i think it might be at 850 or 900 now prob too low..
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 06:01 PM   #11
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
Default

do you have any exhaust leaks in your exhaust that would be letting in air and makeing the O2 read low? you dont have a cat on there ether do you? you could try an O2 emulater thing. might help you out.
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 08:23 PM   #12
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,393
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

it's a 1988 ryan.. they only used 1 O2 on these.. its right on the manifold.. but no i dont have a cat but anyway.. so the only exhaust leak that would throw off the o2 would be the manifold.. which i check the header bolts regulary.. and the gasket looked good last i pulled the headers..
I think im gona try and find my stock TBI and put that back on.. everyone i know that runs the holley TBI unit has nothing but trouble with them..
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18175 seconds with 56 queries