Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 28th, 2010, 08:08 AM   #1
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,904
iTrader: (149)
F150 Transmission question

A guy I work with has a 98 F150 4X4 with the 5.4 and automatic transmission. It has around 95,000 miles on it.
The problem he's having is recently it started acting up when he puts it in park. When he comes to a stop he puts it park like he always did, but when he gets out of the truck it starts to roll. If he gets back in and pushes the gear selector harder into park it will eventually lock into park, holding the truck.
The question I have is this... Is there a way to adjust the linkage or is this an internal problem in the transmission? Anyone have experience with this or know enough about that transmision to tell me where he needs to start looking for a fix?
Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 08:18 AM   #2
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,904
iTrader: (149)
Nobody knows?
__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 08:45 AM   #3
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (20)
cable adjustment maybe?
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 08:58 AM   #4
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,904
iTrader: (149)
Quote:
Originally Posted by camccardell View Post
cable adjustment maybe?
I don't know. Maybe?
__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 09:06 AM   #5
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (20)
I mean if he pushes up harder, and then it actually works, then try just adjusting the cable out a bit.
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 10:14 AM   #6
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,904
iTrader: (149)
Quote:
Originally Posted by camccardell View Post
I mean if he pushes up harder, and then it actually works, then try just adjusting the cable out a bit.
I'll let him know. I have no experience with these at all.
__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 10:56 AM   #7
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,774
iTrader: (6)
It's probably a cable adjustment or the internal linkage in the trans is bent or the spring for the parking pawl engagement is weak, broken or both. It's a pretty simple part, start with the cable adjustment.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 02:06 PM   #8
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,052
iTrader: (17)
my expedition did this, the bracket under the dash attached to the column was loose and it got bad enough it wouldnt start sometimes.
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 09:42 PM   #9
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
I'c check the external parts first for wear/cracks or damage/losseness, then adjust the cable...its probably just a stretched cable (which is part of the reason for them being adjustable)
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2010, 09:50 PM   #10
wdkdusters
Senior Member
 
wdkdusters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-26-07
Location: copemish, mi
Posts: 703
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterbeatty View Post
my expedition did this, the bracket under the dash attached to the column was loose and it got bad enough it wouldnt start sometimes.
i have seen this under the dash the screws come lose and need to be tighted up
wdkdusters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 08:19 AM   #11
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,904
iTrader: (149)
It was a simple cable adjustment, thanks!
__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 09:29 AM   #12
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,384
iTrader: (52)
sounds good! Glad it was a cable. On my dodge it used a series of pushrods and bellcranks to do it, they got rusty and then broke.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10334 seconds with 36 queries