help with my damn dodge!!!! - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 13th, 2009, 09:45 PM   #1
sethengelhardt
Senior Member
 
sethengelhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-08
Location: westbloomfield/michigan
Posts: 191
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default help with my damn dodge!!!!

all right here goes, I have a 2000 ram 2500 with a 5.9 in. It started missing when it get wet. I checked for codes and its thowing a loss of cam/crank signal. I replaced both sensors and it's still doing the same thing. I replaced the coil, still there. Got a wire diagrahm and checked all grounds, still does it. Just for fun I put all new injectors and cleaned the fuel rail, still runs like shit, but i get better mileage.
One friend says change the computer. Another says it's a bushing at the bottom of the distributer.
Here is the deal. It's a 2000 truck and I don't have the cash to just keep swapping parts till I find it.

CAN ANYONE HELP? Feel free to post a replay, but please pm it to me also.

Last edited by sethengelhardt; November 14th, 2009 at 08:50 AM.
sethengelhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 20th, 2009, 09:50 PM   #2
gmotox
Senior Member
 
gmotox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-08-08
Location: Waterford/Michigan 48327
Posts: 2,570
iTrader: (99)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Check the coil power plug, I changed computer and all kind of shit, it turned out to be the power wire connection had a bad connection.
gmotox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 01:11 AM   #3
Flat_Black
The Dodge Guy
 
Flat_Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Shepherd
Posts: 5,504
iTrader: (87)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Flat_Black Send a message via Yahoo to Flat_Black
Default

might be a bad pick up coil. (under dist. cap and rotor 2 screws on the out side of the dist holding it in place)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
"Growing old is inevitable, Growing up is optional"
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
my old lady was hoping for 3-5" tonight, but I'll be home, so she'll be lucky to get 2" as well.
Flat_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2009, 04:58 PM   #4
sethengelhardt
Senior Member
 
sethengelhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-08
Location: westbloomfield/michigan
Posts: 191
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ran a new wire from computer to the coil and new power wire on the coil still there. Ordered a new computer, I hope thats it. If not I will go flat blacks way and probably just replace the whole distrib. as I tried to change the cap and both the screw that hold the cap on have rust welded themselves on and I am pretty sure they will break if I force them off, thanks to both of you for the help.
sethengelhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2009, 06:20 PM   #5
dodgeboy
redneck truck club
 
dodgeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-07
Location: new hudson / ellsworth mi
Posts: 1,493
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i would get that cap off of there and replace it! with a new rotor before buyen a computer! theres one bolt holding the dist. down and chryslers only go in 2 ways just make some marks.they dont have a gear or the bottem! its like a flat head screwdriver. the computer controls the timing so just get it close to where it was and you will be fine. caps like 15$ and the rotors like 8$ alot cheeper then a computer!!!
dodgeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 07:46 PM   #6
sethengelhardt
Senior Member
 
sethengelhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-08
Location: westbloomfield/michigan
Posts: 191
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

put the computer in and it didn't fix anything. going to fight with the distributer tomorrow. getting a new cam sensor, cap, and rotor for it. Already put new plugs and wires on it. If still tmissing I will have to buy the dist. and from there I will just give up and go to the dealer.
sethengelhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 07:48 PM   #7
Flat_Black
The Dodge Guy
 
Flat_Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Shepherd
Posts: 5,504
iTrader: (87)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Flat_Black Send a message via Yahoo to Flat_Black
Default

i would bet money its the pick up coil
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
"Growing old is inevitable, Growing up is optional"
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
my old lady was hoping for 3-5" tonight, but I'll be home, so she'll be lucky to get 2" as well.
Flat_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2009, 06:16 PM   #8
sethengelhardt
Senior Member
 
sethengelhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-08
Location: westbloomfield/michigan
Posts: 191
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

flat black owes me money then, replaced the pick up coil, distributor, and crank sensor. did not fix anything.now its clicking and on the old crank sensor it looks like the flex plate may have been rubbing on it. Maybe a cracked flex plate? I don't know this is going to send me to the poor house chaseing parts tho. I gues s I have to drop the trans next, maybe a new motor. Is this truck worth all this?
sethengelhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2009, 06:24 PM   #9
Pokerob
hug life
 
Pokerob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-25-06
Location: G-Rap, MI
Posts: 10,147
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

why would you not pay the 50$ or whatever to get it diagnosed at a reputable shop?

then fix it yourself?
Pokerob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2009, 08:34 PM   #10
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

unplug your 02's sounds similar to what I was dealing with on my 95, and you've done most of the stuff I had, turned out my o2 sensor was bad, made it miss burn excessive fuel and try and stall when I was driving it.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2009, 08:49 AM   #11
sethengelhardt
Senior Member
 
sethengelhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-08
Location: westbloomfield/michigan
Posts: 191
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

pokerrob, it has been at several shops and I was trying to avoid throwing parts at it, look what happened anyway. The guy who is working on it know is a trouble shooter for chrysler. This has stumped alot of people including a dealer. I have not been doing all this myself. The dealer said it was the computer and replaced that and the wire harness, didn't work. I did the fuel injectors, fuel rail, and coil. And so on. It has been to 2 shops, a dealer, and now my friend. The dealer was just too much $. The Midas it went to couldn't fix anything and said it was over them. Then went to the dealer, then the shop in walled lake. Everybody has a guess and want to throw parts at it. The problem is That still does not fix it and they still want me to pay for parts and labor.
And freak, thanks for the advice, but already replaced both 02 sensors at the shop in walled lake and they said they are reading correct and thats no the issue. My friend that trouble shoots for chrysler thinks its a cracked pressure plate and it is hitting the crank position sensor throwing the code. problem is We have to r&r the trans to find out, could not see anything after loosing the inspection plate.
sethengelhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2009, 08:27 AM   #12
sonic
Senior Member
 
sonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Holly, MI.
Posts: 429
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Im assuming over the course of all this the plugs wires and cap and rotor were all changed. Also its is somwhat common to get bad PCMs and sensors out of the box. You may want to contact chrysler and see what they can due to help you with repairs that were performed at the dealer if I read that right.
sonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19374 seconds with 56 queries