Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 20th, 2009, 03:17 PM   #1
cjh4676
Member
 
cjh4676's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-11-09
Location: rock island tn
Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Angry chevy s10 4x4 problem please help!!

I have a 2001 s10 zr2. When i put in it four hi or low the rear changes like when i hit 4low the rear is in four low its in the gear but the front diff will not lock in?? the transfer can in shifting over and lockin but some times when i try it there will be a grinding nose for the t-case like its not engaging all the way? idk what it is im sure it something eletric if you can help please message. Thanks
cjh4676 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2009, 11:27 PM   #2
jmw55018
Oh poop
 
jmw55018's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-19-09
Location: dennison,MN
Posts: 246
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

umm maybe be a little more clear in your description but im thinking that maybe your actuator in your front axle isnt working.

if the t-case is shifting fine and the front wheels are not engageing then your actuator isnt functioning. its very common for them to go bad.
jmw55018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2009, 11:34 PM   #3
brandonjb
YJ enthusiast
 
brandonjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-26-09
Location: St. Johns Mi
Posts: 616
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to brandonjb Send a message via Yahoo to brandonjb
Default

Could you give us some more details? Do those have IFS? Does it have CAD?
brandonjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 12:13 AM   #4
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

let me know if you need any wire diagrams or anything, i would try to scan it for any codes first
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 12:20 AM   #5
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default here is a pic of the front axle

a little more information on this would make this a little easier
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	last axle.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	49637  
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 01:03 AM   #6
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default any of this help

dont know if this has anything to do with your problem
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled2.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	93.9 KB
ID:	49639  
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2009, 04:14 PM   #7
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,852
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Your acutator is bad, don't know if its electric or vaccum....it was in the old s10s but don't know about newer ones....
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 05:19 AM   #8
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

don't know why your having issues. on the old ones I used to replace about 50-100 vacuum switches a year at the dealer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	S10-vacuum-diagram.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	49808  
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 12:00 PM   #9
cjh4676
Member
 
cjh4676's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-11-09
Location: rock island tn
Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default f

The t case is locking but the front wheels are not that's all and it is electical
cjh4676 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 06:41 PM   #10
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

if the front axle up graded to the style like the full uses then it would have two plugs, one for the sensor and one for the actuator. if the actator is the screw in style like the full size ones it uses a heating element to expand a gas charge. they do go bad or take a very long time to warm up when bad.

#19 in the image is the actuator
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	K-truck-front-axle-breakdow.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	49848  
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 06:57 PM   #11
BAD93SBLZR
HILLBILLYWAY
 
BAD93SBLZR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-05-09
Location: Kawkawlin, Michigan
Posts: 847
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

your 2001 S10 has a vaccum switch and vaccum actuator. The actuator should be under the battery tray. Pull the line off and start the engine and engage the 4x4. You should have vaccum on that line. If you do not the problem is likely either the vaccum switch its self or one of the vaccum lines is leaking. If you Do have vaccum on that line then the vaccum switch is good as well as the line, and the problem is likely to be the actuator or the cable from the actuator to the front axle itself. There is a chance you have a problem in the diff but these are the most common causes for your problem. Hope it helps.
BAD93SBLZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 07:00 PM   #12
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,392
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

F it. swap out your IFS for a Dana super 60 and take care of any future problems too
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 07:05 PM   #13
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAD93SBLZR View Post
your 2001 S10 has a vaccum switch and vaccum actuator. The actuator should be under the battery tray. Pull the line off and start the engine and engage the 4x4. You should have vaccum on that line. If you do not the problem is likely either the vaccum switch its self or one of the vaccum lines is leaking. If you Do have vaccum on that line then the vaccum switch is good as well as the line, and the problem is likely to be the actuator or the cable from the actuator to the front axle itself. There is a chance you have a problem in the diff but these are the most common causes for your problem. Hope it helps.
Thats what I thought too? I been out of the dealer too long, I'm starting to second guess myself? I thought I was sure that model still had a vacuum system.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.15297 seconds with 37 queries