Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 12th, 2009, 11:41 PM   #1
scare-crow
the eskimo bro
 
scare-crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-08
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scare-crow
Default gas to deisel swap

is it possible to use my exsisting motor mounts and transmission in my truck if i were to swap in a 6.6 duramax motor?
fyi its going in my jeep j10
scare-crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 12:16 AM   #2
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,371
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

With a welder, anything is possible.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 12:49 AM   #3
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuggets View Post
With a welder, anything is possible.
HAHA, i suppose yea your right
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 09:15 AM   #4
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no everything will have to be custom fabricated. best to get the whole drivetrain from donor vehicle. you can bolt any older style transmission to the duramax but it must be built to handle the torque. by using a older trans you can use whatever transfer case you want with the right adapter. there isn't many options for the newer transmissions
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 12:51 PM   #5
scare-crow
the eskimo bro
 
scare-crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-08
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scare-crow
Default

so the old motor mounts will have to go?
scare-crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 01:12 PM   #6
Soy_bomb
Web Wheeling!
 
Soy_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-13-07
Location: Allendale, Mi
Posts: 1,389
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scare-crow View Post
so the old motor mounts will have to go?
Yup, most likely. I highly doubt it will mount right in.
Soy_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 02:09 PM   #7
scare-crow
the eskimo bro
 
scare-crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-08
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scare-crow
Default

well i already have a 454 in it i was just wondering if the mounts would work.
scare-crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.11979 seconds with 26 queries