Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 9th, 2009, 03:01 PM   #1
billywilly92
Senior Member
 
billywilly92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-08
Location: Oakland County MI
Posts: 314
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 4l80e to np205

I have researched this for hours but have not found one definite answer. Since you guys know so much on here I figured someone would know the answer or would have actually done it.

I want to put an np205 behind a 4l80e. I need to know what np205 to get, what 4l80e to get, and what adapters and stuff I would need to connect the two.
Anyone know about this or have done this before?
billywilly92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 09:19 PM   #2
atvextreme
Senior Member
 
atvextreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-09
Location: chesterfield, mi
Posts: 505
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

what do you have right now? the reason i ask is there is a short answer and a long one to this.

if you have a turbo 400 and a figure 8 , 32 spline 205 set atm, its easy with some machine work on the adapter.

if your going to go out and piece meal this together it will get quite expensive.

It sounds like you are looking at the same decisions i was when i gave up and settled on a 700r4 / 241 combo.

as for mating the trans and t-case, advanced adapters sells a kit for 600.00 and tells you which parts you need.
atvextreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 10:16 PM   #3
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I mated that combo 5 years ago...take measurements but I remember cutting around an inch of the output shaft of the 4l80e other than that it has been many moons ago
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 02:12 PM   #4
billywilly92
Senior Member
 
billywilly92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-08
Location: Oakland County MI
Posts: 314
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atvextreme View Post
what do you have right now? the reason i ask is there is a short answer and a long one to this.

if you have a turbo 400 and a figure 8 , 32 spline 205 set atm, its easy with some machine work on the adapter.

if your going to go out and piece meal this together it will get quite expensive.

It sounds like you are looking at the same decisions i was when i gave up and settled on a 700r4 / 241 combo.

as for mating the trans and t-case, advanced adapters sells a kit for 600.00 and tells you which parts you need.
I don't have either yet. I was just wondering how easy this is to do and which parts I should get. I wish I could just find a 91 crew cab that had this combo from the factory. I might just go a different route until I can save up enough for this combo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER"B"468 View Post
I mated that combo 5 years ago...take measurements but I remember cutting around an inch of the output shaft of the 4l80e other than that it has been many moons ago
I read that there are 3 different 4l80e transmissions out there. There is a long output, a short output, and an rv output. The rv one you have to cut done and maybe the long one to but I am not sure. I just don't want to go out buying parts and then not be able to use them together.
billywilly92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 04:26 PM   #5
TanTahoe
Senior Member
 
TanTahoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-13-07
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 454
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I dont believe the 4L80E's came out till 93? I could be wrong, but i thought that the 80e and 60e's came out around the same time.

IMO, it would be easyer to get a 4L80E and a NP241 Tcase. You would need a NP241 from a GM 90-91 SUV and a tcase input shaft from a 4L80E trans.

I havent looked at a 80E out of a truck, but how does the computer read the speed signal if you get ride of the sensor in the 241?

Last edited by TanTahoe; September 15th, 2009 at 04:30 PM.
TanTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 07:25 PM   #6
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I do know that they came as a mated pair 4l80e/np205 in the 91 v3500 crewcabs. I am still looking to see where I have put my old chicken scratch of the pair.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 04:51 PM   #7
billywilly92
Senior Member
 
billywilly92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-08
Location: Oakland County MI
Posts: 314
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TanTahoe View Post
I dont believe the 4L80E's came out till 93? I could be wrong, but i thought that the 80e and 60e's came out around the same time.

IMO, it would be easyer to get a 4L80E and a NP241 Tcase. You would need a NP241 from a GM 90-91 SUV and a tcase input shaft from a 4L80E trans.

I havent looked at a 80E out of a truck, but how does the computer read the speed signal if you get ride of the sensor in the 241?
There is a way to match the two up. A bunch of people do it its just that they aren't very clear in stating how they did it, they just say they did. I think it might just be easier to find a manual and hook it up to the 205. It seems like a 80 and 205 would be way to much money to connect.


Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER"B"468 View Post
I do know that they came as a mated pair 4l80e/np205 in the 91 v3500 crewcabs. I am still looking to see where I have put my old chicken scratch of the pair.
Yeah I wish I could find a factory setup but those are expensive and hard to find.
billywilly92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 08:12 PM   #8
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,579
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What spline NP205 do you have first?

http://advanceadapters.com/index.php...on_24=GM+4L80E
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 05:07 PM   #9
billywilly92
Senior Member
 
billywilly92's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-08
Location: Oakland County MI
Posts: 314
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I don't have one i was just looking into it and to see if there was a way to do it that was cheaper than buy the adapter from advanced adapters.
billywilly92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.32785 seconds with 28 queries