88 1500 4x4 not engaging - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 4th, 2009, 08:32 PM   #1
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default 88 1500 4x4 not engaging

my buddy has an 89 chevy 1500 w/t, 5.7L 350, 400 trubo trans, np 241 trans case

like the title says, the 4x4 is not working, when you pull the shifter back into 4hi the case engages, and the front driveshaft wont turn by itself (like it would if it was in 4x2). so it's gotta be an electrictal problem, the actuator is good because it's brand new, it's the electric style actuator not the heat activated one

there is some fluid in the front diff, it's not full but it's not empty either

any thoughts?
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 4th, 2009, 08:42 PM   #2
jmw55018
Oh poop
 
jmw55018's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-19-09
Location: dennison,MN
Posts: 246
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

start checking electrical connections. i had an 88 and the plugins corrored off up over the t-case. i just wired the front end actuator up with a toggle switch and bypassed all the other stuff. it also allowed me to run in low range without the front end locked in if i wanted.
jmw55018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2009, 09:06 PM   #3
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

so we could just wire the actuator directly to power, and use a toggle switch like you did? i wasn't sure if you could wire it right to a power source
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2009, 09:12 PM   #4
jmw55018
Oh poop
 
jmw55018's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-19-09
Location: dennison,MN
Posts: 246
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it worked for me and it was kind of a half ass fix. i might look into adding a fuse or relay into the system versus just direct wireing it. you dont want a fire under the dash or melting shorted wires. i ran mine for a long time direct wired but it didnt really bother me as the truck was a pos.
jmw55018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2009, 09:28 PM   #5
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

got some good info from chevy_4x4_trucks, it looks like it might be the washer between the halfshaft and diff, we'll/he'll have to take a look at that
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2009, 12:36 AM   #6
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

x2 on the hard wire. ive seen it done alot. that also means that you can run the rear end in 2lo for what ever reason you see needed. but it will work.
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.90151 seconds with 38 queries