1994 F350 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 4th, 2009, 05:30 PM   #1
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default 1994 F350

the front head lights wont work change both bulbs and the light switch and still no lights, if i pull back on the high beam handle and hold it the lights will work. any thoughts would help ive tried everything
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 5th, 2009, 12:30 AM   #2
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger View Post
the front head lights wont work change both bulbs and the light switch and still no lights, if i pull back on the high beam handle and hold it the lights will work. any thoughts would help ive tried everything

you havent tried everything, but you did answer your own question
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 11:09 PM   #3
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
you havent tried everything, but you did answer your own question
so are you telling me its the high beam switch
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2009, 11:29 PM   #4
jmw55018
Oh poop
 
jmw55018's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-19-09
Location: dennison,MN
Posts: 246
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger View Post
so are you telling me its the high beam switch
thats where i would be headed
jmw55018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2009, 12:14 AM   #5
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger View Post
so are you telling me its the high beam switch
thats called a multi function switch, and yes, that is most likely the problem
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 09:47 PM   #6
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
thats called a multi function switch, and yes, that is most likely the problem
thanks i will work on that next
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 10:48 PM   #7
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

these sometimes have a problem with the lube that is in them, though I cant remember what problems it caused (seems like it was more of a wiper issure then any of the lights)

look at the end of the switch and you will see that it is a plastic cap, pry that cap off, then remove the one screw inside, being careful not to let the end fly off, it is spring loaded...remove and clean, relube with a small amount of dielctric grease, reassemble
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 07:48 PM   #8
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
thats called a multi function switch, and yes, that is most likely the problem
okay i changed the multi function switch and no head lights still im going crazy i cant figure this out
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 12:14 AM   #9
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

OK, so, to recap, you have replaced the multi-function switch, the headlight switch, and both headlamps, and you still have a problem of the high beams only working in the "flash-to-pass" position, correct?




looking at the schematic, the multi-function switch is the only component I see that could cause this problem...

does this have a tilt wheel? is there any excessive free play or movement in the steering column itself? any signs of damage to the column or the wiring or connectors in that area?

Last edited by Yota Bill; November 20th, 2009 at 01:23 AM.
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 12:45 AM   #10
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,456
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I live in Mid-China. Bring it to me and I will get it going for a modest fee.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 08:00 AM   #11
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
OK, so, to recap, you have replaced the multi-function switch, the headlight switch, and both headlamps, and you still have a problem of the high beams only working in the "flash-to-pass" position, correct?

yes to all


looking at the schematic, the multi-function switch is the only component I see that could cause this problem...

does this have a tilt wheel? is there any excessive free play or movement in the steering column itself? any signs of damage to the column or the wiring or connectors in that area?
yes it haves a tilt wheel i looked at the wirers and i cant find any damage
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 06:38 PM   #12
Jeeperz Creeperz
GL 4x4 Vendors
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,127
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

Follow the power and repair/replace whatever it is that doesn't have it.

Start by checking power TO the headlight switch and work your way to the headlights.

IIRC, the flash-to-pass and the low beam circuits are fed by separate fuses.
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 08:43 PM   #13
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeperz Creeperz View Post
Follow the power and repair/replace whatever it is that doesn't have it.

Start by checking power TO the headlight switch and work your way to the headlights.

IIRC, the flash-to-pass and the low beam circuits are fed by separate fuses.
im going to try that tomorrow
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 12:09 AM   #14
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

does this have daytime running lamps?
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 09:17 AM   #15
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
does this have daytime running lamps?
nope
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 11:08 PM   #16
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

then I would say the problem has to be either in the multi-function switch or the wiring/ connectors in and around the steering column, which could have been damaged from movement in the column, or during a repair.
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 06:20 PM   #17
roger
Senior Member
 
roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: east china
Posts: 1,908
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to roger Send a message via Yahoo to roger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
then I would say the problem has to be either in the multi-function switch or the wiring/ connectors in and around the steering column, which could have been damaged from movement in the column, or during a repair.
ok i work on it for 3 hours sat when i pull the headlight switch no power to the lights but i jump the head light wirer at the switch and the lights worked the i think i bought a bad head light switch so im going to take my son in law switch out of his truck that i know works and put it in mine
roger is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22436 seconds with 71 queries