4.3 tbi to 5.7 tbi - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 26th, 2009, 12:52 AM   #1
teichman
Member
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: harrison twp
Posts: 96
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 4.3 tbi to 5.7 tbi

i have a 89 s-10 blazer and i'm going to put a 350 tbi my question is will the tbi setup in the bazer work for the 350 tbi. what will i have to change
teichman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 26th, 2009, 06:55 AM   #2
jbsjunk
Meow
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 13,847
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

I've known a few people that swapped engines and never changed anything and all was well. As long as the years between the two are close to the same, it should be plug and play. Depending on the year, the TPS sensor will either be a flat 3 wire or round 3 wire.
jbsjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 07:17 AM   #3
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The wire harness is the same, you will need the computer from the 350 and if this is going in a 4x4 I do believe you need an oil pan made just for this swap.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 12:42 PM   #4
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

are you swapping from a 4.3 to a 350? or are you asking if you can take the TBI unit from a 350 and put it on the 4.3?

if your swapping engines you will need to change the computers. or you can have your computer programmed to run the 350. it will run off the 4.3 computer but not very well. if it's 4x4 you will need the special oil pan, motor mounts and you'll have to run either custom headers or camaro manifolds.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 03:46 PM   #5
teichman
Member
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: harrison twp
Posts: 96
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the blazer body is going on a k5 frame
teichman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.09080 seconds with 35 queries