What T-case? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2009, 06:10 PM   #1
Slayer63
Upstanding Member
 
Slayer63's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-29-06
Location: The Nasty
Posts: 1,709
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Exclamation What T-case?

Im getting closer and closer to my sfa swap but i still need to answer a few questions. i am going to run chevy axels, the 14bff is already in. my question is what t-case can i use for my chevy d60? is there anyway i can run a t-cse without an adapter? are any of the new process t-cases bolt in? im thinkin 205, any sugestions? im have a 4l60e it that helps.
Slayer63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 21st, 2009, 11:18 AM   #2
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you can get a 91 and down 241 t-case from a k-5 blazer. they are passenger side drop and manual shift. they used the 700r4 which is identical to the 4l60e IF you have a early model.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2009, 12:29 PM   #3
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

First off what is the vehicle? What tranny are you gonna run?

If you want strong go w/ a NP205 its part time and gear to gear. Anything else is gonna be chain and weaker!! Haven't seen a 205 brake but i've seen chains brake in the case before.

Last edited by Hoss Blazer; August 21st, 2009 at 12:39 PM.
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2009, 12:34 PM   #4
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoss Blazer View Post
If you want strong go w/ a NP205 its part time and gear to gear. Anything else is gonna be chain and weaker!! Haven't seen a 205 brake but i've seen chains brake in the case before.
one problem. he said he doesn't wanna use an adapter. 700r4 to 241 was a factory combo and can be had from many trucks.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2009, 12:56 PM   #5
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ya i didn't know what year, make and model it was because he didn't have that listed. I would try to find a combo on here for sale. I saw a TH400/NP205 a couple days ago!! But then the computer is gonna be all screwed up. Unless you switch to carb.
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2009, 01:39 PM   #6
Slayer63
Upstanding Member
 
Slayer63's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-29-06
Location: The Nasty
Posts: 1,709
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

its a 95 k1500 with the 4l60e.
Slayer63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2009, 04:59 PM   #7
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yea you can bolt a 241 right to your trans using a factory adapter from a k-5 blazer. easy setup
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 10:27 AM   #8
Slayer63
Upstanding Member
 
Slayer63's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-29-06
Location: The Nasty
Posts: 1,709
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
yea you can bolt a 241 right to your trans using a factory adapter from a k-5 blazer. easy setup
thanks man, just what i wanted to hear.
Slayer63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 12:02 PM   #9
redline8300
Redline8300
 
redline8300's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-14-07
Location: Now Schererville, IN
Posts: 243
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Try a divorced 205.
redline8300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 01:09 PM   #10
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

here you go. even has the adapter you need. 208=241 just fyi
NP 208 for the 700R4 $50 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 02:53 PM   #11
Ebrown
Senior Member
 
Ebrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-28-06
Location: Saginaw Mich
Posts: 480
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

27 spline Np 208 or 241 will bolt to the 4l60E or 700r4.. The 208 has 2.61.1 low range and the 241 has 2.72.1 low range.. The 241 is stronge by design..
Ebrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20919 seconds with 54 queries