Anyone running a Lq4 or lq9 in thier jeep? - Page 6 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > 4x4 Product reviews and how-to's
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 22nd, 2009, 09:25 AM   #101
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,737
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbaXJ View Post
Everybody claims the 4L80 is sooooo much worse. It's not much different at all, I thought it was gonna be a lot more severe.

It's 3". Yeah it matters, but it's not gonna make or break most builds.
Thats a 700R4 or early 4L60e, its got a 4 bolt square output. Do your picture with a modern 4L60e, its another 2-3" shorter. Its shorter than a TH350.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 26th, 2009, 09:55 AM   #102
benny87
Young Gun..!
 
benny87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-03-06
Location: Waterford
Posts: 2,970
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

For what its worth, I am running a stock 4L60E Gen 2 trans in my tj with a Cam'ed 5.3. I will run it till it blows than rebuild it. I have talked to some guys in CO that run this set up and seem to be doing fine so I am planning on giving it a try.
benny87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 09:57 AM   #103
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,514
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benny87 View Post
For what its worth, I am running a stock 4L60E Gen 2 trans in my tj with a Cam'ed 5.3. I will run it till it blows than rebuild it. I have talked to some guys in CO that run this set up and seem to be doing fine so I am planning on giving it a try.
Which cam are you running? Stock or aftermarket valve springs? Any ecm tuning, and if so who did it?
thanks
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 11:59 AM   #104
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,777
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

he's not "running" anything right now... he has a pile of untuned parts.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 01:21 PM   #105
1TFROT
Senior Member
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-09
Location: chi-town
Posts: 1,419
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

sorry it's not a jeep thing.....

but, I'm running the LQ4 in my s10 and love it. found it with very little miles on it. tossed a cam in, did some tuning and it runs great so far. it's a downright beast in 4lo and that's only with the current 233 (which is coming out now so the Altas can go in). we're guessing in the low 400s for HP (didn't get a chance to dyno)

rig is 5600# with 42" iroks and 5.38s, built TH350. ast time out we hit 48mph in low range (GPS) haven't found a good place to try 2wd/4hi yet (might scary with the full hydro).

almost bought one from Schramm (sp?), but it was gone when I called back. a friend found me the one I have now. believe it's an '04
1TFROT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 05:37 PM   #106
bbaXJ
Yooper In Training
 
bbaXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Fowlertucky, MI
Posts: 4,956
iTrader: (63)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to bbaXJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Thats a 700R4 or early 4L60e, its got a 4 bolt square output. Do your picture with a modern 4L60e, its another 2-3" shorter. Its shorter than a TH350.
I knew the output changed on the newer ones but I've never heard anything about the length. From my understanding they were basically the same for all 700R4s and 4L60Es, just different internals and controls.
bbaXJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 06:16 PM   #107
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,737
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbaXJ View Post
I knew the output changed on the newer ones but I've never heard anything about the length. From my understanding they were basically the same for all 700R4s and 4L60Es, just different internals and controls.
Yeah, once they went to the hex style output, the trans got shorter by about 1.5 inches. I thoguht it was a little more. Its exaggerated, because at least the the stuff I've been looking at (D300 adatpers), the late style adapters were also shorter than the earlier ones, so the total package was shorter.


Late style 4L60e: 21.9"
TH350: 21.8"
700R4/early 4L60: 23.4"
TH400: 24.4"
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 10:21 PM   #108
bbaXJ
Yooper In Training
 
bbaXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Fowlertucky, MI
Posts: 4,956
iTrader: (63)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to bbaXJ
Default

That works. All that matters is that 4L80>4L60
bbaXJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 10:48 PM   #109
somer1
You Get the Big One
 
somer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-09
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 395
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well I sent an e-mail to Schramm to see if they have any LQ9 motor tranny combos. I also asked if they had a H.O. aluminum 5.3 or a lq4 4l65e out of a Hummer. I really want an LQ9 but will see what they got. On another note I talked with Novak Conversions yesterday and asked about thier turn key set up. They offer a complete drive trein and everything you need assembled and ready to go, including headers radiator shift linkage programmed ecu easy install harness all the relays...Awsome right up till I found out the price. $11,0000.00 and they only really do the 5.3l. The price of easy I guess but way to rich for my blood, hence the e-mail to Schramm.
somer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 07:00 AM   #110
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,468
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Send an e-mail to LKQ with a list of what you want. If nothing else it gives you another cost comparison.

Edit: http://www.carcraft.com/projectbuild...ock/index.html

http://www.superchevy.com/technical/...l92_heads.html
__________________
My Jeep

Last edited by feva4u; August 27th, 2009 at 07:52 AM.
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 07:34 AM   #111
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,777
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

www.car-part.com

If you get into the $3500+ range you should look into an aluminum block in an L92 or LS2 or something along those lines. There was a trailblazer ss LS2 and trans for sale on craigslist a few weeks ago for about 4k
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 09:33 AM   #112
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,737
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

This would be a 4L80e, right?

99 2500hd newer body style - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 09:45 AM   #113
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,777
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
yes, sounds about right for aprices... not a steal but also not schrams prices.

it's either an 80 or an 85 since it's the HD... if I got a VIN I could tell you exactly what trans it is.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 05:36 PM   #114
bbaXJ
Yooper In Training
 
bbaXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Fowlertucky, MI
Posts: 4,956
iTrader: (63)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to bbaXJ
Default

Should be an 80E
bbaXJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2009, 05:25 PM   #115
somer1
You Get the Big One
 
somer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-09
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 395
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well no respounce from Schramm. Oh well. Yeah if I could find an LS2 with a tranny fro 3500. to 4000.00 that would be awsome. As I stated befor Pacific Fab wanted 4000.00 for a LQ4/ 4l60e combo but it did come wired and ready. I don't know what the hell to do now I'm half tempted to strech my wheel base a little and just go with an LQ4/ 4l80 combo because it's the easy way but then I would have to get yet another tranfer case, do my 4link and coilover set up blah blah blah. I have a set of brand new coilovers for the rear that I orderd awhile ago but I did'nt want to mount them in until i was positive on what drive train was going under it. I just want a freakin' LQ9 with a 4l65e complete for 2000.00 to 3500.00 and some Sharks with lazer beams on thier head.
somer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2009, 08:31 PM   #116
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,737
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Schramm has at least 5 LQ9s right now, ranging around $2200-$2600. Go to www.car-part.com.

There are LQ9s for $1200-$1400 out there. Schramms is $$$$, but they are lower mileage.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2009, 10:24 PM   #117
somer1
You Get the Big One
 
somer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-09
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 395
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks Jesus holy crap www.car-parts.com...awsome.
somer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2009, 07:22 PM   #118
somer1
You Get the Big One
 
somer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-07-09
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 395
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do any of you guys know if there is a Lq9 without the throtle buy wire set up? I thought that the 2004 Lq9 was throtle cable but not sure.
somer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2009, 08:41 PM   #119
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,819
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somer1 View Post
Do any of you guys know if there is a Lq9 without the throtle buy wire set up? I thought that the 2004 Lq9 was throtle cable but not sure.
Why? It works simple.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2009, 09:38 PM   #120
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,737
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
Why? It works simple.
had any trouble with it in water?
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > 4x4 Product reviews and how-to's

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20284 seconds with 81 queries