Ie 8 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 8th, 2009, 11:01 PM   #1
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default Ie 8

likes/dislikes... should I download it or no?
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 8th, 2009, 11:02 PM   #2
schweeb
spelling nazi
 
schweeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-02-07
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 2,565
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I dislike all IE. Only use it when necessary. Firefox FTW.

IE8 is merely OK.
schweeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2009, 11:35 PM   #3
RockyMTN05
Cadillac pimpin
 
RockyMTN05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-02-07
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 3,632
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to RockyMTN05
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schweeb View Post
I dislike all IE. Only use it when necessary. Firefox FTW.

IE8 is merely OK.
x2. And by when you say, "Only use when necessary", you mean never.

It's slow and shitty. There's no reason not to use any other browser. A simple google search will yield browser benchmarks to further prove the shittyness of it.
RockyMTN05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2009, 11:43 PM   #4
RockyMTN05
Cadillac pimpin
 
RockyMTN05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-02-07
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 3,632
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to RockyMTN05
Default

see here:
http://www.codexon.com/posts/firefox...era-benchmarks

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/929/1/

But then again, this thread isn't necessarily about the "FASTEST" browser.. but more-so the opinions on IE users. So this info may or may not be relevant to you. However, if it's consistently ranked one of the slowest and unstable browsers currently available.. I found myself asking, Why would anyone use it instead of other free (and far superior) programs that do the same thing?
RockyMTN05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 12:26 AM   #5
Fatty Matty
Senior Member
 
Fatty Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: Tecumseh
Posts: 5,378
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm forced to use IE at work. I was using FF off a thumbdrive for awhile, but was told to stop. I cant stand it.

I havent used IE at home in years.
__________________
'12 JKU
'14 1500
www.midwest-abs.com
Fatty Matty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 12:47 AM   #6
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,801
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Matty View Post
I'm forced to use IE at work. I was using FF off a thumbdrive for awhile, but was told to stop. I cant stand it.

I havent used IE at home in years.
We cant use jump drives for anything at work anymore. It sucks.
FlatFender is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 02:06 AM   #7
schweeb
spelling nazi
 
schweeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-02-07
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 2,565
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyMTN05 View Post
x2. And by when you say, "Only use when necessary", you mean never.

It's slow and shitty. There's no reason not to use any other browser. A simple google search will yield browser benchmarks to further prove the shittyness of it.
I have applications at work that only work in IE, or behave better in IE. (Lotus iNotes, internal timecard system, etc...)
schweeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 07:07 AM   #8
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

IE8 sucks!

go buy some crayons and try and draw the incoming screens...its faster. secondly the program fumbles its opening application so often I have to restart it several times before it runs right. waste of bites
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 09:20 AM   #9
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Thanks I will ixneh the pop up window
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 09:22 AM   #10
MusKegon_ZJ_gurl
Senior Member
 
MusKegon_ZJ_gurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-08
Location: 49442
Posts: 17,280
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

Im prolly wrong here but I think IE8 had some kinda security hole in it that microshaft can't find a fix for....
__________________
http://www.glfwda.org/
MusKegon_ZJ_gurl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 09:46 AM   #11
DuffMan
Your Message Here
 
DuffMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: The Ile of Grosse
Posts: 5,845
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Chrome or Firefox.

NEVER use IE.
__________________
This is the Pub. Leave common sense at the door.
DuffMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 10:16 AM   #12
techman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: SE MI
Posts: 695
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I rarely use IE any longer, however if you are still using IE, IE 8 is an improvement in speed, security and performance over earlier IE versions.
techman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #13
TechJeeper
Formerly "Gr8archer"
 
TechJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,738
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TechJeeper
Default

The newest version of IE is bugged, it dosn't know how to handle some PHP Background CSS Codes, simple html, and somehow MS screwed it up.
TechJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 10:43 AM   #14
_F_
Shama Lama Ding Done
 
_F_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 821
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to _F_
Default

I've tried FF, Chrome and Safari. I like FF the best. My wife is used to IE and thus I keep IE on the home computer. IE 8 works okay but occasionally it will bog our PC (Vista with Cable Modem) and run very slowly.
_F_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 12:18 PM   #15
Medic8
You call, we haul.
 
Medic8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Southgate, MI
Posts: 1,495
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Using IE is like bangin a hooker without a rubber, then acting surprised when your hootus turns green and falls off.

There are so many security flaws/ openings, it's resource-heavy, and half the time, it doesn't even function correctly on stuff you SHOULD be looking at.

I'll parrot everyone else's sentiment when I say; Firefox. And, if you want to make your browsing 1000x safer, get the add-ons called "Adblock Plus" and "No-script". I've been running both of those for about a year and a half now, I look at some pretty shady crap online, and my antivirus (AVG) as well as Hitman and Malwarebytes scans always come up clean.
Medic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 12:36 PM   #16
Mommabear
Happy Happy Joy Joy
 
Mommabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-24-06
Location: Elk Rapids Mi and San Jose California
Posts: 1,998
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

We have to run IE at work due to web based applications that do not run on firefox and even then we're stuck on 7.0 I find a lot more won't run properly on 8.0 than will.
Mommabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 10:16 PM   #17
vr
Senior Member
 
vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: NotMichigan U.S.A.
Posts: 3,680
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlatFender View Post
We cant use jump drives for anything at work anymore. It sucks.
Download FF from portableapps.com and launch it from your home dir.
vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18561 seconds with 71 queries