looking to build a 4.3 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 29th, 2009, 04:13 PM   #1
JeepXJdude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: Gaylord, Mi
Posts: 473
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to JeepXJdude
Default looking to build a 4.3

would like any input on building a 4.3 for my 98 blazer, going to go 30 over for sure and probably a cam and stuff, just not sure how far i wanna go, will have around 1500.00 for parts and machine work, labor will be free. This is going to be my daily driver so dont want to go too crazy. any suggestions would be apprieciated! Also would not be against buying a motor that has already been built. Thanks
JeepXJdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 29th, 2009, 04:17 PM   #2
adamzr2
numero douce undela
 
adamzr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-12-05
Location: GB/ out of a suitcase
Posts: 2,515
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

For 1500 you could be close to a 5.3 or 5.7 and probably get better mpgs
adamzr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 04:54 PM   #3
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

For $1500 I would slap a turbo on it and call it a day! I was looking at 4.3 mods and that is the cheapest dollar per HP mod you can make. 4.3's have very strong bottom ends already so really you don't have to mess with any internals as long as you don't go to crazy with the boost. I seen a 4.3 liter in a Bravada take a Vette 0 to 100 I am not sure but I think the Cyclons and typhoons used 4.3 liters instead of the 3.8? If so there is parts already available for this mod, I just figured the wifes Bravada did not need that much balls and decided against the turbo. Instead I am going to do a few simple mods like 1.6 rockers, a better flowing exhaust a tune and a few tranny mods.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 05:04 PM   #4
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamzr2 View Post
For 1500 you could be close to a 5.3 or 5.7 and probably get better mpgs

X2
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 05:55 PM   #5
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

don't waste your money because you will be disappointed with results. the biggest problem with the vortec 4.3 engines is the injection system. not very programmable and doesn't respond that well to changes. unless the engine is worn don't bother boring it .030 over because you won't gain any measurable power from it. and unless you swap it to a TBI setup or go carbed installing a bigger cam will make it run like shit. i have seen people install bigger cams into Vortec trucks and get worse MPG and power because the computer cannot handle the changes.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 08:56 PM   #6
JeepXJdude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: Gaylord, Mi
Posts: 473
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to JeepXJdude
Default

well yeah but you can reprogram the computer, and comp cams have some that say smooth idle and dont require reprogramming
JeepXJdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 09:03 PM   #7
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

then better save a bunch of money for reprogramming. not cheap. for a live dyno tune which is the best way to tune it some shops want 4-500 bucks.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 09:04 PM   #8
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ya but you can do all you want to it and @ the end of the day its still gonna be a v6 engine. There no placement like displacement!!!
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 09:36 PM   #9
JeepXJdude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: Gaylord, Mi
Posts: 473
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to JeepXJdude
Default

can i throw a 350 in it and still use my same trans? I know they bolt up but the wiring and shit
JeepXJdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 09:41 PM   #10
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

yes you can. take the engine, wiring harness and computer and anything else attached from a 96-99 half ton. make sure you get it from a 4x4 automatic so that all wiring will be identical to the blazer and should be a simple swap.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 10:25 PM   #11
Tweeternpi
Senior Member
 
Tweeternpi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-23-06
Location: Carleton, Mi
Posts: 1,042
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Go here and Read!!! www.S10forums.com You will fine all the info you are looking for and than some. For $1500 bucks I would find a V8 of the same year with the computer and wiring and drop that in. It would be more hp than the hp you will get out of a V6 and better on gas.

If it is an Auto it will bolt up to the 350 as well.
Tweeternpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2009, 04:26 PM   #12
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,718
iTrader: (56)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

If you do want to read up a bit on what you can do, search, I believe hot rod built up a 300 4.3 (although, thats probably 250 SAE hp...). The write up is on their site somewhere.

They aren't really all that buildable. If you know someone who can do TBI tunes, it'd probably be the way to go, use vortec heads and a 4 barrel manifold, with a tbi adapter, if you want to keep injection.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18784 seconds with 56 queries