Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Site comments, issues, or suggestions and announcements
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 16th, 2009, 06:07 AM   #1
Bow_Extreme
Senior Member
 
Bow_Extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-07
Location: Holland, MI.
Posts: 1,082
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Run time errors

It seems lately the frequency of run time errors I've been seeing is increasing when on Great Lakes 4x4. I can't see any issues on this end as this site is the only site I have problems with. It does this on my desktop PC and my laptop. This has been steadily increasing in frequency lately. If anyone has suggestions please advise. Usually the runtime error is followed by internet explorer shutdown as well.
Bow_Extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 06:16 AM   #2
MusKegon_ZJ_gurl
Senior Member
 
MusKegon_ZJ_gurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-08
Location: 49442
Posts: 15,994
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

is your java up to date?
__________________
Associate Membership Secretary/Membership Secretary
Great Lakes Four Wheel Drive Association
Support The Sport!

We must all go through a rite of passage and it must be physical, it must be painful, and it must leave a mark.
MusKegon_ZJ_gurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 09:12 AM   #3
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,301
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

problem - Your using internet explorer
solution - Use ANY other browser, i.e. firefox or safari


I have no runtime issues and thats on 3 different macs, 1 XP 64bit machine and 1 vista 32bit one
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 09:18 AM   #4
mean_greenEXJAY
YJ now
 
mean_greenEXJAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-07
Location: Vicksburg, MI
Posts: 1,380
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have been getting the same run time errors lately
mean_greenEXJAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 09:20 AM   #5
Pokerob
hug life
 
Pokerob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-25-06
Location: G-Rap, MI
Posts: 10,147
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have no errors with IE explorer ie v7

ie v.8 is a piece of shit.
Pokerob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 09:26 AM   #6
kareless
Dirty Little Girl!
 
kareless's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-07
Location: Harrison, Mi
Posts: 4,248
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have been having the same issues on both of my computers..
kareless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 09:32 AM   #7
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,293
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

this site is optimized for firefox. IE is pretty much useless for anybody who has heard of firefox. This would be the first complaint from IE users in a year, since I redid the PM system.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 09:39 AM   #8
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It is the most recent update to I.E

The most recent update caused it to run like shit everywhere. I also couldn't run more than one tab without a crash.

I just rolled back to the earlier one.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #9
Bow_Extreme
Senior Member
 
Bow_Extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-07
Location: Holland, MI.
Posts: 1,082
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I guess I should start using firefox. Thanks
Bow_Extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2009, 01:02 PM   #10
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,226
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

x2 I hardly ever get any errors with FireFox... get something on the mozilla line...
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2009, 02:26 PM   #11
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 20,732
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

That's great for those of you that have an option. Both of the computers I use are company set up and I don't know if I can change the browsers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2009, 02:33 PM   #12
awalters
Hired Badass
 
awalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-09
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
That's great for those of you that have an option. Both of the computers I use are company set up and I don't know if I can change the browsers.
You don't have to completely change the default browser. You can just install firefox, or Chrome and have it run alongside internet explorer.

I use Chrome because it's a bare bones browser. That's all it does, it includes very few features, but it is the fastest one I've used yet.
awalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2009, 08:15 AM   #13
Chinski
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-16-06
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 385
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have been getting a runtime error followed by IE shutdown; using IE 7. Just started happening lately. Says something about C++ engine...
I'm not sure if it has happened on other sites or not. I'll have to pay more attention.
Chinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Site comments, issues, or suggestions and announcements
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.13372 seconds with 36 queries