New problem 4l60e won't go into park - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 16th, 2009, 12:08 AM   #1
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,080
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default New problem 4l60e won't go into park

I have a 1993 Chevy 1500 with a 4.3 and 4l60e trans. When i first got the truck it went into park, reverse, neutral, and drive fine. I then had to put it into first, and then the problems started. When you would shift it into gear, the gear selector on the dash did not match the gear you were in. It was like that for a few weeks. Then when I would shift from park to drive it would skip reverse and neutral and i would have to go into regular drive on the dash before it would shift into overdrive in the trans. Now, it will not go into park period, even when the dash is in park, the trans is in reverse. It is almost impossible to find neutral, and moving the shifter all the way down and all the way up fast and slow does not solve the problem. When you do find reverse or drive, it shifts fine and everything. I am not sure if it is the transmission or shift linkage or what. According to the po, he put in a gm re manufactured trans with 30k on it, and I have only put about 1500 miles on it. If you have any idea what the problem could be please help.

Last edited by hondadirtracer; July 17th, 2009 at 06:21 PM.
hondadirtracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 16th, 2009, 03:58 PM   #2
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sounds like a problem with linkage between shifter and trans. and also the small cable that goes to the indicator could be bound up.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 12:39 AM   #3
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,080
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

How would i go about fixing the linkage if that was the case, i will check the cable in the morning.
hondadirtracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 10:27 AM   #4
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

is the linkage mechanical lever or does it have a cable from shifter to trans?
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 10:34 AM   #5
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,042
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

i think 93 still used to bar linkage, and your gear indicator just came loose from the steering wheel. there should be a plastic cover on the steering column just behind the dash trim piece, that has a string attached to it, mount that plastic cover back on the steering column and your indicator should work (or you could just count the clicks when you shift, worked for me for 3 months)

for your shift linkage to the trans (if it's not cable), make sure the bar goes through both holes in the bracket attached to the trans, sometimes the bar can shimmy out of one of the holes
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #6
awd6000ste
ABA
 
awd6000ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-19-08
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 144
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

there is a rod that connects at the tranny gear selector under the truck with a coupling and a bolt to tighten it to the selector rod. over time the bolt can loosen and slide on the rod causing it not to be in the right position in relation to the indicator.

ive has this issue with a 91 blazer and a 93 blazer, both with the same 700r4/4l60e trans. youll need a buddy to sit in the truck while you adjust the linkage below to match what his lever is on.

what i did was completely disconnect the linkage, rotate the selector right on the side of the trans and get familiar with where the gears are. have your buddy put the lever in park, shift the trans manually buy hand into park, and tighten the bolt. run through the gears a few times to make sure its all lined up right.

its hard to explain in words but its really a super easy fix. crawl under there, find the selector/rod and youll understand what im talking about. id help ya but im two hours away and its a 5-10 minute fix. good luck!
awd6000ste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 06:20 PM   #7
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,080
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Now i believe i have an even bigger problem. I disconnected the linkage and was moving it into different places, but it still would not shift into all gears no matter what position the gear selector was in. I unscrewed the nut that held a bracket onto the little rod that comes out the side of the trans. I was moving it through the gears and then it wouldn't go into any gears. I can move the rod that comes out of the trans in either direction for multiple turns and all it does is spin. Sometimes it will get a little stiff, but It will not go into any gear and i do not know what gear it is in.
hondadirtracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2009, 10:39 AM   #8
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,080
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

anyone have a clue what is wrong? Am I going to have to take it to tranny tom or a transmission shop?
hondadirtracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2009, 10:58 AM   #9
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sounds like the linkage inside the trans has fallen off. i can fix it for you. send me pm if interested
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:25 PM   #10
hondadirtracer
Commercial Pilot
 
hondadirtracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-25-08
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 2,080
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

kodiak fixed it for me.
hondadirtracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.15717 seconds with 50 queries