98 TJ bad speedo after SYE install - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2009, 07:27 PM   #1
98redwrangler
Senior Member
 
98redwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-19-08
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 100
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 98 TJ bad speedo after SYE install

Have read some of the other posts but mine might be slightly different. Before the SYE, speedo worked but showed slightly off because of going to 33 inch MT's. Went to a Rugged Ridge Mega Short SYE and custom drive shafts. Now the speedo shows nothing over 30 mph, needle jumps around, odometer shows .5 miles over a one mile course. Even after having the gauge cluster unit out while doing touch-up work, all of the other gauges work OK. This SYE has a magnetic speed sensor and plugs right into the wiring harness so there are no gears to play with. Have called Omix-Ada, makers of the SYE but their customer support is the engineering department and claim that the install shops do all of their trouble shooting, Omix-Ada didn't even have an old or new speedo sensor to look at, so no help from them. I put a new ground on the harness plug ( have had grounding issues in the past) but have not yet checked for the 5V output from the PCM. Maybe I could get 4WD to give an exchange on the sensor. Any ideas would be appreciated.
98redwrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 5th, 2009, 07:59 PM   #2
mzy4v1
40's baby!
 
mzy4v1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-02-07
Location: Clarkston
Posts: 566
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The speed sensor on my Rubicon went bad, it uses a magnetic style sensor also. The needle was doing the same thing you described, especially the part about jumping around eratically.

I replaced the sensor and now everything is normal. I would try getting a new sensor.
mzy4v1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2009, 08:20 AM   #3
98redwrangler
Senior Member
 
98redwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-19-08
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 100
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the info, I was leaning toward changing the sensor since it was the major variable in the whole system. It's just a matter of 4WD calling it a defective exchange
98redwrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.23300 seconds with 29 queries