95 1500 5.9 Ram Timing issue. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 25th, 2009, 01:25 AM   #1
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default 95 1500 5.9 Ram Timing issue.

My 95 Ram 1500 4x4 5.9 360 V8 acts like it is stalling while at 1/2-3/4 throttle, typically when I move my foot a little, typically after a few miles driving at full temperature, but its not consistent, and I cant cause it when I have time to look at it. Some times it back fires, some times it just falls on its face then picks right back up, sometimes it takes a bit of cranking to start, some times it starts right away. Its also developing a rough idle and stalling condition when it idles for a minute in park or neutral. Exhaust smokes white when cold but its not using coolant, burns about 2 quarts of oil every few thousand miles exhaust pipe has a nice sooty black, as it always has been.
Problem started occurring after my trip to Silver Lake last weekend.

So, I am leaning to the Crank Sensor, might explain the white smoke as not enough advance and unburnt fuel, and not burning hot enough would also explain the carbon build up, and the occasional miss, also had a tune up about 10K miles ago.

Last edited by Freak; June 26th, 2009 at 06:58 PM.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 25th, 2009, 12:02 PM   #2
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

I think I was wrong, got it to act up again today, when I unplugged the TPS it started and ran down the road, but for obvious reasons stalled when I came to a stop.

I don't even think this truck has a crank sensor TBH, I can't find the damn thing if it does...
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 12:10 PM   #3
greygoose
I'm the dude
 
greygoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: New Baltimore / Presque Isle
Posts: 6,081
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My buddy had a similar problem on the same truck / motor. He was getting codes that said multi cylinder miss fire. it turned out to be the cat.
greygoose is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 12:17 PM   #4
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greygoose View Post
My buddy had a similar problem on the same truck / motor. He was getting codes that said multi cylinder miss fire. it turned out to be the cat.
Cat? I killed that a while ago...
My truck hasn't thrown a code since this started, it was throwing 02 codes before, but that is because the cat is hollow and its not in the direct stream of the exhaust... can change the 02 sensor and get another 02 code 5 minutes later. I guess this could point to another problem... but I haven't been able to pin anything down and it ran GOOD until the last few weeks, however, it wasn't until on the way home last Saturday that it became nearly undriveable.
Also, when its acting up it wont idle. The idle was good up until 2 weeks ago but it wasn't erratic enough to warrant any investigation until now.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 01:40 PM   #5
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

I just swapped the TPS with a used one I had, same problem.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 02:28 PM   #6
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

god I don't want to take the manifold off to get into the distributor... if I unplug the MAF sensor it gets worst... but would MAF cause it to backfire?
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 09:21 PM   #7
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-14-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,005
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do you have a IAC on that, cause mine did that stall at stop signs and what have you and I unplugged it and ran fine, so left it that way.

Can't say I know much about Dodges, as they are built by a crap company
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 09:59 PM   #8
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiNi Beast View Post
Do you have a IAC on that, cause mine did that stall at stop signs and what have you and I unplugged it and ran fine, so left it that way.

Can't say I know much about Dodges, as they are built by a crap company
Already checked next step is the pickup in the distributor... it seems to be a timing issue...
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 11:34 PM   #9
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-14-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,005
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freak View Post
Already checked next step is the pickup in the distributor... it seems to be a timing issue...
yeah time for a new damn driver
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #10
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

What exactly do we have to control the timing on this truck?
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2009, 07:10 PM   #11
HVYRTFT
Reed my teef
 
HVYRTFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-07
Location: Whitehall,MI
Posts: 2,462
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freak View Post
What exactly do we have to control the timing on this truck?
I believe it's all computer controlled.

I.E. you can't just turn the distributor CC or CCW.
HVYRTFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2009, 07:17 PM   #12
1988JeepXj
XJ Aficianado
 
1988JeepXj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-09
Location: Redford, Mi
Posts: 1,120
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 1988JeepXj Send a message via Yahoo to 1988JeepXj Send a message via Skype™ to 1988JeepXj
Default

PCM controls the timing, the only sensor inside the distributor is a cam position sensor.
Also, the truck should have a crank position sensor, on the trans bellhousing, somewhere near the oil pressure sender, as the service information I have states that the OPS and EGR tube may need to be removed for access.
1988JeepXj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2009, 07:34 PM   #13
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HVYRTFT View Post
I believe it's all computer controlled.

I.E. you can't just turn the distributor CC or CCW.
Your right. Moving the distributor wont adjust the timing, if you move it too far it wont run, but about 2inches of adjustment for the "run zone" no matter what its rotated it will remain the same. Mine happens to be 10 degrees, I think...
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1988JeepXj View Post
PCM controls the timing, the only sensor inside the distributor is a cam position sensor.
Also, the truck should have a crank position sensor, on the trans bellhousing, somewhere near the oil pressure sender, as the service information I have states that the OPS and EGR tube may need to be removed for access.
you make me sad I was hoping it wasn't back there... I cant phiscally see it..

Did check the codes and got #66 bad computer. Going to reset it and see what we can do...

I was asking what sensors make cause the timing to adjust, cam, crank, TPS, and MAF seems right...
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 12:46 PM   #14
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

I think I found the crank sensor...

I think I have to take the passenger side exhaust manifold off to get at it...
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 09:43 AM   #15
mopar96
Get Some!!
 
mopar96's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-09
Location: Wyoming, MI
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a 1996 dodge 5.9 liter complete engine if it comes down to it. LoL. Make you a good deal.
mopar96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 10:19 AM   #16
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

have you got a computer? LOL seems to be running down the road all right now, but keeps stalling when I come to a stop... Ive about had it with this thing.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 10:50 PM   #17
dodgeboy
redneck truck club
 
dodgeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-07
Location: new hudson / ellsworth mi
Posts: 1,493
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

whats the coolant temp sensor telling the computer for a temp?? get a scanner that shows data and see whats doing what would help out alot! see whats giving the right info.
dodgeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 11:10 PM   #18
mudbillyredneck
Senior Member
 
mudbillyredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-08
Location: Lapeer, MI
Posts: 4,738
iTrader: (134)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

sounds like a case of dead pedel ?
mudbillyredneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 03:37 AM   #19
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeboy View Post
whats the coolant temp sensor telling the computer for a temp?? get a scanner that shows data and see whats doing what would help out alot! see whats giving the right info.
the gauge in the dash is showing 200-210 there is only one temp sensor on this motor. If I could get a scanner on this one I would have done it damn thing is 2 peace plug, and I dont have the right connector for it, nor can I find one

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudbillyredneck View Post
sounds like a case of dead pedel ?
ok, explain more?

It was running fine around town in the cooler weather, but when I ran up to Fremont today it flipped out on me as soon as I got off 131 @ post drive, backfiring and feeling like I was stomping the pedal then letting go... When I unplug the throttle position sensor it stops backfiring and there is a narrower area where the throttle jumps up and down.

Last edited by Freak; July 2nd, 2009 at 03:40 AM.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 08:48 AM   #20
dodgeboy
redneck truck club
 
dodgeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-07
Location: new hudson / ellsworth mi
Posts: 1,493
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

try to replace the TPS with a new one... it stalled when unpluged because the computer didnt know where the throttle position was to keep it running. if the new one doesnt work take it back.
dodgeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.27782 seconds with 82 queries