4l60e ? help please - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 29th, 2009, 06:56 PM   #1
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default 4l60e ? help please

95 z71 350/4l60e

ok my truck was fine, i go through the atm and i go to take off and it was lugging real bad so i put it in first and it down shifted to 1st and was fine. so i stop and check the fluid and it was at the full cold mark and was fully warm so i added 1 qt to fill it up. it was fine again then i stop at a stop light and now all i have is 3rd and 2nd but to get 2nd i have to manually down shift, i cant get 1st or 4th or tcc lock up.

i cant think of any thing that would cause this, any ideas?
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 29th, 2009, 08:51 PM   #2
storey469
Newbie
 
Join Date: 06-12-09
Location: soo, mi
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it could be in the trans. i had an issue with my 96 chevy half ton. it has the 4L60E in it. i lost 3rd and 2nd gear. i ended up replacing the clutch plates, gears, and putting a shift kit in.
storey469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 08:11 AM   #3
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,859
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

You need to have it scanned for codes first. It could be a shift solenoid or 3-2 down shift solenoid.
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 08:57 AM   #4
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,368
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

4L60E's suck. Ask anyone who has owned one.
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 04:51 PM   #5
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

ok update im starting to think there connected i also had my dash wig out twice and it hasnt again the spedo and tach stoped working but the rest stayed working? and the check gauges light came on
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2009, 09:32 PM   #6
tyzstuff
[ ]lllll[ ]
 
tyzstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-09
Location: Lansing/Michigan
Posts: 558
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Is the shift indicator light going out when you have the tranny problems?If so it isthe ignition switch.Mine did that to me a week after I bought it in 96.If not I would go with the scan and the shift silionoids.I also had to do that after having a tranny flush.The force of the flush took two of mine out.
tyzstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2009, 02:30 PM   #7
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyzstuff View Post
Is the shift indicator light going out when you have the tranny problems?If so it isthe ignition switch.Mine did that to me a week after I bought it in 96.If not I would go with the scan and the shift silionoids.I also had to do that after having a tranny flush.The force of the flush took two of mine out.
yes the light goes out too, but it has only done it once or twice since i fixed some grounds, and i did the solinoid test with the scenner and there fine

thanks im going to check into the ignition switch
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 07:22 PM   #8
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

ok, it started acting up again so i took out the cluster and the problem goes away when i take it out but comes back as soon as i put it back in. can any one explain this?
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17619 seconds with 44 queries