Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 31st, 2009, 09:17 PM   #1
honda rider
Beaver Patrol
 
honda rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-08
Location: marlette mi
Posts: 724
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default tbi 350 running weird

picked up an 87 chevy 4x4 with a tbi 350 in it runs good idling, but when driving after a few min. it starts to babble and act like its goin to die, found if i turn the key off then turn back on before motor quits it will run fine again for about thirty sec. then start running weird all over again. any suggestions?
honda rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 06:38 AM   #2
OL RED
workin hard to play hard
 
OL RED's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: look behind you ;) or sanford
Posts: 770
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to OL RED
Default

full tune up, cap, rotor, plugs, wires, and o2 sensors. made mine run right
OL RED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 06:43 AM   #3
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,291
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

If it is truly resetting and running fine after a key-off situation, I would say the problem lies in the ECM. I had some memory faults in my TPI, and when I sent it to the pcmforless.com people, they found the fault, reburned a module for my modifications, I pulled out another ECM from the junk yard, and I've never had a problem since.

Mine would do the exact same thing as yours. It would fire up run a little rough at first (I remember the IAC being very erratic), and if I got into the gas within 2 or 3 minutes it would backfire or die. It would then run ok for 25-30 minutes then it would die again.




The other thing to check is if its going into closed loop. IIRC, 30 seconds is when your engine should start using 02 sensors to modify fuel flow.

Its pretty impossible to troubleshoot that setup without cross count numbers, and the like. Try to find a real-time digital scanner. They have really came down in price over the last two years.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 06:52 AM   #4
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
If it is truly resetting and running fine after a key-off situation, I would say the problem lies in the ECM. I had some memory faults in my TPI, and when I sent it to the pcmforless.com people, they found the fault, reburned a module for my modifications, I pulled out another ECM from the junk yard, and I've never had a problem since.

Mine would do the exact same thing as yours. It would fire up run a little rough at first (I remember the IAC being very erratic), and if I got into the gas within 2 or 3 minutes it would backfire or die. It would then run ok for 25-30 minutes then it would die again.




The other thing to check is if its going into closed loop. IIRC, 30 seconds is when your engine should start using 02 sensors to modify fuel flow.

Its pretty impossible to troubleshoot that setup without cross count numbers, and the like. Try to find a real-time digital scanner. They have really came down in price over the last two years.
pcmforless.com is the shit.
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:29 AM   #5
honda rider
Beaver Patrol
 
honda rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-08
Location: marlette mi
Posts: 724
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

prolly cant eleminate any of that can i, truck is strickly off road
honda rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2009, 10:51 PM   #6
blowngp99
Country Boy
 
blowngp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-08-09
Location: Green Bay Wisconsin
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blowngp99
Default

I was having the same problem last week. I picked up a set of NGK plugs, and it run's really good now. I would start with the plugs and go from there.
blowngp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 02:04 AM   #7
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Mine also ran like that last year and it was the fuel filter. It did not throw any codes so if you have no check engine light start there along with full tune up. Fuel filters are about $15 and easy to change.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 07:59 AM   #8
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if you don't feel like fixing it switch over to a carb. since it's not a dd or on road truck i'm sure you don't care about mileage.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 08:02 AM   #9
honda rider
Beaver Patrol
 
honda rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-08
Location: marlette mi
Posts: 724
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

that about that, i got the stuff to convert it over
honda rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 03:53 PM   #10
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
if you don't feel like fixing it switch over to a carb. since it's not a dd or on road truck i'm sure you don't care about mileage.
What is it with you not wanting to fix shit?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 04:38 PM   #11
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
What is it with you not wanting to fix shit?
technically he will be fixing it by switching over to a carb. replacing what causes the problem is what most people call "fixing"
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 10:19 PM   #12
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
replacing what causes the problem is what most people call "fixing"
No, most people who speak English know "fixing" to mean repairing something. "Replacing" something is removing it and putting another identical one in its place.

You are suggesting neither.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 10:40 PM   #13
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
No, most people who speak English know "fixing" to mean repairing something. "Replacing" something is removing it and putting another identical one in its place.

You are suggesting neither.
Guter kluger Arsch hat abgeschlossen that better? lol
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 10:54 PM   #14
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
Guter kluger Arsch hat abgeschlossen that better? lol
Good smart ass locked?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 11:01 PM   #15
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I tellin ya try a new fuel filter first...took me a long time to figure out why mine was running just like yours is. TBI likes about 14psi and if your filter is just a little dirty and it's only getting say 12 psi it will run like shit. Turn it of and some of the contaminants can separate from the fuel filter allowing it to flow better and run good for a little while until they clog the filter again.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 11:17 PM   #16
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
Good smart ass locked?
f-ing translators. never consistent
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2009, 08:30 PM   #17
SammySmalls
Senior Member
 
SammySmalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-09
Location: Farwell, MI
Posts: 437
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Crank sensor going retarded, once it warms up the computer adjusts timing and it starts to crap out...
SammySmalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.19177 seconds with 46 queries