2.9 power - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 16th, 2009, 04:38 PM   #1
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 2.9 power

i have read the stuff on the ranger station, but does anybody know how to get more power out of a stock ford 2.9?
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 04:54 PM   #2
lepp1892
WebWheeling1KeyAtaTime
 
lepp1892's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-07
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 740
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

pull it out and put a 4.0 V6 in or a 5.0 V8 depending on how much power you want... lol... or if you want it to feel like it has more power regear the axles... I dont think there is much to do to a 2.9
lepp1892 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 07:48 PM   #3
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

according to TRS there are several things that can be done. i am looking to liven the motor up a little. i was just wondering which would be the most cost effective options, and if anybody has tried any of these. i would like to swap to a 4.0 but thats a big project and i dont have time or resources to swap motors right now. unless somebody has a complete running 4.0, with the computer and everything they want to sell to me.

http://www.therangerstation.com/tech.../2_9_Page.html
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2009, 07:40 PM   #4
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

Your biggest problem is the fact that it uses a speed density computer which will not make any adjustments for increased airflow thru the motor from ported heads,bigger cam or other mods. To make more power you need to get more air & fuel into the motor....getting the air in&out is the easy part but adding the required fuel is the tricky part. Yeah you can add headers,exhaust,free flowing intake stuff the help it breath easier but the power gain will be very small and most likely only from making the engine run leaner.

The 2.9 is OK motor but tryin to get serious power out of it is pointless. I think the best and easiest option is to re-gear the truck and multiply the little power it already makes.

2nd best option is a motor swap. A 4.0 is a major upgrade over the 2.9 but your still stuck with a garbage trans. Swapping is a 5.0 is alot more work but it opens up your options for a much stronger drivetrain like c4's,c6's or even AOD's.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2009, 09:09 PM   #5
94rangeron35s
bought a Jeep
 
94rangeron35s's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: North Muskegon, Michigan..
Posts: 4,451
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 94rangeron35s
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathbypsi View Post
Your biggest problem is the fact that it uses a speed density computer which will not make any adjustments for increased airflow thru the motor from ported heads,bigger cam or other mods. To make more power you need to get more air & fuel into the motor....getting the air in&out is the easy part but adding the required fuel is the tricky part. Yeah you can add headers,exhaust,free flowing intake stuff the help it breath easier but the power gain will be very small and most likely only from making the engine run leaner.

The 2.9 is OK motor but tryin to get serious power out of it is pointless. I think the best and easiest option is to re-gear the truck and multiply the little power it already makes.

2nd best option is a motor swap. A 4.0 is a major upgrade over the 2.9 but your still stuck with a garbage trans. Swapping is a 5.0 is alot more work but it opens up your options for a much stronger drivetrain like c4's,c6's or even AOD's.


The 4.0 is a good motor and with a good cooler the a4ld isnt that bad of a trans but there are also adapters out there to mate a 700r4/4l60e Chevy tranny behind them.. which both are better tannies then the a4ld because of the lower 1st gear they have.
94rangeron35s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2009, 10:45 PM   #6
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

so bottom line im not gettin much power out of it, im ont going to get much more power out of it and i dont have the money to swap to a 4.0 or bigger so im just stuck right now.

im a little desperate, you mentioned fuel flow, the tech article says something about swapping 19lb 5.0 injectors, MSD coil and advanced timing. would the injectors add more fuel to the mix to get more power? im not too familiar with this kind of engine work.

Last edited by Jt91bronco; April 19th, 2009 at 10:49 PM.
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2009, 10:51 PM   #7
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

What size tires you using and what gears you have? Prolly the best and cheapest way to go is just change the gears.If you have some 3.45's in there and you pick up some cheap used 4.10's it will feel like you added 100hp.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2009, 10:55 PM   #8
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

right now i have 3.73 and 30x9.5 tires, id like to go to 4.10. doing that in the rear would be no big thing but the front is a deferent story. 4.10 d35s are hard to come by and i dont want to pull the front axle apart unless im going to upgrade or if i get a D28 4.10 pig REAL cheap.

how dod yours handle on the road with the maxis tires? could you get the torque converter to lock up much? i dd mine but i would keep the MTs next to the garage unless i plan on using them.

Last edited by Jt91bronco; April 19th, 2009 at 10:59 PM.
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2009, 11:06 PM   #9
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

There is a junkyard in Deerfield Mi called Nagy's Auto that told me a few months ago that they had a few 4.10 d35's layin around. I ended up pickin up 4.56 instead.

I dont use the Buckshots on my Bronco2,those are on my 99 Ranger and it drives like a stock Ranger.Handles fine{no sway bars} and rides like utter shit {add-a-leaf and cranked up t-bars} but none of this are the tires fault.


My B2 with 3.73's and 33" I do have to lift off the throttle to get the converter to lock up a lot of times.I drive it 80 miles round trip to work everyday.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2009, 07:01 PM   #10
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

im really just looking to boost my low end torque a little to help cruise with the torque converter locked up. thats the biggest concern, slightly faster acceleration would be nice too.
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2009, 07:32 PM   #11
04 EDGE
Floor Shift Maddness!
 
04 EDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-08
Location: Westland Mi
Posts: 1,372
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 04 EDGE
Default

rangerstation lmao!

ask bob ayers about K&N air filters
04 EDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2009, 08:17 PM   #12
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have seen how to set up a K&N on the 2.9 manifold but i am afraid of it getting water and mud in it. is that a real concern or not really? or were you about a factory sized KN?

Last edited by Jt91bronco; April 20th, 2009 at 11:11 PM.
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2009, 05:30 PM   #13
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

does is a cold air a bad idea for Michigan offroad (sand, Mud)?
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2009, 11:41 PM   #14
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i was really wondering about the KN in the mud?
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2009, 11:21 AM   #15
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

A K&N is better than a paper filter for sure. I use one in the stock air box with no problems.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2009, 04:05 PM   #16
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have seen where you can mount a can style KN on the 2.9 throttle body but i was wondering if that would be a problem when going through mud
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2009, 08:45 PM   #17
04 EDGE
Floor Shift Maddness!
 
04 EDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-08
Location: Westland Mi
Posts: 1,372
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 04 EDGE
Default

mr ayers needs to chime in on this thread.

brian go to TRS or R-f and get him to come here
04 EDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2009, 11:49 PM   #18
Jt91bronco
Member
 
Jt91bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-09
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

whos that?
Jt91bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2009, 12:04 AM   #19
MikeOjeep
Member
 
MikeOjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-17-08
Location: South Haven, Mi.
Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Hey, I ran a kn fipkit intake on my cherokee with no problems and I took it to the mud run a few times at fowlers in south haven. I just wouldnt run through water that is up to the hood. If you run through the mud a lot just have to clean the filter more and the recharge kits are less than 20 bucks.
MikeOjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2009, 04:22 AM   #20
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 04 EDGE View Post
mr ayers needs to chime in on this thread.

brian go to TRS or R-f and get him to come here
Thats your fan club not mine!!




My truck had a replacement K&N in it when I bought it. I removed the air box and sealed off the bottom inlet that faces the motor. Then I cut two new 2x3 holes,one on the rear and the other on the side facing the fender. I have had this thing thru some seriously deep shit with no problems.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.34359 seconds with 82 queries