94 sonoma. posessed Gauge cluster - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 4th, 2006, 12:25 AM   #1
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,397
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default 94 sonoma. posessed Gauge cluster

Goin down the road.. tach starts "'bouncing" a little bit but the Speedo jumps from 30-45 and i think i was doing ABOUT 35 ? any ideas on what would cause this ?? im wondering if the tail housing could have some grime in it causing that to bind ?? Im not sure..
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 11th, 2006, 09:54 AM   #2
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 628
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Have you checked battery voltage? Clusters are very subspetable to battery voltage, weak cells, dead cells.

AWK
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2006, 10:27 AM   #3
SS
Doing stuff...and things.
 
SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: 48309
Posts: 12,108
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWK
Have you checked battery voltage? Clusters are very subspetable to battery voltage, weak cells, dead cells.

AWK

x1238

People come into Murrays all the time with this problem and it usually ends up being the battery or a charging system problem

Once in a while it turns out to be the ECM though... but that's pretty rare. Run to Murrays and get an on-car test
__________________
-Jer

Fallen GL4x4 Member's Family in Need!!

http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=301273

SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 02:32 AM   #4
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,397
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Stocker
x1238

People come into Murrays all the time with this problem and it usually ends up being the battery or a charging system problem

Once in a while it turns out to be the ECM though... but that's pretty rare. Run to Murrays and get an on-car test
She had the guys at Auto Zone test the battery and alternator. they said it was fine. but then again that is auto zone.. Maybe ill be taking it up there this week and having them check it again. unless they rent that equiptment out in their tool rental.
ANyone on here got a VAT-40 laying around ?
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 02:38 AM   #5
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,397
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

Oh and it's latest trick is randomly stalling. not sputtering out. no it just DIES !1
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 08:33 AM   #6
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 628
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does it do this on a decel? I would check and clean the IAC port. Usally when a IAC motor goes bad you get random stalling and high rpms. Just a random stall can be that the passage is plugging up restricting the idle air.

AWK
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 11:15 PM   #7
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,397
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWK
Does it do this on a decel? I would check and clean the IAC port. Usally when a IAC motor goes bad you get random stalling and high rpms. Just a random stall can be that the passage is plugging up restricting the idle air.

AWK
No u can be cruising down the Highway and itll do it or u can be sitting at Taco bell ordering a #4 and itll die. i have a feeling it is related to the electrical problem. Im gona check the battery and alternator myself then pull the lower dash and start poking around for a short.
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2006, 12:20 PM   #8
carguy64744
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-08-06
Location: el dorado springs mo
Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

check your battery cables could be a bad conection there especialy the ground
carguy64744 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13208 seconds with 44 queries