Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 6th, 2009, 08:57 AM   #1
ATOMIC_BADBOY
Shake n Bake
 
ATOMIC_BADBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-08
Location: marne, MI
Posts: 252
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default camshaft for 351w efi

trying to figure out what cam i can run. I have a stock 351w efi, I run the sandunes all summer and it's my daily driver, it is also has a mas air sensor, I heard that make a difference
ATOMIC_BADBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2009, 11:39 AM   #2
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,508
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Do you know is it a roller cam or not?

Is the motor all stock?
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2009, 11:59 AM   #3
fordlovinfarmer
CHEAP
 
fordlovinfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-07
Location: Leslie, MI
Posts: 315
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If it has mass air it should be a roller motor.
fordlovinfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2009, 12:21 PM   #4
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,508
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

It should be but I have seen a few that were not.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2009, 06:47 PM   #5
04 EDGE
Floor Shift Maddness!
 
04 EDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-08
Location: Westland Mi
Posts: 1,372
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 04 EDGE
Default

year?

pre 96 you may be able to run the E303 cam, i may be wrong on the part number, its been a long time.

wait, its got a MAF, you will need some sort of chip or programmer.
04 EDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 04:42 AM   #6
ATOMIC_BADBOY
Shake n Bake
 
ATOMIC_BADBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-08
Location: marne, MI
Posts: 252
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i'm not sure if it is a roller cam or not how would i figure it out? i do have a jet perfomance chip in it
ATOMIC_BADBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2009, 01:39 AM   #7
Jrod-13
poser wheeler
 
Join Date: 08-31-06
Location: Tower, MN
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The E303 will work fine, especially being a MAF motor, it can adapt to some pretty serious internal changes..
Jrod-13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 05:58 PM   #8
ATOMIC_BADBOY
Shake n Bake
 
ATOMIC_BADBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-08
Location: marne, MI
Posts: 252
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

don't you have to run a stahl converter
ATOMIC_BADBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2009, 04:14 PM   #9
sandguy356
bronco built for fun
 
sandguy356's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-01-07
Location: Hamilton, MI
Posts: 542
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You don't HAVE to run a stall, but to get full use of the cam, then you should have one.
sandguy356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2009, 04:57 PM   #10
TurdBronco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Center Line
Posts: 988
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TurdBronco
Default

A cam change isnt going to do you much good if thats all you are changing on a stock motor.
TurdBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2009, 11:45 PM   #11
shifty_85
2 low for fat hoes
 
shifty_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-08
Location: Farmington hills/ MI
Posts: 412
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to shifty_85 Send a message via MSN to shifty_85
Default

cam with E-fan intake and exhuast plus your chip on top of all that. do all that and you'll see some good power. just the cam you wont see that much.

what RPM do you normal use for the sand that will tell what cam you need. when your looking to buy a cam it will say power range 3,000-6,000RPM or 500-4,000rpm etc. and depending on what your looking for power now would be 500-4,000rpm or if you have a stall converter you can run the high rpm one 2,000 or 3,000 and up.

hope i helped ya out some.
shifty_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2009, 09:46 AM   #12
Broncoholic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Default

Go with an E & a light stall 1800 rpm or shorter tires 31 max.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2009, 05:30 PM   #13
TurdBronco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Center Line
Posts: 988
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TurdBronco
Default

The Powerband on an e303 is 2500-5500. Its a waste on a stock head/intake motor. They don't make power past 5k rpm. The stock cam is good. Spend money or time upgrading other things. Underdrive pulleys or roller rockers for instance.

Check this link out http://www.alternativeauto.com/techt...ips_50.html#q2
TurdBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 05:00 PM   #14
ATOMIC_BADBOY
Shake n Bake
 
ATOMIC_BADBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-08
Location: marne, MI
Posts: 252
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thanks guy's I will deffenitly take all of this into consideration, right now everything on my engine is stock so i will have to do some other upgrades first. My RPM's are mostly between idle and 4,000

Last edited by ATOMIC_BADBOY; April 30th, 2009 at 05:04 PM.
ATOMIC_BADBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 11:36 PM   #15
SammySmalls
Senior Member
 
SammySmalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-09
Location: Farwell, MI
Posts: 437
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Try this:

http://www.compcams.com/CAMQUEST/

I did it for my 401 AMC, and its friggin nuts.
SammySmalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.16813 seconds with 42 queries