anyone use metro PCS? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2009, 12:25 AM   #1
stevelknievel
Fuck Cancer
 
stevelknievel's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-22-07
Location: Taylor
Posts: 1,922
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to stevelknievel
Default anyone use metro PCS?

im considering taking my new sprint phone over to metro PCS. sprint wants me to get the unlimited plan for 100 a month when metro is 50 a month. i know their service isnt the greatest but is it that bad?
stevelknievel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 14th, 2009, 12:35 AM   #2
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,133
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

looks like their coverage sucks if you like to travel.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 12:36 AM   #3
stevelknievel
Fuck Cancer
 
stevelknievel's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-22-07
Location: Taylor
Posts: 1,922
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to stevelknievel
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skife View Post
looks like their coverage sucks if you like to travel.
not a big traveler so im not super worried about that. i just dont want to switch my phone over and not be able to use the damn thing
stevelknievel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 01:56 AM   #4
Fatty Matty
Senior Member
 
Fatty Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: Tecumseh
Posts: 5,377
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i don't use them, but the people i know that did use them didn't stay for long.
__________________
'12 JKU
'14 1500
www.midwest-abs.com
Fatty Matty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 02:07 AM   #5
Chevy3829
Dirtayyy
 
Chevy3829's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-12-08
Location: Oakland County
Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have had Metro for the last year and have never had a problem, unlimited everything for $57.00 a month. The only down fall is if you travel. Especially north bound. You loose service just north of Saginaw. Unless you get the extended coverage for like 50 cents per minute...
Chevy3829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 07:28 AM   #6
ChevyRacer1981
Throw'in turtles........
 
ChevyRacer1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-08
Location: Sagnasty / MI
Posts: 2,361
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My buddy had Metro and you could get in his blazer and loose service get back out without going anywhere and have full service. It was funny but if he was in his blazer it was over for service.
ChevyRacer1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 07:35 AM   #7
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,456
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

These guys seemed to come from nowhere then all of the sudden they put up dozens of stores overnight. I would question that.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 07:40 AM   #8
Tool Man
Senior Member
 
Tool Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Livonia
Posts: 201
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My buddy uses one for a local work phone. Service has been actually very good. If you dont travel, its a great phone.
Tool Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 10:11 AM   #9
revho
$9.00 vanilla malt
 
revho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: beaverdam, mi
Posts: 2,488
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The family in-law that live in the Tampa/Lakeland FL area have had Metro PCS for a few years already and they all seem to like them alot. None of them travel though. They have like 5 or 6 phones on a family plan. The more phones on a plan the cheaper the rates. I think they were down to $32.00 a phone per month for unlimited.
revho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 10:18 AM   #10
Broncoholic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Default ``

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelknievel View Post
im considering taking my new sprint phone over to metro PCS. sprint wants me to get the unlimited plan for 100 a month when metro is 50 a month. i know their service isnt the greatest but is it that bad?
They do not call it Metro Piece Of Shit for nothing stay with Sprint & pay the money it is worth it in the long run.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 10:20 AM   #11
awkrueger
Member
 
awkrueger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-14-09
Location: Eastpointe, MI
Posts: 56
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

They definetly won't let you take you sprint phone over to their service.
awkrueger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 11:59 AM   #12
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 26,501
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awkrueger View Post
They definetly won't let you take you sprint phone over to their service.
If his contract is up, yes he can. Any CDMA phone can be flashed to Metro. ATT and T-Mobile use GMRS, (sim cards) so those won't work. Sprint and Verizon will.

My wife has Metro PCS, and I went ATT pay as you go. Metro drops calls much more often.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 12:40 PM   #13
stevelknievel
Fuck Cancer
 
stevelknievel's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-22-07
Location: Taylor
Posts: 1,922
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to stevelknievel
Default

i went up there and asked them and they said for reflashed phones theres no internet which is huge for me so its a no go. thanks for all the opinions guys
stevelknievel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 12:46 PM   #14
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,810
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Nextel just came out with a new pan for there prepaid service boost. I was going to go that route for the wife but she liked the metro phones better(more selection). I have verizon so we had no worries about traveling. With boost it uses the nextel network and 50 bucks a month unlimited everything is a good deal. They have a flip style camera phone for 100.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18134 seconds with 62 queries