fuel gauage on 2001 PU - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2005, 10:31 PM   #1
GerkTJ
Senior Member
 
GerkTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: ida, mi
Posts: 1,044
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default fuel gauage on 2001 PU

anybody got any idea why my fuel gauge goes to empty and back to full when the truck is sitting still. happens most of the time after a fill up. 2001 Chevy 1500HD.
GerkTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 5th, 2005, 10:45 PM   #2
Chop
Mischievous Badger
 
Chop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Fenton Mi
Posts: 5,834
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Chop
Default

bad ground maybe
Chop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 08:02 PM   #3
GerkTJ
Senior Member
 
GerkTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: ida, mi
Posts: 1,044
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

don't know why it would only do it after filling up if it was the ground?
GerkTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 08:15 PM   #4
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,566
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Ok, now it works fine?

If you are driving down the street, does it go to E until you come to a stop? And then it goes back up to the correct level?
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 09:35 PM   #5
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
Default

Is this a new problem or has it always happened? its kinda odd, makes me wonder if it is some sort of gauge sweep.
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 07:26 AM   #6
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

It is a factory defect, I believe it was on silent recall. You may check with the dealer. I have a couple buddies that have the same issuse with their 2000 and newer. They deal with it because you have to replace the pump with the sending unit to fix. It is $$$ even doing it yourself.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 08:10 AM   #7
Hodur308
Senior Member
 
Hodur308's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Hodur308
Default Same issue

This happened on my 2001 Sierra at about 60,000. I've just learned to live with it and I gauge my fuel load by the miles I drive. I guess I'll just wait until it stops working altogether before I fix it :)
Hodur308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 01:53 PM   #8
Da' Blaze
El Presedente HPMSO
 
Da' Blaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ferris State
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Da' Blaze Send a message via Yahoo to Da' Blaze
Default Fuel Gauge

Very common,Just like the fuel pumps going bad, the gause does also, usually one before the other of course. A new fuel pump comes with a new gauge rehostat, which also can be bought seperately, but you still have to drop the tank and put it in (whatabitch). To permanently fix this problem, change the stat on the pump, not difficult after you drop the tank, then grab a
Da' Blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 02:21 PM   #9
GerkTJ
Senior Member
 
GerkTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: ida, mi
Posts: 1,044
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thanks, I'll check at the dealership and see what they say!
GerkTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 08:32 PM   #10
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sweet home Georgia on my mind
Posts: 8,490
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
Default

Drop the tank, I think the prefered Method on S trucks is to remove the bed, I am sure i will find out soon,
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 10:28 PM   #11
Da' Blaze
El Presedente HPMSO
 
Da' Blaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ferris State
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Da' Blaze Send a message via Yahoo to Da' Blaze
Default

you can definately take the bed off, easier if you have a lift though and air power. Aligning the bed with no lift is a biatch. Actually, doing any kind of repair without a lift is a biatch. If you do have a lift, take the bed off definately :D
Da' Blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2005, 12:46 AM   #12
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
Default

pfff lift? just need 4 of your friends and some to keep them happy, then all your problems will go away
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 02:04 AM   #13
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,393
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMCsonoma94
pfff lift? just need 4 of your friends and some to keep them happy, then all your problems will go away
if its a short bed you really only need like 2 maybe 3 to keep it steady..
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2005, 02:34 PM   #14
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 628
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'll look into this for you on Monday. The one post about the pump is valid, but it's the card that is the concern, not the pump. The card has been released as a separate part and is now made of a precious metal to reduce corrosion caused by the sulfur in the fuel.

AWK
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20553 seconds with 64 queries