What's this thing in front of the link I just posted? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Site comments, issues, or suggestions and announcements
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2009, 08:52 AM   #1
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Question What's this thing in front of the link I just posted?

I copied the URL off MM exactly as I saw it, but there's something showing up in front of the URL here that did not show up on MM. I can't see what it is due to the ad-zapping shit they use here at work. I can see the address of it as being something from ebay, but I didn't post it or even copy it. What is it?

http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showpos...5&postcount=10
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Link.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	22.0 KB
ID:	38439  

Last edited by PävementPounder; February 20th, 2009 at 10:28 AM.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:13 AM   #2
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,503
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

I don't see anything in front of the link

are you asking what the ebay ad is for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	spro.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	38438  
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:17 AM   #3
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bones View Post
I don't see anything in front of the link

are you asking what the ebay ad is for?
x2
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:20 AM   #4
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

When you post a link for ebay, there is the little red X in front of the link. Like when pictures don't appear. Happens for me too.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:29 AM   #5
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bones View Post
I don't see anything in front of the link

are you asking what the ebay ad is for?
No. I'm asking exactly what I asked. See picture attached to the 1st post. Sounds like what Flexin' XJ sees, yet it was not there where I got the link from.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:32 AM   #6
Sol Goode
Obama Nation!
 
Sol Goode's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Curt1656 & Scooters love castle
Posts: 14,430
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Nothing shows up for me
__________________
#YOLO
#meballsohard
Sol Goode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:51 AM   #7
MotoX5874
unbound
 
MotoX5874's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-27-07
Location: `
Posts: 787
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah, i'm not seeing anything, in firefox.
MotoX5874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:52 AM   #8
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

at least your browser works for gl4x4, mine is still fucked up in firefox.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 11:20 AM   #9
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sol Goode View Post
Nothing shows up for me
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoX5874 View Post
yeah, i'm not seeing anything, in firefox.
So basically, these are 2 useless posts?

If you can't see it, but I can, that doesn't mean its not there. That means its there and you can't see it.


Using the same PC and broswer, it shows up on GL and not on MM.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 11:33 AM   #10
Sol Goode
Obama Nation!
 
Sol Goode's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Curt1656 & Scooters love castle
Posts: 14,430
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

+1 more useless post
__________________
#YOLO
#meballsohard
Sol Goode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:03 PM   #11
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,503
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
No. I'm asking exactly what I asked. See picture attached to the 1st post. Sounds like what Flexin' XJ sees, yet it was not there where I got the link from.
ahhh, you're right, I should have been able to know what I couldn't see. Makes perfect sense
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:03 PM   #12
MotoX5874
unbound
 
MotoX5874's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-27-07
Location: `
Posts: 787
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
I copied the URL off MM exactly as I saw it
Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
I can see the address of it as being something from ebay, but I didn't post it or even copy it.
err..?

only thing i can think of is a vb mod that kelly installed for ebay links
MotoX5874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:18 PM   #13
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bones View Post
ahhh, you're right, I should have been able to know what I couldn't see. Makes perfect sense
Oh, you must be one of "them".

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoX5874 View Post
err..?

only thing i can think of is a vb mod that kelly installed for ebay links
Since I can see it in the screen shot I took. I can right-click/Properties directly on it (even though the system at work blocks it from being displayed to me) and it gives me:

h ttp://rover.ebay.com/ar/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?mpt= [CacheBuster]&adtype=1&size=1x1&type=4&campid=5335832153&toolid =10001&mpre=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Febaymotors %2Fws%2FeBayISAPI.dll%3FViewItem%26_trksid%3Dp3907 .m32%26_trkparms%3Dtab%253DWatching%26item%3D16031 6890431%26viewitem


What does it do?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:43 PM   #14
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It does it on my computer at home as well as work. I don't have any "zapper" that I know of.

EDIT:

Ah, I see now why you mention zapper. I copy pasted the location of the icon into my address bar and it comes up "access blocked" here at work. That is why I get the "X". I will have to check again at home.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:45 PM   #15
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

h ttp://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=3&campid=5335832153&toolid=10001&mpre=http% 3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Febaymotors%2Fws%2FeBayISAPI .dll%3FViewItem%26_trksid%3Dp3907.m32%26_trkparms% 3Dtab%253DWatching%26item%3D160316890431%26viewite m

Comparing the two I would say that you have a browser hyjacker. Your link to me appears fine posted. This is what is getting blocked by your work I would assume "mpt= [CacheBuster]&adtype=1&size=1x1&"

What are the properties of the link before navigating there?

Last edited by deuce228; February 20th, 2009 at 12:50 PM.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #16
MotoX5874
unbound
 
MotoX5874's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-27-07
Location: `
Posts: 787
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

h ttp://rover.ebay.com/ar/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?mpt= [CacheBuster]&adtype=1&size=1x1&type=4&campid=5335832153&too lid =10001&mpre=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Febaymotors %2Fws%2FeBayISAPI.dll%3FViewItem%26_trksid%3Dp3907 .m32%26_trkparms%3Dtab%253DWatching%26item%3D16031 6890431%26viewitem

is just a fucked up version of

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...90431&viewitem

where the colons and backslashes are in their other? form (ie; %3A = : and %2F = /, as well as any ampersand's or other accents in the url) in the second part of the link

but yeah i'd say scan for spyware
MotoX5874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:57 PM   #17
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoX5874 View Post
h ttp://rover.ebay.com/ar/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?mpt= [CacheBuster]&adtype=1&size=1x1&type=4&campid=5335832153&too lid =10001&mpre=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Febaymotors %2Fws%2FeBayISAPI.dll%3FViewItem%26_trksid%3Dp3907 .m32%26_trkparms%3Dtab%253DWatching%26item%3D16031 6890431%26viewitem

is just a fucked up version of

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...90431&viewitem

where the colons and backslashes are in their other? form (ie; %3A = : and %2F = /, as well as any ampersand's or other accents in the url) in the second part of the link
No, Look at the link when its broken. Cachebuster is what is suspicious. Perhaps not that directly but what is present before getting blocked by the server or browser.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 02:44 PM   #18
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Look at the one that Doubleclick shoved into Ryebread's post. Its blocked here at work, but you can see that one if you quote his post. What's that one look like to you guys?

http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showpos...81&postcount=1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Doubleclick link.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	38467  
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 02:57 PM   #19
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The news link h ttp://www.newsday.com/news/nationworld/wire/sns-ap-lahood-vehicle-mileage-tax,0,6754105,print.story

The double click link
h ttp://ad.doubleclick.net/ad/trb.newsday/news/natworld/wire;ptype=ps;slug=sns-ap-lahood-vehicle-mileage-tax;rg=ur;ref=drudgereportcom;pos=1;dcopt=ist;sz=3 00x250;tile=1;at=Republican%20Party;at=Transportat ion;at=Vehicles;at=North%20Carolina;at=Illinois;at =Massachusetts;at=Heavy%20Engineering;at=Stock%20O ptions;at=National%20Government;at=Hybrid%20Vehicl es;at=Idaho;at=Rhode%20Island;at=Road%20Transporta tion;at=Politics;at=Government;at=Barack%20Obama;a t=Fuel-efficient%20Vehicles;at=State%20Budgets;at=Travel; at=Services%20and%20Shopping;at=Satellite%20Techno logy;at=Heartburn;at=Heads%20of%20State;u=http://www.newsday.com/news/nationworld/wire/sns-ap-lahood-vehicle-mileage-tax,0,6754105,print.story;ord=43568525?
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 03:12 PM   #20
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I'm not asking you what the links are. I already said you can see them if you quote the post.

I'm asking what the object looks like in the post. I showed you what they look like to me since our systems are picking them up. Are they invisible to you?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > Site comments, issues, or suggestions and announcements

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.31990 seconds with 81 queries