Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 22nd, 2006, 01:43 PM   #1
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default engine codes 42 and 44

89 TBI motor, painless wiring...

CODE 42 - Elect Spark Timing Circuit

CODE 44- o2 senser (lean)

Replace o2, coolant and MAP sensors....

It cycles at idle, from almost stalling up to about 2500 rpm then back down, for about 1 minute. Then if I give it gas and let off, the idle will level out like normal. After that, if I give it throttle, it just kind of chokes itself out.... I can rev the engine fine, all the way to WOT, but if I leave it at 1/2 throttle for more than 1/2 sec, it chokes itself out....

guesses? Suggestions?

Would a bad IAC do this??
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 07:29 PM   #2
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

updates, replace the whole TBI with a spare (that includes TPS, IAC, injectors), also replaced the EGR (had a spare).

I now get code 22 and 42

22-TPS voltage was under 0.2 volts for 2 seconds when the engine was running.

42-The EST signal did not change when the ECM applied bypass voltage to the ignition module.

what the f fixes code 42
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 07:34 PM   #3
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,947
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Check you wiring, connections and grounds. I'm assuming the codes in your first post went away?

Both codes sound like wiring problems. I've never seen a TPS go bad for 2 seconds then be fine from there on out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 08:21 PM   #4
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

ok, I went back to the original TPS and that code went away.

I started it, it would hardly idle and now has codes 33 and 42

33-MAP sensor signal voltage was too high (low vacuum) for 5 seconds when throttle opening was under 4%.

and still code 42
42-The EST signal did not change when the ECM applied bypass voltage to the ignition module.

The wiring is a painless kit so it is really really simple.

I have a feeling it is a vacuum leak, but I can't find one....
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 11:54 PM   #5
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,947
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I know it's 1 am now, and I'm operating at 50%, but what's an EST again?

As far as the vacuum leak, start disconnecting all vacuum hoses, and they should effect idle. If you pull one off and it doesn't, that's probably the source of your vacuum leak.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 08:51 AM   #6
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

it hardly idles right now, so it is hard to check that way....
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 06:19 PM   #7
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,947
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yea, that's gonna be a PITA.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 06:54 PM   #8
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,700
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

EST = Electronic Spark Timing
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 07:03 PM   #9
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,700
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

When system is running on ignition module (no voltage on by-pass line), the ignition module grounds the EST signal line. The ECM expects to see no voltage on the EST signal line during this condition. If the ECM sees voltage on this line, Code 42 will be set and the system will not go into "EST" mode.

When engine RPM for EST is reached (about 400 RPM), and by-pass voltage is applied, EST should no longer be grounded in ignition module, so EST voltage should be varying.

If the by-pass line is open or grounded, the ignition module will not switch to "EST" mode. EST voltage will be low and Code 42 will be set.

If the EST line is grounded, the ignition module will switch to EST, but because the line is grounded, no EST signal will be present. Code 42 will be set.

Code 42 sets if there is an open, or a short to ground, in the EST or by-pass circuit.

Test It

1. Code 42 means the ECM has seen an open, or short to ground, in EST or by-pass circuit. This confirms Code 42, and confirms that fault causing the code is also present.

2. Checks for normal EST ground path through ignition module. An EST circuit No. 423 shorted to ground will also read less than 500 ohms (will be checked later).

3. As test light voltage touches circuit No. 424, module should switch, causing ohmmeter to "overrange" if meter is in the 100-200 ohms position. Selecting 10-20,000 ohms position will indicate above 5000 ohms. The important thing is that the module "switched".

4. The module did not switch and this step checks for:
a) EST circuit No. 423 shorted to ground.
b) By-pass circuit No. 424 open.
c) Faulty ignition module connection or module.

5. Confirms that Code 42 is a faulty ECM and not an intermittent in circuit No. 423 or circuit No.
424.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 07:07 PM   #10
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,700
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Usually it's the ignition module under the cap. But you coulda pinched the wire...prolly not though.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2006, 12:48 PM   #11
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

well after help from Shawn and a tech from Painless it runs pretty good, but still throws code 42....
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2006, 03:30 PM   #12
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,700
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Swap module...
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2006, 08:17 PM   #13
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws
Usually it's the ignition module under the cap. But you coulda pinched the wire...prolly not though.

is that this thing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1558.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	177.7 KB
ID:	1094  
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2006, 11:56 PM   #14
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,700
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Yea, it's that thing...
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2006, 08:30 AM   #15
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

I'll try it tonight.

If that isn't it, which wires should I trace for pinching?
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2006, 05:34 PM   #16
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

replaced the ign module, not it

replaced the ESC, not it....
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2006, 06:17 PM   #17
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,700
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Sorry about the big pic...makes it easier to read though.

Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2006, 07:36 PM   #18
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

cool, which pins are ckt 423 and 424?

I talked to Painless again, it really just doesn't make sense...
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2006, 08:31 PM   #19
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,700
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Umm...is your "set timing" connector plugged in?

Yellow = 423
Pink = 424

Again, large pic...might need to zoom if you have "resize images" enabled on your computer.

Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2006, 02:14 PM   #20
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws
Umm...is your "set timing" connector plugged in?

Yellow = 423
Pink = 424

Again, large pic...might need to zoom if you have "resize images" enabled on your computer.
WOW! I owe you a beer, or maybe 6.

I went out and traced wire 423. It aparently had been rubbing on the sheetmetal on the firewall and must have been shorting itself out, or atleast loosing some signal (my own fault for not using a grommet on the firewall). Wrapped some elect tape around it, fired it up and holy crap, its back to perfect. No code, high rvving, etc....

Thanks, I owe you.... I had about 10-12 hours in troubleshooting different sensors, etc, going to junkyards, etc and it turns out it was just shorting out on the tub.
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.17053 seconds with 51 queries