Uverse question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2009, 12:23 PM   #1
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 9,985
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default Uverse question

They are saying 4-6 hours for install, just wondering if any one know wtf would take 4-6 hours fro installation?
__________________
-2001 Tahoe original 5.3 4x4 only 435k
-Down to 2 three wheelers
-1985 V65 Magna
-1978 F100
-1973 CT70 with 125cc motor
booblinker is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 13th, 2009, 12:25 PM   #2
jeeperbrian
GLFWDA member
 
Join Date: 11-20-06
Location: oakland county, mi
Posts: 2,675
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i just had mine done acouple months ago, didnt take that long. did they give you a 4-6 hour window or did they tell you it would take 4-6 hours?
jeeperbrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 12:26 PM   #3
Bronco351
Powered by Ford
 
Bronco351's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-07
Location: Garden City, MI; Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,014
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bronco351
Default

My grandma had it done just a few weeks ago, took almost 3 hours but they ran all new lines for the cable/internet and the phone. They spend 30-45 minutes when they first get there just looking at things and where they can run lines etc...
Bronco351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 12:26 PM   #4
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 9,985
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default

No they said they will get here between 12-2, and said 4-6 hours for install.
__________________
-2001 Tahoe original 5.3 4x4 only 435k
-Down to 2 three wheelers
-1985 V65 Magna
-1978 F100
-1973 CT70 with 125cc motor
booblinker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 12:29 PM   #5
jeeperbrian
GLFWDA member
 
Join Date: 11-20-06
Location: oakland county, mi
Posts: 2,675
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booblinker View Post
No they said they will get here between 12-2, and said 4-6 hours for install.
holy crap gayt&t gave you a 2 hours window?!? assuming they make it, thats amazing!

they will probably sit in their truck and walk around for at least 2 of those hours, then sit on the phone for another hour.
jeeperbrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 12:58 PM   #6
RockyMTN05
Cadillac pimpin
 
RockyMTN05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-02-07
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 3,632
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to RockyMTN05
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco351 View Post
My grandma had it done just a few weeks ago, took almost 3 hours but they ran all new lines for the cable/internet and the phone. They spend 30-45 minutes when they first get there just looking at things and where they can run lines etc...
x2
RockyMTN05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 03:01 PM   #7
Blue XJ
The Green Machine
 
Blue XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sterling Heights
Posts: 3,631
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Blue XJ
Default

Took over 9 hours to install it in my house. I think it was the persons first install. She wanted to use the cables that were already there. The box outside wasn't setup right, so the service guy came out, unhooked my neighbor from the pole, and hooked mine up then left. Mine still didn't work and neither did the neighbors. Guy came back, reconnected the neighbors, and put mine in a new connector, then left. Mine still wouldn't work, so he came back to test the line, found the connection was loose, fixed that and then left, still wouldn't work. They tried hooking up different hardware in the house but had to activate it first, still didn't work. Turned out the issue was I had a bad cable inside the house that wasn't compatible with u-verse, so the tech ran all new wires and it finally worked. Then had to go give my neighbor all new hardware cause they guy fried everything when he was outside changing wires.

They showed up at 8am on the dot, and left my house at 5:45.
Blue XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 04:40 PM   #8
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,837
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

a 4 room install of any "new" cable or sat system should be on average 2 to 3 hrs If done the right way
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 05:14 PM   #9
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,385
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

running new wires took 1.5 hours

the completely dumbass installer who i eventually kicked out of the house and had his supervisor come fix it 7 hours.

basically the guy installing was a FNG and hooked up to he wrong thing in the box on the house, and connected to the incorrect port in the big fiber to copper junction box 2 houses down and couldn't troubleshoot it
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 05:32 PM   #10
5.9zj
Senior Member
 
5.9zj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hartland
Posts: 285
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

for those with uverse....how is uverse service? I have been debating trying it but have not heard enough satisfied customers to make the switch. Our neighbors got it installed last month and the tech was there all day long. There was also another van in front of their house the next day.
5.9zj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 05:34 PM   #11
jt269
GIRLPOWER
 
jt269's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-22-08
Location: kalamazoo mi
Posts: 24
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

mine took 8 hours had it done mon.
jt269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 05:41 PM   #12
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,385
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.9zj View Post
for those with uverse....how is uverse service? I have been debating trying it but have not heard enough satisfied customers to make the switch. Our neighbors got it installed last month and the tech was there all day long. There was also another van in front of their house the next day.

No issues with mine. was installed end of september.

Only 3 complaints are
1) wish the guide was more like dish networks where you can set timers to automatically change the channel
2) Can only schedule and erase DVR'd shows at the main receiver, not the others in the house
3) only being able to watch/record 2 HD programs at once sucks, 3 would make me happy


Phone service has been solid, internet has been solid and faster than my previous ATT DSL
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 06:21 PM   #13
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Is the coax being installed just RG6, or some other type?
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 06:26 PM   #14
capone
Senior Member
 
capone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,210
iTrader: (51)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals View Post
No issues with mine. was installed end of september.

Only 3 complaints are
1) wish the guide was more like dish networks where you can set timers to automatically change the channel
2) Can only schedule and erase DVR'd shows at the main receiver, not the others in the house
3) only being able to watch/record 2 HD programs at once sucks, 3 would make me happy


Phone service has been solid, internet has been solid and faster than my previous ATT DSL
I'm thinking about signing up for AT&T but i don't know which Internet speed I should get. Sandals which Internet speed do you have?

Last edited by capone; January 13th, 2009 at 07:51 PM.
capone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 08:36 PM   #15
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 9,985
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default

does the cable go through like normal cable, or is it through the phone line too.
booblinker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 08:40 PM   #16
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,837
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
Is the coax being installed just RG6, or some other type?
its fiber optic to the outside box/pole and then rg-6 to the house and inside the house
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 09:16 PM   #17
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,385
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capone View Post
I'm thinking about signing up for AT&T but i don't know which Internet speed I should get. Sandals which Internet speed do you have?
I have the "elite" speed (6.0 mbps), was thinking about moving up to the 18 (just because i can) but i dont think i would gain a ton, because usually i'm waiting on the server on the other end.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 09:49 PM   #18
JeepRat
Infidel
 
JeepRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clarkston
Posts: 492
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Had it 2 months now. Install took 4 hours. Have had lots of "pixelation" problems and image lockup with the TVs and after 5 "tech" visits still having the same problems. Now all 3 services randomly lock up and we lose TV phone and internet all at the same time. 3 of the 5 techs say its a problem with the copper lines from the house out to the main junction. 1 tech said we are too far away from the main junction. And 1 tech was/is totally clueless.
JeepRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 10:01 PM   #19
JeepRat
Infidel
 
JeepRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clarkston
Posts: 492
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booblinker View Post
does the cable go through like normal cable, or is it through the phone line too.
they run a new 2 or 3 pair copper line from your phone network box on your house into a "residential gateway" which gives you the video/internet/voip signals all from the same box. There is no fiber optic run to the house, only the existing copper phone line(at least in Clarkston)
JeepRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 12:15 AM   #20
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-15-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

When we got it installed at my parents house, they started at 9 or 10am and were there til almost 5pm. When they started there were only 2 guys, and towards the end of the day there were 5. Had to run 4 uverse boxes and hardwire them all in and had trouble running some of the wiring through the ceiling. Coolest part was it was a free installation.

Comcrap was there earlier in the week and some idiot that knew less about installations was there and had no idea what the hell he was doing and said our signal quality would suck because he had to run so much cable and it would cost us. We pretty much told them to GTFO and then ATT came. I'll never deal with Comcrap again.

Uverse is awesome, couldn't be better.
Check out this site if you have more questions about anything regarding uverse.
http://www.uverseusers.com/
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.34025 seconds with 80 queries