Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 7th, 2009, 07:57 PM   #1
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Exclamation laptop help

Dell XPS M140:
It all started with this, http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=116755 I installed this program and started the scan.
about 2 mins in i get the blue screen of death, i restart it and it doesn't start back up. it will be on the boot screen for a couple mins then i get the blue screen again.
If i repeat this like 5 times it will boot up, i have tried safe mode and it wont boot safe mode.

One of the times i was able to get it started i uninstalled the program but it did not change a thing.
If i was able to get it going for any length of time i could look at it but it wont even start.

Prior to this i had no known issues. and was not doing anything i don't usually do while installing the program.

any advice?
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:04 PM   #2
Bronco351
Powered by Ford
 
Bronco351's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-07
Location: Garden City, MI; Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,014
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bronco351
Default

if you can get windows to boot try a system restore. If that doesn't work, not sure. You could take it back to factory settings but you would lose all your files, etc...
Bronco351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:06 PM   #3
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco351 View Post
if you can get windows to boot try a system restore. If that doesn't work, not sure. You could take it back to factory settings but you would lose all your files, etc...
i did a system restore when i could get it started... it did nothing
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:07 PM   #4
mpwal099
Stick it up your ass
 
mpwal099's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-06
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,070
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

When you power it up, from the moment you hit the power button hold the control key and keep hitting f11. That should put you into the system restore screen on a dell.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan View Post
I feel, for the most part, we have a whole generation of worthless, lazy, pieces of shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Matty View Post
A good chunk of the younger generation is really fucked up. Not all of them, but a good amount.
mpwal099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:07 PM   #5
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

i have all my important stuff on a external HD i would just say fukc it and reinstall windows but i don't have the disk and would like to fix it if possible
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:08 PM   #6
mpwal099
Stick it up your ass
 
mpwal099's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-06
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,070
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrifrocks2005 View Post
i have all my important stuff on a external HD i would just say fukc it and reinstall windows but i don't have the disk and would like to fix it if possible
windows should be ghosted on the puter for you.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan View Post
I feel, for the most part, we have a whole generation of worthless, lazy, pieces of shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Matty View Post
A good chunk of the younger generation is really fucked up. Not all of them, but a good amount.
mpwal099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:09 PM   #7
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpwal099 View Post
windows should be ghosted on the puter for you.
WAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpwal099 View Post
When you power it up, from the moment you hit the power button hold the control key and keep hitting f11. That should put you into the system restore screen on a dell.
i will try it
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:10 PM   #8
mpwal099
Stick it up your ass
 
mpwal099's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-06
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,070
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrifrocks2005 View Post
WAT?
A hidden, back up copy of windows for problems such as this.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan View Post
I feel, for the most part, we have a whole generation of worthless, lazy, pieces of shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Matty View Post
A good chunk of the younger generation is really fucked up. Not all of them, but a good amount.
mpwal099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:11 PM   #9
Bronco351
Powered by Ford
 
Bronco351's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-07
Location: Garden City, MI; Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,014
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bronco351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpwal099 View Post
windows should be ghosted on the puter for you.
x2, on my dell i can restore everything to the way it was from the factory w/out any software. There should be something in the top right corner on the dell screen w/ the progress bar when you first turn it on, i think its F4, but it gives you the option of restoring factory settings. If you have everything you need on an external i'd say go for it.
Bronco351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:13 PM   #10
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpwal099 View Post
When you power it up, from the moment you hit the power button hold the control key and keep hitting f11. That should put you into the system restore screen on a dell.
ok i tried that and it did the same thing it always does. immediately go the option of safe mode or start normally.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:21 PM   #11
mpwal099
Stick it up your ass
 
mpwal099's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-06
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,070
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The XPS may not have system restore on it. That sucks.

http://support.dell.com/support/topi...gen&dn=1093713

A little reading on the CTRL f11 feature that may be there.

http://www.goodells.net/dellrestore/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan View Post
I feel, for the most part, we have a whole generation of worthless, lazy, pieces of shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Matty View Post
A good chunk of the younger generation is really fucked up. Not all of them, but a good amount.
mpwal099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:22 PM   #12
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Thank you Sir, i have some reading to do.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 08:31 PM   #13
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

does <Windows root>\\system32\ntoskrnl.exe ring a bell?

it says Please re-install a copy of the above file.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 07:40 AM   #14
Medic8
You call, we haul.
 
Medic8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Southgate, MI
Posts: 1,492
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm wondering if you got yourself a funky trojan horse virus or something. the ntoskrnl.exe file is a Windows Boot Kernel file, so without that, it's no wonder you're not able to boot up in ANY setting. You'll probably end up having to send away for a replacement Restore CD from Dell, so you can run the restore function.

Kelly, was that file that you linked in the main page supposed to be a .php file? When I did a google search for Malwarebytes, I got the creators site along with a link to a regular .exe file. When I clicked on your download link, I got a .php file (didn't download it, looked at the file type and said no way).
Medic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 08:38 AM   #15
SlayerXJ
To Live is To Die
 
SlayerXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-22-06
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 2,823
iTrader: (93)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would format and start fresh. don't have any legit copies of xp tho :)
If there is data you need on the drive, you can yank it and throw it in an enclosure to get what you need off.
SlayerXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 07:37 AM   #16
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastrt6dakota View Post
I'm wondering if you got yourself a funky trojan horse virus or something. the ntoskrnl.exe file is a Windows Boot Kernel file, so without that, it's no wonder you're not able to boot up in ANY setting. You'll probably end up having to send away for a replacement Restore CD from Dell, so you can run the restore function.

Kelly, was that file that you linked in the main page supposed to be a .php file? When I did a google search for Malwarebytes, I got the creators site along with a link to a regular .exe file. When I clicked on your download link, I got a .php file (didn't download it, looked at the file type and said no way).
great, cc broke my shit
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.16373 seconds with 42 queries