XBOX advice? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 28th, 2008, 08:30 PM   #1
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default XBOX advice?

looking to pick one up. the 20 gigs are 199 refurbed. 299 for a new 60 gig. i am willing to drop the 199 but probably not the 299.

is it really gonna make that big of a difference? cant i always just get an external drive later if i REALLY need it?

i was hoping to get one for 149, but tigerdirect ran out fast.

give me your opinions

i am not a serious gamer
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 28th, 2008, 08:34 PM   #2
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,779
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

$199 will get you a spanking new xbox arcade.
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 08:38 PM   #3
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thats no hard drive correct? just the memory card?
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 08:42 PM   #4
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,779
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

i believe so.
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 08:43 PM   #5
adamzr2
numero douce undela
 
adamzr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-12-05
Location: GB/ out of a suitcase
Posts: 2,515
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a 20 gig and can't get the memory to go under 10 gig left so I don't know why ud need 60
adamzr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 08:50 PM   #6
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i just dont see myself doing a ton of online gaming or anything either... get the 20 gig and i can always get another 20 gig drive
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 08:55 PM   #7
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,779
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
i just dont see myself doing a ton of online gaming or anything either... get the 20 gig and i can always get another 20 gig drive
if you get the arcade, you can always get a HDD too.
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 09:01 PM   #8
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlatFender View Post
if you get the arcade, you can always get a HDD too.

but the only advantage to the arcade is the games it comes with... which i dont think are of any interest to me, unless i can trade them in for the hard drive.
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 09:06 PM   #9
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,779
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
but the only advantage to the arcade is the games it comes with... which i dont think are of any interest to me, unless i can trade them in for the hard drive.
the advantage is that it is new, and comes with a warranty... which you will need... eventually.
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 09:09 PM   #10
Lemur
i don't much care for you
 
Lemur's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-21-07
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you have a good point.. the refurb only comes with a 30 day defective
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 09:12 PM   #11
Paul04TJ
Small, but talented
 
Paul04TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Shelby Twp. MI
Posts: 2,610
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My sons Xbox is out of warranty, the video chip started flaking out.
A quick search on google and we tore it apart, cleaned the heat sinks, removed the xclamps and bolted the sinks back in, wrapped up some pennies and stuck them under the board.
Wrapped the whole kit and caboodle put in a couple towels turned it on for about 15 minutes until it over heated, let it cool and sure enough it works just fine again!!!

Xbox rocks!!
Paul04TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 09:41 PM   #12
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,779
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul04TJ View Post
My sons Xbox is out of warranty, the video chip started flaking out.
A quick search on google and we tore it apart, cleaned the heat sinks, removed the xclamps and bolted the sinks back in, wrapped up some pennies and stuck them under the board.
Wrapped the whole kit and caboodle put in a couple towels turned it on for about 15 minutes until it over heated, let it cool and sure enough it works just fine again!!!

Xbox rocks!!
We attempted the towel trick on my boss's xbox last week... sure as shit it worked!
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 09:54 PM   #13
schweeb
spelling nazi
 
schweeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-02-07
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 2,563
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The hard drive is way more expensive when you don't get it with a unit. I would highly recommend having a hard drive, it's pretty much essential with the NXE (new XBOX experience), and always has been pretty essential.
__________________
[FlatFender]: ill put it like this, if she wasnt MY aunt, id hit on her
schweeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 10:17 PM   #14
zjkid
Senior Member
 
zjkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: EL
Posts: 3,929
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlatFender View Post
We attempted the towel trick on my boss's xbox last week... sure as shit it worked!
Towel trick only works for so long, then you have to do it again.
zjkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 10:44 PM   #15
Fatty Matty
Senior Member
 
Fatty Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: Tecumseh
Posts: 5,357
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm not so sure I'd buy something that is known to quit working.

I'm very sure I wouldn't buy something where the best fix is using pennies and towels to fix it. That just sounds fucked up
__________________
'12 JKU
'14 1500
www.midwest-abs.com
Fatty Matty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 04:01 AM   #16
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,113
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

the RROD(Red ring of death) issue has been fixed for a long long time.

I belive there is a 3 year warrenty on all all new xbox 360's

thats why paul04tj's son's xbox quit working, its an old design and has flaws.

I've had my 360 for just about a year, played for hours upon hours with no issues what so ever.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 07:36 AM   #17
Paul04TJ
Small, but talented
 
Paul04TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Shelby Twp. MI
Posts: 2,610
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yeah we got ours about a week before the latest ones came out.
I've read about the towel being a temp fix, which is why we went in and did all the suggested fixes at once.
Paul04TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 07:44 AM   #18
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,649
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have had my arcade for a couple years now and no RROD. I had it shut down because of an overheat for the first time a couple weeks ago but that was my bad because I forgot to open the cabinet I have it in (I usually do) open it!).

I have the 20 gig HD and it works just fine for me. I don't have a ton of stuff on it though either. I only have a few demos and videos.
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 11:04 AM   #19
pyrowaves
The Boss
 
pyrowaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-06
Location: Dearborn/Ortonville
Posts: 2,822
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to pyrowaves
Default

get an elite!


I like mine.
pyrowaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 11:56 AM   #20
Weasal
Better than Newbie
 
Weasal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: Mt Pleasant, MI
Posts: 2,826
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

depends on your use.. i got the 20Gb and still have plenty of room after 2 years. i know a few people who ran out of space in a couple months though. i guess it depends on if you'll be downloading things from xbox live
Weasal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.31007 seconds with 80 queries