inline 6 issuses - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 19th, 2008, 10:05 AM   #1
socket17
Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-08
Location: Greenville MI
Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default inline 6 issuses

Im currently having a problem with my 1988 f150 with the 4.9 inline 6

The truck will miss only in gears R and D under load and only after 1500 rpm. if your in neutral you can hit a easy 4,000 rpms

Ive replaced the coolant temp sensor and checked the TPS EGR IAT sensors but still cant figure it out. Ive also checked the TFI senors.

Let me know what you think. i would like to keep the motor because it only has 90k miles on it but if i have to i may do a swap to somthing bigger.
socket17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 19th, 2008, 02:55 PM   #2
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

plugs/wires arcing when the engine is under a high load (hence the reason it doesn't miss in N/P)

Take a spray bottle and mist the wires/distributor/plugs down - chances are you'll see the spark arcing where it's not supposed to. If you don't, the next step would be to pull the distributor cap and check for carbon tracking....
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 02:57 PM   #3
IDIeselman
Senior Member
 
IDIeselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-23-07
Location: ludington mi
Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

+1 Sounds like the plugs are breaking down under a load. New plug/wires are in order.
IDIeselman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 03:02 PM   #4
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 17,989
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1044 View Post
plugs/wires arcing when the engine is under a high load (hence the reason it doesn't miss in N/P)

Take a spray bottle and mist the wires/distributor/plugs down - chances are you'll see the spark arcing where it's not supposed to. If you don't, the next step would be to pull the distributor cap and check for carbon tracking....
x2

Plugs, wires, rotor, and cap are relatively cheap nowadays. If they've never been done, just throw those on.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 03:15 PM   #5
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,480
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

a lack of fuel will also cause a miss under load

replace fuel filter
check fuel pressure in D under load
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 03:21 PM   #6
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bones View Post
a lack of fuel will also cause a miss under load

replace fuel filter
check fuel pressure in D under load
to add to that either presure or flow.
you can have good presure readings but not enough fuel flowing.
so if you still have a problem with good presure be sure to check for good flow.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 05:01 PM   #7
socket17
Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-08
Location: Greenville MI
Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

plugs wires cap and rotor are new.. fuel pump is new both of them. in the tank and in the frame rail.

it did this about 500 miles ago and i let it sit for a month while i redid the brakes lines and when i took it out to test the brakes it didnt miss.. started up again on saturday night.

to get the truck home from big rapids i dropped it in neutral going about 25-30 mph and reved it up to around 4k rpm (figureing it would either blow or go) then shut it off and coasted to a stop when i restarted the truck i was able to get to 45-50 mph or 2-2300 rpms but no more then that.

coil is new too.
socket17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 07:47 PM   #8
jontboudrie
Senior Member
 
jontboudrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-24-06
Location: monroe mi
Posts: 673
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default engine problems

change the plugs you have a bad one. happened to me before
jontboudrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 08:02 PM   #9
IDIeselman
Senior Member
 
IDIeselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-23-07
Location: ludington mi
Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yup, Before the tach it out and shut it off episode I would guess it would hold cruising speed fine on the flat but once you hit the gas it would start cutting out, Just because the plugs are new don't mean they are good. When you done that you just made the bad plugs worse by loading them up with fuel and shutting the engine down.
IDIeselman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 09:03 PM   #10
DeRanged mudder
completly insane
 
DeRanged mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-07
Location: Hersey, Mich.
Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to DeRanged mudder
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socket17 View Post
plugs wires cap and rotor are new.. fuel pump is new both of them. in the tank and in the frame rail.

it did this about 500 miles ago and i let it sit for a month while i redid the brakes lines and when i took it out to test the brakes it didnt miss.. started up again on saturday night.

to get the truck home from big rapids i dropped it in neutral going about 25-30 mph and reved it up to around 4k rpm (figureing it would either blow or go) then shut it off and coasted to a stop when i restarted the truck i was able to get to 45-50 mph or 2-2300 rpms but no more then that.

coil is new too.
What about the filter? The filter could easily be the problem.
DeRanged mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 09:14 PM   #11
socket17
Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-08
Location: Greenville MI
Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IDIeselman View Post
Yup, Before the tach it out and shut it off episode I would guess it would hold cruising speed fine on the flat but once you hit the gas it would start cutting out, Just because the plugs are new don't mean they are good. When you done that you just made the bad plugs worse by loading them up with fuel and shutting the engine down.
no it wouldnt hold cruising speed at all 25mph if that but your right on the hill part. im gonna pick up another set of plugs tomorow and try that.. didnt figure the plugs would be bad after only 2k miles on them.
socket17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 09:15 PM   #12
socket17
Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-08
Location: Greenville MI
Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeRanged mudder View Post
What about the filter? The filter could easily be the problem.
filter is new and when i changed the pumps i drained and cleaned out the tank. wiped it out by hand..

the truck sat for a few years with out moving.
socket17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 09:25 PM   #13
DeRanged mudder
completly insane
 
DeRanged mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-07
Location: Hersey, Mich.
Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to DeRanged mudder
Default

TFI module? distributor pick up?
DeRanged mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2008, 04:41 AM   #14
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

i assume it is a carbed motor. have you looked at a rebuild at all?
or depends on the carb but there may be a screen at the fuel inlet, if it is real dirty you could have particles that are pluging up the carb.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2008, 06:33 AM   #15
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,199
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does it does this all the time or intermittenly (sp), could also be moisture in the cap, spray/soak it all in wd-40 and take it for a drive. I've had small cracks in caps that would cause this on humid or rainy days.

just another idea
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2008, 10:13 AM   #16
socket17
Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-08
Location: Greenville MI
Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrifrocks2005 View Post
i assume it is a carbed motor. have you looked at a rebuild at all?
or depends on the carb but there may be a screen at the fuel inlet, if it is real dirty you could have particles that are pluging up the carb.
no i wish.. its fuel injection.
socket17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2008, 10:23 AM   #17
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

look at the cat at all. I have seen a few that do this when its pluged.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2008, 12:25 PM   #18
socket17
Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-08
Location: Greenville MI
Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrifrocks2005 View Post
look at the cat at all. I have seen a few that do this when its pluged.
cats are gone already. first thing i checked.. they where both good..
socket17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2008, 03:44 PM   #19
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

well thats all i got. Good luck
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2008, 08:12 PM   #20
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if its fuel injected it may be the fuel pressure regulator or a bad vacume tube attached to it or bad/dirty fuel injectors.

i had a similar problem on my 2.9, turned out to be a combination of ignition components, the fuel pressure regulator and a bottle of lucas fuel system cleaner. that combination cleared it all up

Last edited by Jdc215; November 20th, 2008 at 08:16 PM.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.27703 seconds with 80 queries