unplugging an o2 sensorr, Defaultt lean ? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2006, 08:28 PM   #1
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,394
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default unplugging an o2 sensorr, Defaultt lean ?

does the ECU go to lean default when o2 is unplugged ? or is default rich ?
Its an 88 chevy TBI 350 truck motor
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 9th, 2006, 09:24 PM   #2
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,913
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

It goes to a default set of parameters. Now if it is cold and tha air is dense, then it will ne a bit on the lean side. If it is hot and the air is thinner then it will be running a bit rich. It will not adjust for temp, pressure, or load changes. So there is no real answer to your question.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 11:25 PM   #3
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,394
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

Hmmm ok.. got any ideas on how to make the computr lean it out more..
on a side note: i have the Holley TBI unit and i know they're headaches but with my heads i need the extra CFM.. just not all the fuel.. I know this makes no sense
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2006, 10:31 PM   #4
auburn6887
Newbie
 
Join Date: 03-28-06
Location: detroit
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

did you plug the holley into the oem wiring to the oem computer? if so just get a new tbi chip for your motor.ebay $15 i think it was tbichip. i told him what i did. on the tps sensor you should read .500 volts at idle. you can oblong the holes to make the tps read it is open farther and you will run richer.
auburn6887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2006, 11:37 PM   #5
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,394
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by auburn6887
did you plug the holley into the oem wiring to the oem computer? if so just get a new tbi chip for your motor.ebay $15 i think it was tbichip. i told him what i did. on the tps sensor you should read .500 volts at idle. you can oblong the holes to make the tps read it is open farther and you will run richer.
I need to lean it out not dump more fuel in.. Im gona try and find a stock TBI unit to put on and see if that helps...
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.09648 seconds with 35 queries