jeep won't shift into 4x4 high - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 17th, 2005, 04:19 PM   #1
mrclean
Silver Lake
 
mrclean's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: clarkston, mi
Posts: 6,298
iTrader: (141)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default jeep won't shift into 4x4 high

just like it says. Will go into 4lo, 2hi, neutral, but not 4x4 hi. Sometimes I can get it to go in but it just last a second. Checked the linkage and it doesn't appear to be shifted or have moved. Any suggestions?
mrclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 17th, 2005, 04:52 PM   #2
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,060
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Is this happening after a SYE install?
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2005, 04:55 PM   #3
mrclean
Silver Lake
 
mrclean's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: clarkston, mi
Posts: 6,298
iTrader: (141)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sye was done a while ago. Has the adapters to drop the shift linkage too.
mrclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2005, 05:16 PM   #4
Tonka
YJ build in progress
 
Tonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lapeer Township, Mi.
Posts: 2,063
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tonka Send a message via Yahoo to Tonka
Default

tj or xj?

(yj's usually don't have an issue since the shifter is bolted to the t-case/trans)
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2005, 01:57 PM   #5
ttms91xj
nothing original here
 
ttms91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-12-05
Location: lewisville, tx
Posts: 342
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ttms91xj
Default

i've been having the same problem...but i am looking into getting a 4x4 posi kit, which bypasses the crappy vacuum motor and ensures that when you want to be in 4x4, it will be in 4x4...look into it, quadratec sells the kit for 200 bucks, give or take
ttms91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.08093 seconds with 35 queries