tail lights not working - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2008, 10:02 PM   #1
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default tail lights not working

84 Ranger with a 302v8. I was driving down the road at night and then my tail lights go out as well as the front sidemarker lights. I get home and the fuse is blown on that circuit, i knew thats what happened. 15 amp fuse, everytime i try to put a new fuse in it keeps blowing. Could i have a short somewhere? It was raining when this happened.
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 24th, 2008, 11:07 PM   #2
Bronco Ollie
Captain Jack Sparrow
 
Bronco Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-06
Location: Windsor
Posts: 2,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

check and see if you have a wire exposed and maybe it got wet and keep shorting it out
Bronco Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2008, 11:09 PM   #3
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco Ollie View Post
check and see if you have a wire exposed and maybe it got wet and keep shorting it out
thats what im thinking. Gonna try it tomorrow after the truck dries out, that way ill know if a wire got wet and shorted.
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2008, 11:11 PM   #4
Bronco Ollie
Captain Jack Sparrow
 
Bronco Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-06
Location: Windsor
Posts: 2,946
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah just trace all the wires back
Bronco Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2008, 06:14 PM   #5
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default

i looked and couldn't find anything on the wires. I checked all the fuses and just the 1 for that circuit is blown. Im not much of an electrical guru, any tips on what to check for? I put a meter up to the light sockets and the needle pegs to 0..whats this mean?
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2008, 07:13 PM   #6
HarleyKing
Newbie
 
Join Date: 07-11-08
Location: ca
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's a fuse. The dashboard lights and the taillights are on the same circuit intentionally. The reason for this is to give the driver an indicator that the taillights do not work.
HarleyKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 08:13 AM   #7
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,183
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do you have a trailer harness on it? I had a shorted trailer harness do thay on my F series, the wires got pinched between the bumper and the hitch.
fsumotorhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2008, 03:33 PM   #8
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default

Didn't find anything, searched the entire tail light harness from back to front. Checked trailer harness as well. The headlights work , but everything else on that fuse doesn't. Any more help?
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 07:11 AM   #9
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,183
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

use a piece of metal instead of a fuse, look for smoke, when you find the source of the smoke you have found the problem area

all joking aside, do you happen to have a wiring diagram?
fsumotorhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2008, 08:31 PM   #10
mudbillyredneck
Senior Member
 
mudbillyredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-08
Location: Lapeer, MI
Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (133)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsumotorhead View Post
use a piece of metal instead of a fuse, look for smoke, when you find the source of the smoke you have found the problem area

all joking aside, do you happen to have a wiring diagram?




I've done that before...only to find out it was a bad wire...LOL
mudbillyredneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17073 seconds with 50 queries