Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 24th, 2008, 04:54 PM   #1
dodgeboy
redneck truck club
 
dodgeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-07
Location: new hudson / ellsworth mi
Posts: 1,493
iTrader: (21)
Thumbs down 99 powerstruggle

ok ford boys

i have a 99 f 350 4x4 with the powerstruggle having issues. it keeps stalling out or missing depending on my rpms. it only happens when it rains!! check engine light came on with these codes....

po470 exhast pressure sensor circuit fault

po605 internal control module ROM error

where do i start??

truck has a chip, 4 inch exhast, air intake, after market blow off valve, and a built trans with a few other things too. if that matters......
dodgeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 10:19 AM   #2
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 9,950
iTrader: (23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeboy View Post
ok ford boys

i have a 99 f 350 4x4 with the powerstruggle having issues. it keeps stalling out or missing depending on my rpms. it only happens when it rains!! check engine light came on with these codes....

po470 exhast pressure sensor circuit fault

po605 internal control module ROM error

where do i start??

truck has a chip, 4 inch exhast, air intake, after market blow off valve, and a built trans with a few other things too. if that matters......
The P0470 is probably cause by the tube to the sensor being plugged with carbon or could be a bad sensor.

The p0605 is probably caused by your chip.

I don't think either one is your issue. It could be the connection between the the chip and the PCM, you could remove it and drive it or plug it in and out a few times.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 10:24 AM   #3
Nuggets
Professional Pisser Offer
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,302
iTrader: (12)
These motors have HUGE crankshaft position sensor issues. They will cause intermittant problems without leaving a code. The best way to diagnose this is with an ocilliscope. Find the pattern while running good then look at the pattern when it is running poorly or not at all. If the motor is in a no start condition but crank sensor patter looks good (test at pcm), then the problem is elsewhere.


edit: I believe the Ford dealer has a recall on these sensors. I seen a TSB about the sensor failing suddenly, stranding the vehicle in an unsafe condition (middle of intersection for example).
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 10:35 AM   #4
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 9,950
iTrader: (23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuggets View Post
These motors have HUGE crankshaft position sensor issues. They will cause intermittant problems without leaving a code. The best way to diagnose this is with an ocilliscope. Find the pattern while running good then look at the pattern when it is running poorly or not at all. If the motor is in a no start condition but crank sensor patter looks good (test at pcm), then the problem is elsewhere.


edit: I believe the Ford dealer has a recall on these sensors. I seen a TSB about the sensor failing suddenly, stranding the vehicle in an unsafe condition (middle of intersection for example).

It is actually a Camshaft sensor but they do cause some crazy issues.

Ford has a Recall on them and will replace them with a new style sensor. I have seen some issues with the new ones as well. Most of the time they will cause a stall and no-start. I keep a extra one in the glove box and 10 mm wrench just in case. I chose not to have the recall done as I just installed a new one in my truck a week befor I got my recall letter.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 10:35 AM   #5
xj4life
Senior Member
 
xj4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: LaPorte, IN
Posts: 7,299
iTrader: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuggets View Post
edit: I believe the Ford dealer has a recall on these sensors. I seen a TSB about the sensor failing suddenly, stranding the vehicle in an unsafe condition (middle of intersection for example).
that is correct. i had my truck in the dealer earlier this year for the recall. i never had any problems with mine but took it in anyways. i also keep a spare in my glove box.
__________________
This is my Jeep. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My Jeep is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My Jeep, without me, is useless. Without my Jeep, I am useless.
xj4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 10:37 AM   #6
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,269
iTrader: (37)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
sounds like it is about to die

I will buy it for cheap
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 10:41 AM   #7
buzz
Senior Member
 
buzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-08
Location: Hubbard LK. MICH.
Posts: 372
iTrader: (0)
I replaced crankshaft position senor twice on my 01 but the truck just died leaving me stranded no matter what the weather was.
buzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 06:27 PM   #8
dodgeboy
redneck truck club
 
dodgeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-07
Location: new hudson / ellsworth mi
Posts: 1,493
iTrader: (21)
its got a new crank sensor in it right now and still is having the issue.... im taking the computer out tomarrow and checking the connection. because the plug is in the engine compartment and the computer is in the passenger compartment. it plugs through the firewall kinda stupid i think! thats where im going to start beings how it happens when its wet out!
dodgeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2008, 08:06 PM   #9
Nuggets
Professional Pisser Offer
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,302
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeboy View Post
its got a new crank sensor in it right now and still is having the issue.... im taking the computer out tomarrow and checking the connection. because the plug is in the engine compartment and the computer is in the passenger compartment. it plugs through the firewall kinda stupid i think! thats where im going to start beings how it happens when its wet out!

That's why I said have the CPS pattern checked at PCM to see if there are any harness issues.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.11116 seconds with 28 queries