545RFE or 45RFE Shift Kit - Dodge Hemi Truck, Durango, Etc - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > 4x4 Product reviews and how-to's
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 22nd, 2008, 08:03 PM   #1
Rider 414
!CLUTCH!
 
Rider 414's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-07
Location: Garden City
Posts: 261
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 545RFE or 45RFE Shift Kit - Dodge Hemi Truck, Durango, Etc

Hey,

I thought I'd share my thoughts of a shift kit I installed on my Hemi TJ that has the 5 speed auto. This tranny is behind most hemi trucks and durangos.

The stock tranny is smooooth and nice, otherwise mushy!! I wanted my tranny to have firmer shifts and to hold the gears alittle longer on heavy acceleration. I installed a Transgo 545RFE-HD2 kit today. It was suppose to do just that.

After the install the trans is alot firmer and shifts much faster. For the $70.00 kit I would say that its a great deal for what you get. A much improved tranny if thats your thing.

I would say wait until your going to do a tranny oil change. Its not worth wasting clean tranny oil doing the installation. I was bored and I did it anyway. I was able to recover most of the oil. It was super easy to install. Took me about 1 hour.

Before when accelerating, the auto would shift early and slow. Now its fast and firm. 3rd to 4th is also way better and holds the gear longer. My TJ is really really fun to drive around and now its much better.



Rider 414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 22nd, 2008, 09:32 PM   #2
NightKrawler
Carnage Canyon
 
NightKrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-26-07
Location: Haslett, MI
Posts: 2,227
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Sounds like a good idea.

Any more pics of your jeep with the hemi?
__________________
http://www.glfwda.org/
SUPPORT THE SPORT!
--l ,[____],
l---L 0lllllll0-
()_) ()_)--o-)_) .......
NightKrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2008, 06:23 AM   #3
nickb304
Senior Member
 
nickb304's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-08
Location: jackson/mi
Posts: 615
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

carfull with those hard 3 to 4 or hard downshifts into second prime. The drag strip guys over on dodgetalk have a hell of a time keeping those trans togeather even when built up if they don't lock out the overdives when running them. pushing a little jeep around probably will not be nearly as hard on it though. Stock motor?
nickb304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2008, 08:08 PM   #4
Rider 414
!CLUTCH!
 
Rider 414's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-07
Location: Garden City
Posts: 261
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Really? Hmmm I am definatly not on the strip running it. The motor is mild compared to the hemi guys really doing alot. Ive got a big cam and springs, computer tune, CAI, free flow exhaust, stall converter, and some other little bits. Im about 400 HP compared to the 345 of a stock Hemi.
Rider 414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 10:34 AM   #5
nickb304
Senior Member
 
nickb304's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-08
Location: jackson/mi
Posts: 615
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

overall the trans is pretty stout. I guess the problem is the overdive clutches are weak compared to 1st-3rd and don't hold up to repeated wot shifts. The 2nd prime passing gear also works off those clutches. that causes the most problem from what i hear. say your rolling along at 55-60mph and you jump on the throttle hard, it will downshift under full power into that gear that is normally not used that runs of the overdive clutches. it will eventually burn up those clutches. i don't think you will have a problem running around in a little jeep offroad. just letting you know it was one of the minor issues with that trans that i ran across when doing reserch before buying my new hemi ram. i had all kinds of trouble with my old dodge 46re trans so i looked into it before buying the new truck.
nickb304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 11:24 AM   #6
greygoose
I'm the dude
 
greygoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: New Baltimore / Presque Isle
Posts: 6,081
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Hmmm.... Good to know, I was thinking of getting this kit eventually for my Jeep....
greygoose is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 11:06 PM   #7
dline
Senior Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Utica
Posts: 3,516
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to dline Send a message via Yahoo to dline
Default

what cam do you have?
dline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 09:38 AM   #8
Rider 414
!CLUTCH!
 
Rider 414's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-07
Location: Garden City
Posts: 261
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Comp Cam XFI 273 -

Bascially the biggest cam Comp Cam has for the 5.7

Lowend is about the same as stock, but mid-to-top end is insane. Also the idle is lumpy and sounds awesome. Definalty need a computer tune and new valve springs. Im running Manely beehive style springs. This motor loves to rev!!

Running around the street, I stay out of wot because its so violent. The acceleration and torque at lower speeds overwelms the soft springs in the suspension. Its a handfull but super fun.
Rider 414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 09:42 AM   #9
Rider 414
!CLUTCH!
 
Rider 414's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-07
Location: Garden City
Posts: 261
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Rider 414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 01:07 PM   #10
dline
Senior Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Utica
Posts: 3,516
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to dline Send a message via Yahoo to dline
Default

i am getting a 6.1 stroker built for my ram and i am gonna use the comp 273.

did you paint the block orange?

no piston to valve clearance issues with stock heads?
dline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 01:48 PM   #11
Rider 414
!CLUTCH!
 
Rider 414's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-07
Location: Garden City
Posts: 261
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dline View Post
i am getting a 6.1 stroker built for my ram and i am gonna use the comp 273.

did you paint the block orange?

no piston to valve clearance issues with stock heads?
Yes - has to be Hemi Orange.

No valve clearance issues - have about 1000 miles on the cam now and a few high rpm romps with no issues. I like the cam - ALOT.
Rider 414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 01:59 PM   #12
Rider 414
!CLUTCH!
 
Rider 414's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-07
Location: Garden City
Posts: 261
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dline View Post
i am getting a 6.1 stroker built for my ram and i am gonna use the comp 273.

did you paint the block orange?

no piston to valve clearance issues with stock heads?
Hey!! So your doing a SRT 6.1 crank and pistons? Who is doing your computer work? I am really curious - also are you doing anything with the heads? What intake are you running?
Rider 414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 01:59 PM   #13
dline
Senior Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Utica
Posts: 3,516
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to dline Send a message via Yahoo to dline
Default

cool should work good for me, 3000 stall converter, 4.56 gears, and lots of torque from the stroker will get me going, and 6600 rpm rev limiter for now

jm 5.7 cylinder heads

6.1 callies crank, i have a 6.1 aluminum oem intake manifold waiting to go on. i've been using a pretty good cold air intake for now with the plastic oem 5.7 intake

do you have a ram computer in there?
dline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 03:32 PM   #14
Rider 414
!CLUTCH!
 
Rider 414's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-14-07
Location: Garden City
Posts: 261
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a 04 ram computer that was tuned by BG Chrysler in Warren. The guy over there is a complete dick bag and I have some wierd things going on here and there. That's why I was wondering who was going to do your computer?

Last edited by Rider 414; November 27th, 2008 at 03:37 PM.
Rider 414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 06:36 PM   #15
dline
Senior Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Utica
Posts: 3,516
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to dline Send a message via Yahoo to dline
Default

sct can tune your computer
dline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > 4x4 Product reviews and how-to's

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21434 seconds with 67 queries