Chevy cavalier stalls. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2006, 05:59 PM   #1
quicksilver
Senior Member
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Chevy cavalier stalls.

I know this is a off road forum but I have no one else to ask. I am thinking about buying my buddys kids car it is a 95 cavalier 2.2l but the thing stalls when you put it in gear. It only does it when it is warmed up. We were messing with it an found that it will stay running in gear but dies when you give it gas. Any ideas? It runs great when it is cold...


Thanks
quicksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 30th, 2006, 07:32 PM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

fuel pump. most likely its week and and can't handle the extra load. are you able to drive it or is it just barely able to stay running in gear?
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2006, 08:26 PM   #3
quicksilver
Senior Member
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

oh we can drive it. It drives nice and has good power until it warms up then it dies when you come to a stop. It will start right back up and run good but dies again when you put it in gear. we drove it up to autozone to get the codes read but there were none. The guy at autozone was saying something about the Lock up converter causing the problem. it sat for a long time (like a year) so we are going to change all the fliuds and try it again.
quicksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2006, 10:11 PM   #4
Sonicjay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: around
Posts: 2,566
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Had the exact same issue on an old cavalier of mine; it was some sensor that's in the engine compartment towards the front. I can't remember the name of it, but I want to say it was between $60-80, but fixed it immediately. I worked a t a Chevy dealer at the time; I told one of the techs about the problem, and he knew immediately what it was cause they go bad all the time.
Sonicjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2006, 10:28 PM   #5
xjmichigan
Senior Member
 
xjmichigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 4,328
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

temp sensor or o2 sensor
xjmichigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2006, 10:30 PM   #6
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,539
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

ex girlfriend had the temp sensor go, and it was doing exactly the same thing.

replaced it, and it was good to go
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 04:11 PM   #7
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Lockup solenoid is gone. if you find the relay for it you can unplug and it will work again. It WON"T have lock up so it is reccomended you replace the $25 solenoid.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 04:30 PM   #8
quicksilver
Senior Member
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks alot for the help. We changed all the fluids and it didnt do it right away but it did do it again. I unpluged what I thought was the connector for the lockup converter and it didnt do it again. I guess it was just the 25.00 soleniod.

Jeremy
quicksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 11:33 AM   #9
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 628
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If it's a temp sensor bad it should have a code, like P0112-118. If it runs good but dies when you let off I would inspect the IAC (Idle Air Control) motor (#2). The seat may be dirt (usally give higher rpm), or the port may be clogged (stalls on decel). Rather simple thing to check before changing parts.



AWK
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 12:07 PM   #10
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

is there a sensor on the top of the tranny? When it dies try disco'n that.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17465 seconds with 50 queries