89 CK1500 PU 4x4 New info 10-4-08 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 24th, 2008, 04:39 PM   #1
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 89 CK1500 PU 4x4 New info 10-4-08

Ok some of you guys know from my other post that I got this given to me. I have all the issues settled up except one. This truck has sat for about 2 years.. It has a 4 bolt 350 tbi and it after it sits or has not run in a bit I need either to start it after that it runs great. It will start right up if you shut it off just will not start on its own after it sits. Any thoughts? I have replaced the fuel filter and check the flow while it was off. I had great solid flow. What else should I cheek?

Last edited by mudd_jumper; October 5th, 2008 at 08:00 PM.
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 24th, 2008, 04:48 PM   #2
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

vumucu psi nit whould do what you are saying check for leaks in line or checks dry rot
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2008, 04:51 PM   #3
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

could not find any fuel leaks checked for them or do you mean a vacuum leak?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2008, 04:54 PM   #4
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yes a vucuum leak the egr and tbi sytems on this truck have to have vucuum to start my old truck had this
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2008, 04:57 PM   #5
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks I will have to look for a vacuum diagram and look for leaks. Is there anything else it could be?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2008, 05:20 PM   #6
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it also chold be in the tb but not sure how to check it
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2008, 05:23 PM   #7
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farm_boy View Post
it also chold be in the tb but not sure how to check it
Me neither that is why I am asking Thanks for the places to start.
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2008, 08:12 PM   #8
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok I can get it to start on its own. If I turn the key on I can hear the fuel pump kick in and run. If I do that a couple of times it starts runs a min then dies if I do that a couple of times it will run on its own. I am thinking fuel pump check valve or sucking air some were? what do you all think?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2008, 09:09 PM   #9
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 9,867
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default

Does it have 2 year old gas? Great solid flow on your fuel don't mean shit, make sure you have around 14psi I believe, pushing the valve on the fuel line isn't a sufficient way to check fuel pressure.
__________________
-2001 Tahoe original 5.3 4x4 only 435k
-Down to 2 three wheelers
-1985 V65 Magna
-1978 F100
-1973 CT70 with 125cc motor
booblinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 11:39 AM   #10
beaterk5
Senior Member
 
beaterk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-07
Location: dansville-48819
Posts: 1,082
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to beaterk5
Default

9-13 psi but closer to 13 the better
beaterk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 07:23 PM   #11
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booblinker View Post
Does it have 2 year old gas? Great solid flow on your fuel don't mean shit, make sure you have around 14psi I believe, pushing the valve on the fuel line isn't a sufficient way to check fuel pressure.
no it is new fuel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaterk5 View Post
9-13 psi but closer to 13 the better
I will have to put a gauge on it and see what the pressure is. I think I should do a leak down test to?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2008, 08:00 PM   #12
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ok there is no place to check the pressure. When I pulled the line off there is a burst of fuel then nothing when I turn the key on. When it is up and running there is a good flow out the TBI. I am thinking that maybe the pump check valve is shot? I can here the pump cycle when the key is on. I am still having a pain of a time to figure out what is wrong. Maybe something in the choke mech.? Or a full tune up is the only things that I can think of?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2008, 09:13 PM   #13
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Any one?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2008, 07:09 PM   #14
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Angry I Am Stumped

Ok I finaly got it up and running. Butt...... It still does not like to start when it has sat for awhile and is cold. It still runs for a sec dies then can restart it and does it again and I can still do this a few times (10+) or so. The only code I get is # 12 the speed sensor. I have tested all the other sensors and they all test fine. I have tuned it up cap rotor and plugs. the only thing I can think of is a check valve in the pump? Timing is good new timing chain plug cap rotor fresh gas. I AM STUMPED any one????????
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2008, 07:18 PM   #15
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

ok try this. after you have let it sit. open the gas cap before you start up. if by chance the tank vent is plugged you will have pulled a vacuum againest the whole fuel systam and the tank at that point becomes a huge vacuum ball. by popping the cap you break the vacuum. if by chance this does work check all the tank vent lines for mud dobber nests, they plug the crap out of little holes when things sit.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2008, 07:29 PM   #16
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
ok try this. after you have let it sit. open the gas cap before you start up. if by chance the tank vent is plugged you will have pulled a vacuum againest the whole fuel systam and the tank at that point becomes a huge vacuum ball. by popping the cap you break the vacuum. if by chance this does work check all the tank vent lines for mud dobber nests, they plug the crap out of little holes when things sit.
Man what do they look like? LOL :P I will let it sit over night and try it when I get home from church tomorow night. I am willing to try just about anything to get it up and running! I need it to haul wood to start my new pile for next year. Oh yea and snowmobile season is coming soon!
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 11:08 PM   #17
kevinr839
Senior Member
 
kevinr839's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-06
Location: petersburg, MI
Posts: 840
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

They make an adapter that goes in place of your fuel filter so you can check the fuel pressure
kevinr839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2008, 05:34 PM   #18
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinr839 View Post
They make an adapter that goes in place of your fuel filter so you can check the fuel pressure

well that is what I get to go buy then Can I get this at any auto parts store?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2008, 04:40 PM   #19
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinr839 View Post
They make an adapter that goes in place of your fuel filter so you can check the fuel pressure
I tried to find one and know one knows what I am talking about. Is this something I have to make myself?
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2008, 08:10 PM   #20
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinr839 View Post
They make an adapter that goes in place of your fuel filter so you can check the fuel pressure
ok I figured out how to make one. Will post result tomorow if I get to it...
mudd_jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.23569 seconds with 80 queries