Hartland '89 Bronco II - Page 3 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 10th, 2008, 10:24 PM   #41
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

aparently when they rebuild they also upgrade. inperticular one spring, according to ford specs, is stiffer than origional so the engine turns higher rpms for increased lubercatoin.

anybody know anything about this. the guy at the trans shop told me this. i have talked to him alot and trust him to a degree but he still knows alot more than me and could easily mislead me, which i wouldn't completely dismiss as a posibility.

Last edited by Jdc215; October 12th, 2008 at 12:57 AM.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 10th, 2008, 10:32 PM   #42
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,521
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdc215 View Post
aparently wqhen they rebuild they also upgrade. inperticular one spring, according to ford specs, is stiffer than origional so the engine turns higher rpms for increased lubercatoin.

anybody know anything about this. the guy at the trans shop told me this. i have talked to him alot and trust him to a degree but he still knows alot more than me and could easily mislead me, which i wouldn't conpletely dismiss as a posibility.
news to me.......replace a spring in the trans to increase engine rpm??
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2008, 07:13 PM   #43
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yes there is a spring in the trans that is attached to a valve. suposedly ford reccomends this new spring which is stiffer and as a result makes the valve harder to open and increases RPM shift range. have you ever had an a4ld rebuilt?

Last edited by Jdc215; October 12th, 2008 at 12:58 AM.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2008, 10:01 PM   #44
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,521
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

<-------5 spd guy
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 01:19 PM   #45
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

wish i had a five speed this auto trans crap is a PIA. i had almost 300,000 miles on my 2wd 94 b3000 before a shift rod broke in the trans. as far as i know it was the origional trans and was never rebuilt. just one clutch job at 200,000. it had other problems but not in the drive train.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 06:57 PM   #46
Bronco351
Powered by Ford
 
Bronco351's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-07
Location: Garden City, MI; Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,014
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bronco351
Default

I had the auto one in my bronco II, it was fine while i had it. I bought it with 158,000+ on the odometer and it shifted fine, didn't slip, but it might have been a one in (insert huge number here) or gone out after i sold it.
Bronco351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 08:04 PM   #47
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,521
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

the pre 91? A4LD's were considerably weaker then the later ones. The later ones got the internals upgraded
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 08:05 PM   #48
Bronco351
Powered by Ford
 
Bronco351's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-07
Location: Garden City, MI; Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,014
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bronco351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapThrillB2 View Post
the pre 91? A4LD's were considerably weaker then the later ones. The later ones got the internals upgraded
yep, my B2 was an '89
Bronco351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 10:43 PM   #49
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if i'm not mistaken i believe he rebuilt it with the upgraded internals. he seemed to know his $hit. FYI my trans was working flawlessly untill i drove it across the state. i took a look at the old parts and they apeared to be in working order but very loose and worn almost as if it had been driven 160,000 miles. the planetary gears were missing bushings between race and gears and all the clutches were burned up, due to fluid loss. i think all problems spawned from a clogged vent tube which caused the front main to fail, causing fluid loss which burned up the clutches and complete failure. i have been meaning to take pictures of the "new" trans and new drive line. i would like to hear some opinions on the drive line.

This whole "no job" thing sucks. i have been itching to work on the bronco since got out here but that requires parts and parts cost money. no job no money.

would like to get bigger tires, level the front (with new shocks), and get a grill guard so i can install the pile of things i have that need to go on it.
Tow Hooks
Cb Radio and antena
Silver Lake Flag
6" KC Lights

got all the major components for all of these.

I want to weld tabs onto the guard for a 4' Wilson Flex antenna and a Dune flag. the guard also provides a place to mount the lights and i dont want to mount the tow hooks untill i know how the grill guard is going to mount up so i dont have any interference. I am just going to buy a cheap bumper mount JCwhitney model. if i had $500 to spend on a frame Mount i would just buy a Winch bumper from james duff or something. i plan on buying the powder coat model and painting it with spray on bed liner to keep it from rusting.

Last edited by Jdc215; October 12th, 2008 at 01:00 AM.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2008, 08:59 PM   #50
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well i finally found my camera now that the move is complete. I posted the pictures of the new drive shaft and how it sits right now. i havn't posted pistures since i mounted the 2" blocks in the rear. the rear rides too high i am going to level out the front once i find the time and sombody with a sand blaster. i figure i might as well clean and paint them while they are out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5 After blocks.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	133.1 KB
ID:	30985   Click image for larger version

Name:	New Drive Shaft.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	30986  

Last edited by Jdc215; October 12th, 2008 at 01:01 AM.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2008, 12:13 AM   #51
Bronco Ollie
Captain Jack Sparrow
 
Bronco Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-06
Location: Windsor
Posts: 2,945
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

looking good i know what you mean about having no job thats why i haven't worked on the b2 in a few days
Bronco Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 12:16 AM   #52
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

After doing some research and examination i have determined that i no longer have an a4ld trans misson in my bronco. i believe it is either a 4R44E/4R55E. aperently the only diference is the shrength of the internal components. i wonder if the trans shop put the stronger guts in when they rebuilt it? I'll stop by tomorrow and ask. i hope they didn't put the weak shit in.


CheapTHrills, Why did yo change your avater? i liked the picture of your ride.

does anybody knkow if the 4R55E is stronger than the later a4ld innards?

Last edited by Jdc215; October 12th, 2008 at 01:02 AM.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2008, 04:03 PM   #53
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

with no school and almost no money. i was really border yesterday so i decided to mount the wire harness for the 6" kc lights. never having done it before i think i did well. i ran all wires as short as posable with a little play. i then mounted everything and drilled a small and dicrete hole in the firewall just below the brake booster. mounted the switch and clearanced the dash to acomidate the switch body. everything seems to be in right and it will light up the lights. i spent $2.50 and 3 lazy hours getting it done.

Now i just need a place to mount the lights so i can hook them up.

i used a hella harness kit and i really like how discrete and professional the little switch looks. almost factory looking.

Last edited by Jdc215; October 12th, 2008 at 01:03 AM.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2008, 01:44 PM   #54
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I need a place to mount the lights now. If anybody has a grill guard that will fit my Bronco II i would be very interested. other wise i'll end up buying one new from JC Whitney. they are bumper mount but thats the cheapest one around. if i had more money to spend i would just buy a winch bumper now so i have a place to mount a winch somday.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2008, 02:23 PM   #55
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,521
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdc215 View Post
After doing some research and examination i have determined that i nolonger have an a4ld trans misson in my bronco. i believe it is either a 4R44E/4R55E. aperently the only diference is the shrength of the internal components. i wonder if the trans shop put the stronger guts in when they rebuilt it? I'll stop by tomorrow and ask. i hope they didn't put the weak shit in.


CheapTHrills, Why did yo change your avater? i liked the picture of your ride.

does anybody knkow if the 4R55E is stronger than the later a4ld innards?
no the 4r44e and 55e were 95+ explorers and 96+ ranges if i recall......those would not work/shift in your B2 with out the proper comminication with the ecm

You have a A4LD, the B2 A4LDs are weaker then the Explorer A4LD's...never the less its still an A4LD
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 12:52 AM   #56
Bronco Sally
Lets go wheelin
 
Join Date: 10-31-06
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 784
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Bronco Sally
Default

ou should do a solid axle swap.. they are fairly cheap if you show around.. ive done it to my old broncos for like $500 including axles..
Bronco Sally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 12:11 PM   #57
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

that is fairly cheap but i just dont have that kind of money.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 08:36 PM   #58
karl214
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-26-07
Location: Cadillac area
Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If your still looking for a grill guard , let me know.. I have one one a ranger ,it came off of a late 80's or early 90's bronco ll.. I'll get you pics if your interested....
karl214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 09:19 PM   #59
Jdc215
Senior Member
 
Jdc215's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: Hartland/Fenton
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a 1989 toyota mini turck. i have heard the axles are very strong. so would it be worth wile to swap in the toyota rear. it has the same gear ratio. and yes i know the bolt pattern is diferent

i think i would need a shaft flange built for it weld up new perches, shock mounts and sway bar attach points.
Jdc215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 09:23 PM   #60
Bronco351
Powered by Ford
 
Bronco351's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-07
Location: Garden City, MI; Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,014
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bronco351
Default

Toyota 8" axle i think, probably wrong though, Brimy311 has a write up on it on here somewhere if i remember right.

IMO, just save up and swap in an explorer 8.8, same bolt pattern, and it's a strong axle. The junkyard closest to my house has a specific rack in the yard just for them, disk brakes, 4.10 ratio, $200.
Bronco351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.29338 seconds with 81 queries